We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Relaxing”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On arrival they had accidentally double booked our room, but they were quick to sort it out and we stayed at a room they had next door. It was cheaper and I liked it even more because it was off to the side and quieter. We had a stunning room that overlooked the ocean. I loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset, and even going for a swim at the beach which was right in front of our accommodation. The best part was dinner on the beach, we picked our seafood and that was cooked for us and served on candlelit tables. It was great being away from the cliffs (which are super crowded and crammed), but we could easily walk to the cliffs for the day to look around. Great service and very beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 954 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent a lovely few days at Palm Tree Heritage. After coming from a very relaxing time in the backwaters, we didn't think we could get any lazier but then we got to the beach! Situated about 15 minutes walk from the North Cliff, this is a much more secluded area with it's own (tiny) beach. There are about 8 rooms here, each with their own veranda to laze about on. We started off in a very large room closest to the sea. The air-con was pretty ineffective so we just used the fan instead. We decided to stay an extra night but had to move rooms, I think the one we moved to is the smallest one but it was still fine for two people (though there was no door to the bathroom - if two of you are staying there then one would need to wait outside if the other needed the loo!) The rooms were clean and comfortable, though the water power in the bathroom was a bit temperamental. The wifi provided was a bit spotty - it seemed to be ok at 7am, then very temperamental throughout the rest of the day. The staff were excellent - they were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the restaurant much, but when we did it was always very good - the chicken tikka masala was surprisingly good. In the evening they set out tables and chairs near the beach so you can eat under the stars. There are also a number of stray dogs that hang around - they are all very friendly and will come and lie near you or walk with you if you go out for a walk. They don't beg for food or anything, they just like to hang! And there was this very cute black puppy there too. The cliffs are a very pleasant walk down the coast, and if you stay out on the cliffs after dark and don't fancy walking back in the dark (not recommended) then a taxi is only 100 rupees.

It's true that it's a bit more expensive and you could probably get cheaper on the cliffs, but I found that the location was worth the extra money. Would definitely return if I was to go back to Varkala, and will definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in had pretty poor AC, and the smaller room (the one with the traditional keral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sionos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our driver had trouble finding this spot, but that is its attraction, tucked away on the edge of Varkala, on a small but pretty beach.

We seemed to have the smallest room (there are only 8) and had some trouble with the AC on the first night, but the veranda was a lovely place to relax and watch the world turn, as was the small restaurant in the morning, where you could watch the locals fishing. The food was excellent; every dish was delicious, though we could see some people getting annoyed by the slow pace of service, but I think that is just the nature of the experience. Just unwind.

In my opinion this is a much better location that up on the cliffs, which just seems to be styled as some kind of backpacker, hippy trail, ayurvedic tourist ghetto, with a bland range of amorphous cafes, stalls, services. The only thing I would say is that it is a pleasant, 15 minute walk, to the start of these facilities, but a little precipitous in the dark, so take a torch. Also, if you were on a budget, there is startlingly better value for money options up on the cliffs, but here you pay for the seclusion and thoughtful help of Babu and his staff.

Room Tip: Room 3 faces the path out to sea, but it seems the smallest by a considerable degree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to this hotel on the basis of the trip advisor reviews......but was horrified with the kind of service there. First of all there was no one to meet and explain to us everything. There is no parking space, we had to park our car near some construction site under the blazing sun. The guy who took our bags just grunted around and answered in monosyllables. When we asked for the manager, they were evasive and when the manager didnt turn we decide to just cancel our booking and ran.
This place is good only for people who needs to tan and go swimming and have no special hotel needs. The sea looked too deep anyway. There is no room service. There are no phones or television in the room.with these basic amenities missing, dunno what else to say.The rooms are okay, not very largish, u can see the sea from your room. Toilets are good, but dont know about the hot water situation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preetiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Preeti,
firstly we apologize for the experience you had.But let me try to explain the situation.as soon as you checked in our property,your husband left to the town leaving you alone.As soon as you went inside the room you closed the door,so the guy who took you to the room didnt have a chance to talk to you or explain anything to you.he could not knock the door and tell anything at all as he didnt want to disturb a single lady.We never projected that we had phones or television in the rooms.
He guided you to the parking area where actually we are making a shade for the cars.The beach is not deep as you thought,it is pretty safe even for children.
it is unfortunate that you didnt give a try to stay and didnt give us a chance to explain anything at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First class room with plenty of space.
The food was very good and the evening meal under stars and so close to the waters edge was a real treat.
Walk either way from the hotel and you have a great coastal walk ...dawn and dusk times best.
Babu has a good team of staff that keep the hotel comfortable and clean andare attentative when required.
All in all a perfect retreat from the madness that India can be ...will return ..but for a loger stay next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

it is a very friendly & service minded beach resort. Close to Varkalas best beaches with alot of shopping & restaurants as well as ayurveda treatments. The resort also has its own small beach where you take a swim as well as enjoy a fantastic dinner on the beach with fresh seafood, under the stars!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very much enjoyed the Palm Tree Heritage for the last 3 days of our South India trip. Perfect location right on the beach, away from the crowds but an easy walk into town for dinner and shopping. Babu was great in organizing our massages as well as making sure our transport arrived in plenty of time for our flight out of Trivandrum. A great way to end our trtip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $42 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing