We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Tree Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Heritage
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The booking was very smooth. Mr. Babu was very prompt in replying to e mails and telephone calls.
The property is located at the beach and you can just walk across unlike most of the properties at the cliff. A bit off the beaten track but still a small beauty. There is virtually no check in. Everyone behaved as if they were expecting us. Check in happened after we settled down. The room was nice and large with clean toilets and tubs. Hot water was in abundance. The AC was a bit noisy although we never required it as it was quite cold and raining.
Bobby, the manager at restaurant was friendly and enjoying his job. So were all the other staff. The sea food was all nice and fresh and made well. You can trek around the property on the beach side or walk up to the main road watching all the greenery.
Except for the flies , the crows and the dogs around, the place was great. Excellent
By the way, No TV in room. In fact a great advantage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    212
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
284
367
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Babu and his team did almost everthing to make our stay at Palm Tree Heritage a great experience. Babu was already very quick when reacting to our mails prior to our booking and this did not change throughout the 3 days we stayed. It is a lovely place, the rooms are spacy and clean and breakfast is good and sufficient.
August is off-season and is used to do construction work, which was quite disturbing. For future traveller, the noise and dust should be lesser, I hope (but ask before booking).
Furthermore, Babu hired a new chef who started his job after our departure. One of the few weaknesses (rather poor lunch and dinner offers) should therefore be solved by now.

Room Tip: If you travel as a couple, any requests to the young men at the reception should be raised by the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustrianinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location of Palm Tree Heritage is wonderful: just at the end of the Varkala's beaches, so quiet, peaceful and beautiful. You are away from all restaurants and shops which are located on the cliff, but not so far, so you can walk to them (about 30 mn to go: nice walk along the sea...)/
Rooms are nice, very clean, large and just beside the sea.
Babu, the owner, and all his staff are friendly and efficient...
So all is perfect... except one point: the menu list is far too short for that kind of establishment, especially if you stay there many days. Food and fish were good, no complaint, but basic and poor choice. This should be improved. A new restaurant is under construction, so perhaps after, this will be done...
Anyway because the location, the room and all but the choice in food I give 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertBranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for 6days at the end of a wonderful trip to India. I'd read about it online and on arrival was a little disappointed, however, My first impressions changed very quickly with the fabulous, attentive service of Boby and his team. Our 6 days at Palm Tree Hertiage was like living with an extended family.. Mr Babu and Boby looked after our every need including booking our superb cookery course and riverboat trip. Every evening we had fresh seafood and breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We particularly like the cold beers available on the veranda or down on the beach. A great find and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWA186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailleul, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Super and fabulous hotel

We stayed there for 4 nights and were sad to leave this wonderful place.
Very clean hotel no damp at all (as the sea is very close)
Nice people and very helpful
We really enjoyed it
It mus be very difficult to find better !!!
French 60 years couple who used to travel a lot

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonneel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is just wonderful. It is away from the main row of hotels which are along the cliff which we liked. It took around 20 mins to walk along to the beginning of the main row of restaurants and around forty minutes to the main beach. The hotel itself is lovely and Babu was extremely helpful in organising our trip to the next place. Great breakfast in the morning. Definitely recommended as long as you don't mind the walking. Bring a torch for the night walk home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miranda_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family comprising me, wife , and two kids of 6 years and 3 years age stayed in this resort during last week of September 2011, we conformed the booking through email, did not pay any advance (if I remember correctly) we were received by Mr Babu (one of the nicest guys I come across in my trips) and he offered a 2 Bed room property instead of the single bed room property we booked at no extra cost..
the room are so luxurious , the Bath room is almost as big as many Bed rooms in the match box flats of Bangalore ...
He arranged auto for local sight seeing and suggested some good places ..
Babu tried his best to arrange a house boat ride at a reasonable price, but he could not get a deal so he arranged a country boat ride to a near by small island , which was a very nice experience .. My kids had a nice time in beach playing in sand and in the lawns of property.
They served the dinner on the beach , it was a very pleasant experience ..
Pros: luxurious property, Babu is so friendly and knowledgeable
Cons: Food , it can be better .. and can have more variety.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalyan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.4 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Heritage

Property: Palm Tree Heritage
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Tree Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Tree resort the tranquil stay on Odayam Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Tree Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Heritage Hotel Varkala
Palm Tree Heritage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing