We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Tree Heritage
Nearby Hotels
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$39
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$16
$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$70
$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveler rating
707
239
39
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
239
39
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachmr babucandle light dinnertiger prawnsfamily suiteodayam beachdinner on the beachthe cliffsuperior suitelocal fishermensea foodfresh seafoodhis teamcatch of the daybanana leafbeach sidesound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

our trip to varkala beach was not a planned one,actually we were on our way to kovalam and we thought we'll have a look. We got some resorts list from just dial and selected palm tree heritage,it wasnight time and we had no choice,except staying.and it was worth our decision and was awesome.....,mr.bobby,a friend of mr.babu did an excellent service for our peaceful stay.that was a short trip and we really worried to start from there,the location was superb.that was a perfect and unexpected holiday for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nandhinikarthic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in March 2011, for one week.

The good points are lovely beach side location, large clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, led by an energetic Babu, who did bend over backwards to make our stay a good one.

The bad points are that on arrival, and even having confirmed with the hotel on the day of our arrival , we found that our room had been taken, and would not be available until the next stay and we were put into a concrete annexe a few hundred yards down the beach. After some heavy persuasion our room was suddenly available at 9pm ...and I suspect that someone else was inconvenienced instead. Reading the reviews this seems to be a consistent story with others, and is complicated by the fact that there is the annexe that needs filling. I would encourage other guests to triple check their bookings and to perhaps insist on paying a small advance. I should add that Babu did not charge us for the first night, but it still did not make up for a poor arrival and first night that represented 20% of our stay.

The rooms are lovely, but the furniture needs changing from the heavy and oversized indian gothic to something more in keeping with the style and vibe of the hotel.

The kitchen was a mess, and as I understand it subcontracted to another business who were really not on top of what needed doing in terms of just tidying up, basic cleanliness and quality. It needs rethinking. Worst of all the boss of the kitchen operation sat in the corner all day, without lifting a finger, or managing to get anything done. A bad look, but perhaps this has now been changed as we stayed a few months ago, and Babu did indicate that he was aware of the issues

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capsa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This place is a total gem - I am almost afraid to tell people because it seems to be a well-kept secret! After 3 weeks of intensive travelling in India in November 2011, we wanted a few days of relaxation at the end of the holiday and we were well rewarded. Palm Tree Heritage is right on the beach about a 15 minute walk beyond the centre of Varkala and off the beaten track. The beach cafe/restaurant is great and they serve amazing fresh seafood and cold beers by candle light on the beach in the evenings. The staff are unbelievably helpful and kind and always thinking of their guests. They treat everyone like friends - Babu and Shyam are always ready to help with any query. Breakfast is served on the porch outside your room, which is facing onto the beach. The beach is small but really only guests from the hotel go there so its not a problem. The water there is clean and you can definitely go for a splash around but like a lot of beaches in India it seems, maybe not the safest for swimming as the waves can be unpredictable. We did swim but didn't go out of our depth.The rooms are all newly renovated and are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend the Palm Tree Heritage, we had a fantastic stay..but don't tell anyone else!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMRL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We are fan of India and went already many times in the south. This is the best hotel we ever been in South India., we had 10 beautiful vacation days.!! It is smalll, very nice decorated with wood furniture, clean, very quiet but not too far from all the restaurants and bars, walking distance 10mn. All the staff is very nice, they are really trying to make you feel good. Babu the manager is every day on duty a take care of the guests. You can ask him everything , he will always have a solution!!!! The restaurant on the beach is very nice, You are having breakfast and look at the fischermen who are sweating and shouting to get their fischingnest out of the water.The food is not the best (no tandoori oven) but you are seatted very nice on the beach your feet in the sand.!! So don't hesitate, just go there and enjoy it!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroll J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had booked my Kerala trip fr 7 days via Antilog Vacations and it turned out to be a highly successful one. At my fiancé’s behest we decided to go for an offbeat place and decided against the run of the mill hill stations and beaches.

Varkala in southern Kerala particularly intrigued us as it was the only place in Kerala where cliffs were found bordering the Arabian Sea. We were a bit apprehensive as to whether we would get a package to this little known town.Antilog showed in true style why they are considered as the best for Kerala tours.They gave us a good itinerary & booked Palm tree for our stay in Varkala

The place is managed by Babu, Reggie and Shyam and their helpful nature is really infectious as the rest of the crew is extremely cooperative. The honeymoon suite was not vacant and hence we got an executive deluxe room.

It was larger than we had envisaged at around 40 sqmt. A large attached bathroom and big balcony accentuated the size and beauty of the room. The mattress of the bed was a touch ragged though and given the other amenities, a better and comfortable mattress would have really completed the room.

The region seemed to be hard pressed for electrical power and hence a minor blip was the 30 minute load shedding every evening between 7 and 8 o’clock. But we usually took a stroll by the beach during that period and the cool sea breeze coupled with the glistening moonlight made up for the missing electricity and more. Moreover the lines of boats normally anchored itself during the dusk and this was quite a sight to behold.

The food at the Palm Tree Heritage was an impressive mix of local and Indian fares. The breakfast was complimentary and had English options too. Thus all in all the Palm Tree is definitely a recommendable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akhilesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Friend,

Hope everything is ok.

Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family.
Also, please recommend our place to your friends and your family we will take good care for them.
Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise.

Thanks & Regards

Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews