We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gipsy Kings - CLOSED

Gipsy Kings
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good local food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I ordered Kerala fish which was nice as the other places do not have it on the menu often in Keralan style. The downside was the price, the fish was not one the expensive ones, on the menu there is no fixed price for it, so at the end we ended up paying a lot more then what you have assumed and the other places are charging. Somewhat it was felt like to be cheated.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TundeToth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

at best.no attention for cleanliness,little care for standards.The location i is its saving grace.very panoramic indeed.The food is quite average and you can't pretend too much.better to stick to indian or steaks.simple food no surprises.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mohanlalsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our haunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

First place we stopped in, and it became our favourite. Friendly waiters and chefs, amazing fish dishes. the pasta is awesome too. One of the best places to watch the sun go down with a Kingfisher... or two.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank janecoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and GREAT fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed in Varkala for 10 days and this was the one place I though the fish was cooked perfectly. Wrapped in a banana leaf with an amazing concoction of herbs and spices and served with delicious coconut rice, you would be missing out if you didn't eat here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dannydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The food is quite good compared to what i have had on the beach. Try the chicken briyani, it is very good. Also you get free wifi, so it was good to just seat and work while looking at the beach.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onyeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gipsy Kings also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing