We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
bath
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Quite simply the best hotel we stayed at in our 3 weeks in India. Spent the final week of our Honeymoon here and it was the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle and chaos of the North. The rooms are of a high standard, nicely furnished and scrupulously clean, with air-con & fridge to keep you & your drinks cool. Bathrooms are huge. Walk out of your door for 75 metres and you're in the sea. Good food from their own restaurant (try the paneer butter masala) and drinks served to your room when required. Lovely quiet spot, but a short stroll along the cliff puts you amongst the shops and restaurants. Our biggest praise though goes to the staff & management, Gopal & Babu and their team - genuinely friendly, unconditionally helpful, and always available without being intrusive. Criticisms? None at all. Overall, superb value for money, and levels of service that some of the big names could learn from. Gopal and team - manys thanks indeed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    217
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
295
370
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice and calm resort directly located at the seafront. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful and makes you feel very welcome. The food and drinks served in the restaurant are absolutely delicious - we had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfrieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We started our kerala vacation with 3 days at this resort. To start with, the location of this rersort is one of the best. Its right on the beach. To talk about the people there, everybody is very helpful and would take care of all your requirements. The restaurant serves amazing food and their restaurant head, Bobby, is really a good chap. He would go out of his way to serve you. Few things which we did not like about the resort were that it does not have a phone facility or room service. So for everything you have to either walk down to the reception or the restaurant. With a 2 year yr old kid that was really a task as we would need things frequently. Also, there is no TV, so there is not much to do except for the beach and the food, so please take your books and ipads along as few of you may need them after some time. To talk about Varkala, i am glad that i chose varkala over covalam. Its so unlike other popular beaches in India which are always overcrowded and dirty. This one was a cleaner one with good people around. Also, there are few good restaurants over the cliff (its 10-15 min walk from the resort). Do try them at dinner time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good except room number 105.. Its at the back with no view at all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is wonderful! The rooms are big enough with verandahs facing the sea! The food is awesome and the open restaurant provides beautiful view of the ocean and we enjoyed our food with the mild breeze out there! The beach and shore is quite close which made us run into the sea anytime! The garden with seatings to enjoy the sea view is a plus point! The place is very close to the cliff point and when we took a walk to either side of the resort we just landed with the beautiful scenery! The scenes of the sea from the cliff and the closeness to the hitting waves were breathtaking! This is THE place for calm and peace lovers, who would want to enjoy natural sceneries!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal, India
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had done my bookings through email and requesed for pick-up from rly station. On the day of arrival, I got a call from Babu to check our status and a taxi was waiting to pick us. Althogh the train was late by more than 1 hour the taxi driver was very cool. He dropped us at the resort. WE were surprised by the welcome and hospitality. Mr,Gopal greeted us and without any checking formalities he showed us our room and we checked in. The beach is right infront of resort and just a distance of stone thow. The restaurant is nearby the resort and facing beach and you can enjoy the food watching the waves. Restaurant people are friendly. There is boy from bangalore who served us and he was so fascinated to hear the our (his) Kannada language. The food is good and not much of waiting is required. We enjoyed at the beach, we can say seclueded beach, only resort occupants!!! Resort occupants were enjoying sunbathing in morning.

We didnt asked for any room service. I had my bsnl evdo coonection but sigal strength was not enough. Then, i called Gopal and he told me to use Wifi which is available near the reception at lounge.


Evening we walked towards the cliff and enjoyed the view and did shopping at shops over cliff.


The sweet memories at Palm Tree Heritage is refreshing and the resort is value for money. During our return, as I had return train at 11:40AM, Gopal quickly did the checkout formalities and arranged for an auto. Meanwhile, mr. radhakrishna, a staff of the resort was very happy to hear from us that we are from bangalore and was eager to talk to us in "Kannada". Finally we have been send off by gopal and radhakrishna.

Thank you Palm Tree and I surely visit once again for a long stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view. But there are no balconies in the rooms it is a sit-out (not much privacy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shhh297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We concluded our 8 day visited to Kerala yesterday (20th -28th Oct '12). The overall stay at various locations including Munnar, Allepey, Varakala was excellent . Of the hotels/resorts we lived in, what stood out was our stay at Palm Tree Heritage,Varakala. The resort is located at the Odayam beach. The property is beautifully constructed , spacious rooms and bathroom and also offers a private beach. The staff and management are very courteous and manage the property really well. The cook offered us a good choice of delicious North Indian dishes. Gopal , the manager was helpful and offered us good advice for the trip.We stayed for 2 days and hold some good memories from this place...looking forward to a stay another time soon....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laxmikant24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is just wonderful. We (three people) stayed there for three nights and just loved it. The team around Babu and Gopal is extremly helpful and friendly, they do everything to make you feel comfortable.
The rooms and bathrooms are big and spotlessly clean. We had sea/beach view from our room and our lovely terrace, since Palm Tree is situated directly on the beach. In the mornings we watched the fisherman from our terrace and just relaxed, in the evenings we watched the sunsets. The rooms are beautifully furnished, ACs are working fine, beds are comfortable. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pionad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopal s, Manager at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
thank you for the wonderful review.the fishermen drama in the morning by itself is such an attraction and easy time pass which you can experience everyday right from your balcony or from the restaurant.we are happy that you enjoyed it.
we are soon installing more accessories like coffee maker, and so on
it would be more nicer the next time you come
thanks a million
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing