We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent - lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Heaven Beach Resort
Ranked #51 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed in Newheaven during a brief trip to Varkula this year. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable with a balcony, ensuite, wifi and ceiling fan. There's a nice atmosphere and a great location close to Black beach and the strip of restaurants and bars along the cliff-top.
What impressed me the most about Newheaven was the attitude of owner Najmudeen and his family - who went to great lengths to provide great service. I found then charming and extremely helpful throughout my stay and later, when I realised I'd left belongings in my room, they were kind enough to pack and send them all the way to the UK. What sweethearts!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCp07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I checked out heaps of places and this was the best budget option. Black beach which has the best beach and swimming is 2 min walk. Rooms clean spacious really nice sheets and towels. Quiet, large balcony with wifi and swinging chairs with views through palm trees to ocean. Great restaurant with awesome views and the lovely Madu.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandysun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not really a "resort" but the location was great and the rooms were spotless and spacious, important when it's hot! Bathrooms inside. The rooms on the ground floor will be at least 300 rupees cheaper. We paid 500 a night (low season). Not too sure what the other review was going on about the owner being a crook...? He and his wife were more than lovely on our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleycrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Varakala is teaming with places to stay and you could pick any number of them depending on what you are looking for. We chose the New Heaven because we could find the phone number and make a reservation ahead of time. It turned out to be a great choice. The hotel is situated at the north end of the cliffs where it is a quieter and less busy than a few hundred meters south. I found this perfect. You can either head south down the cliff to the large, popular beach, or, closer to the north there are pockets of sandy beach such as Blacks Beach that are less crowded (but not as nice waves). There is a good restaurant just between the hotel and the beach (but to the side -- you can still see the water from the rooms); or there are practically a million more a short walk away. The rooms are spacious and clean with netting on the windows so you can let in fresh air w/out letting in mosquitoes. The ceiling fan makes the room quite comfortable. There is both hot and cold water (hot only for a bucket bath, cold for bucket or shower) but we found we never wanted hot water. The owners don't speak a lot of English but communication was never a problem and the workers did sweet things like bring our kids fresh coconuts while harvesting on the property. Overall, a good value for a simple but great room.

Room Tip: upper rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited New Heaven resort this christmas (2012) and to my opinion, this is the best place to stay at in Varkala beach!
New heaven is situated at the north cliff in the end of the long stroll. This part of Varkala beach does not have that many tourist like there is at the south part and it is near to the black beach which is the best beach to hang around at.
We had a seaview and could sleep to the sound of the waves in the night. New heaven is a familyrun hotel. We had breakfast including, sometimes continental and sometimes traditionel Kerala breakfast. The rooms is big, clean and very nice. They also can provide 24 hour taxiservice to resonable prices. Nearby is Luna Azul café which is a very nice restaurang with excellent food.
Me and my two kids had a wonderful christmas here for five days (the best stay during our holiday in India) and I can really recommend New heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trimokasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

New Heaven Resort is a great place to stay in Varkala Beach. Our room on the upper level was large with plenty of space and had a window with screen that looked out to the ocean and kept the mosquitoes out. The room also has a ceiling fan, high table and shelves for luggage. The en suite bathroom is huge with a sink, shower with cold water, but hot water comes out of a bottom tap to use when showering.
Rarely did the hotel lose it's electrical power. Very rare for India. If the lights did go out it was only for a minute or so.
The four upper rooms have a shared balcony that offers terrific views of the ocean, plus a patio table, two chairs and a hanging chair.
The ocean breeze and the sound of the waves are your only distractions.
Price per night is 800 rps for upper level. Breakfast not included, but the caretaker and his wife are able to prepare breakfast for a fee per your request and serve it on your balcony. Or you can stroll to the Trattoria, the Sun Shine or to any other restaurant s that are about 100 meters away.
The hotel is not fancy, but the rooms are clean and location is about 50 meters from the beach and pedestrian path that runs along the cliff.
The best part of our stay are the husband and wife team that run the hotel. They are very nice and eager to help with anything needed. They keep the hotel very clean and safe which made our stay for the two weeks wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stay away from this place, and beware of Najmudeen the toothless crook.

I emailed New Heaven a few days before I arrived to book a room. He responded and said he would pick me up for free from the bus station. They charged me 1000 R per night for a room WITHOUT SHEETS OR HOT WATER.

When it was time to check out, Najmudeen, his wife, and another man cornered me in my room and threatened to call the police if I did not pay an additional 1000 R for the ride. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freequebec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#29 of 100 in Varkala
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Heaven Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Heaven Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: $10 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Heaven Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing