We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security problem - Staff member tried to come into female guests room in the middle of the night.”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

UK tourist - I could detail the short comings of this hotel (briefly; no beach, under construction, noisy, unattractive, poor air conditioning) but all of these flaws were manageable. However, on our penultimate night in the hotel my sister and I awake to hear the bolted and locked door of our room being unlocked with a key, and it was then banged and barged into as someone tried to get in. Thank God the door had large bolts on otherwise Lord knows what would have happened. Given the recent attacks in India I don't think one needs to much imagination. My sister and I were terrified and didn't sleep for days, and I still think about it when in hotels. The manager the next day told us that the noise could only have been the local stray dogs, but I've yet to meet a dog who unlocks doors. Someone from the hotel gained access to the key. whether the manager or another member of staff, I don't know. Two days after, as we checked out, the manager did say sorry for what happened and he did seem subdued. He paid for the taxi to the aiport as an apology. He was often drunk and stoned so perhaps he wasn't guarding the office as he ought to have been, or perhaps it was him - who knows. Bottom line is, this hotel is unsafe and I really recommend staying elsewhere. There are many fabulous places to stay that are clean and safe for women - this place is not one of them. No doubt I will be subject to abuse from the owner like other reviewers have been. We looked around and found far nicer places for a better price, with pools and access to the fantastic beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAAHP3H, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

As owner of this hotel I think am allowed to defend the reputation of our
nice hotel, definitely not by abusing reviewers but to question doubtful and
suspicious reviews like the one above.

The writer of the review above accuse me of abusing other reviewers but she
herself doesn’t hesitate to abuse (without any proof) people in our hotel
staff for a pretended attempt to break-in or for that someone in the staff
was “drunk and stoned it was him who knows?”! This kind of arguments I call
abuse without any proof.

Bottom line is, our hotel is not at all unsafe and this is certified by our
hard working personnel and the night personnel who watch over the hotel all
night through.

I think that anyone could see that this kind of review can be questioned as
unfair and suspicious.

The review is not according to the guidelines of how to write a fair review
and it is strange that this kind of review is allowed to be published!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Palm Tree Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 938 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a wonderful six day stay at the Palm Tree last week. Yes there is construction but this will provide useful upgrades for the resort and we enjoyed watching all the goings on with the various workers. Babu and his staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and the rooms are large, very clean and well appointed for the hotel's rating. The AC worked fine in both our rooms! The tides are high because of monsoon so the beaches are reduced, however we were able to enjoy eating and drinking at tables set-up on the Palm Tree's beach while watching some glorious sunsets. Babu's team also arranged our tour around Kerela including an overnight houseboat on the backwaters of Alleppy (which was amazing!) transport to Munnar and Kochi and return by rail, so would recommend getting them to help. Babu helped us recover our lost luggage on arrival and was on hand to help rearrange our trip when flooding disrupted our itinerary! Finally the food in the restaurant is the best we've experienced in our visit to Kerela so all-in-all Palm Tree is a great place to stay and a memory we shall treasure for very long time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

After staying in this hotel, I really doubt the trustworthiness of Tripadvisor review for resorts in India. The hotel rooms are fine and their restaurant is good, but the soroundings are quiet unpleasant ( a lot of construction), no real beach nearby even though they claim so, and the pool is missing even though you see a pool on their website.

What was highly irresponsible of this resort during our stay was how the air condition functioned. We took 3 different rooms with AC but none of them worked. They blaim it on low voltage, electricity board etc, but why should the customer pay for something for what they cannot provide. Trust me, you cannot enjoy your vacation without AC in this part of the world.

On the good side though, the service of restaurant staff is great. It is an ok place if you just need a place to sit and read with some view of the sea. Nothing more than that. Period!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank modernsapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAAHP3H, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Just some questions to the Norwegian reviewer;
96% of our guests review this hotel as Good or Excellent, are they all story-tellers?

Since you review the hotel rooms as fine and the restaurant as good why judge the hotel as bad (why shall we then trust your review as fair)?

The season in India is now monsoon which means the beach for example is smaller than usual and because of that the room prices are very affordable.

There is no pool at the hotel and there is no pool showing on the website if you look carefully!

Instead we have the whole Arabic Sea in front of the hotel. "Period"!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This small resort with its beautiful, secluded beach gave us the much needed respite from the maddening crowd out there. The breaking waves, the green lawn, the black cliffs all seemed to accentuate the beauty of the monsoons and our cottage was the cherry on top. Extremely well maintained and accentuated with bright colours and wooden fixtures, the cottage was a vision by itself. Mr Babu and his extremely efficient and polite staff kept no stone unturned to fulfil our slightest demands. Odayam beach and Palm Tree Heritage truly gave meaning to the phrase "Kerala- God's own country" .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeosAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I would start this review by highly recommending this place to anyone who is thinking of visiting Varkala. Palmtree Heritage is a cozy property on a private beach. The rooms were super clean and big enough to accommodate 4 of us. One could just lay down on the bed and listen to the sound of the tides. It was a thoroughly refreshing and a rejuvenating experience at Palm Tree Heritage. The tidy rooms and appealing infrastructure were supported with exceptional customer service. The friendly management (Babu, Mohammed and others) were patient enough and provided excellent hospitality. The dinner on the sea shore is one thing which we would treasure for lifetime. The chef cooked us a Kerala style fish curry which I am even craving right now. Next time I plan a trip to Varkala the first thing I would do is to book the rooms with Palm Tree as it is really difficult to get one owing to their exceptional service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our visit to Varlala , Odayam beach, Kerala, was very enjoyable. We stayed in The Palm Tree Heritage Beach Resort (15TH JULY TO 17TH JULY 2013) which has their own private beach. Hospitality provided by Mr. Babu & his team was awesome. They are always on their toes to serve their guests. The amenities provided in the resort are excellent. Mr. Babu is very helpful & loving nature. We really enjoyed staying in palm tree heritage beach resort.
VISHWANATH G. SAWANT.
KALYAN, MUMBAI.(INDIA)

Room Tip: first room, sea facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishwanath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

On arrival to Palm Tree Heritage we were greeted by the excellent management. The rooms were so clean and beautiful with lovely wooden accents, each room has its own little patio for unwinding after a tiring day of shopping at the market which is within walking distance. The food at the little restaurant was really amazing, especially the sea food which is caught daily. I got quite attached to the staff and was sad to leave, it was like leaving family. Small things like having candle lit suppers on the beach and the fact that nothing was too much trouble for the staff, made our stay wonderful and memorable. I would proudly recommend this beautiful resort to all who would like to stay at Varkala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Payal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $39 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing