We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Breeze Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$39
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$21
$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
9
8
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
8
9
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 30 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I was backpacking in India with my boyfriend last November. After spending two weeks in all kinds of budget accommodations we reserved a room from Sea Breeze for five nights, but almost instantly wanted to stay there one night extra. We had a room in first floor without AC, think it was 1200 rs/night. There was a fan in the seiling and mosquito net too.

Service was excellent and we liked very much the rooftop restaurant. Yoga lessons and ayurvedic treatments can be reserved too from hotel staff. They weren't still at all pushy, like in some other places we were during our trip.

Hotel is very near the small Black Beach, we could here the waves to our room at night, which was quite nice. Sea Breeze was just what we needed in that moment. Quiet, well run, clean. Like a little paradise. Although it was one of the most expencive accomodations we stayed in, it was worth of every rupie.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vivera073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

At nearly the last minute, I learned that I would have approximately a five-day break from work, so quickly did my research on hotels. Sea Breeze felt right, and after a day around Varkala, realized it was the correct choice.
As this was the start of the monsoon period, hence the low season, the rates were very good at SB. I had been advised by a colleague and frequent traveller to India to go for the air conditioning as it was apt to be muggy at this time of year. For IR 1,200 a night I had a large AC room on the ground floor. It was lovely. It was quiet. Every morning I was also introduced to a different "Kerala breakfast," which was included in the RI 1,200 room rate.
Just a hop to the beach, and later a ten, or less, minute walk to my favourite restaurant at the beginning of the cliff area, the area afforded privacy as well as convenience.
Four days on the beach are a bit much for me, so with the suggestions and network of contacts of Baiju, the proxy-manager, I visited the local Temple Festival my first night, a train trip to Trivandrum the next day, an artist's workshop & small village, and then my last day swimming and walking the beaches. The area further past SB towards the mosque was also interesting; the fishing huts and boats as well as the pastel floral mosque of the fishermen.
Ending each day with dinner and chai at Trattorias was heaven. I waited 'til the sun set and the lights of the fishing boats appeared on the horizon & then back down to Sea Breeze with my own torch in hand.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Spotted the Sea Breeze while we were spending time at Black Sands beach about 80m in front of the Sea Breeze. The hotel has only a prawn hatchery between it and the beach. Its 8 minutes walk to the Northern end of the North Cliff and one of the best places to eat in Varkala; Trattorias.

We stayed for 12 days in January and 18 days in March in a basic room.Cost was IR 2,250 for the first 6 days of our January stay and IR1,750 for the next 6 days. In March the rate had fallen to IR1,000 a day.All rates included breakfast and the hotel supplied a beach umbrella to take to the beach, worth IR150 a day.You may have to negotiate to get breakfast included.

Our room was on the ground floor,looked out on to a small patio with two cane chairs, then a wider patio that runs the length of the hotel; a hammock outside each room. The overhang ot the upper floors meant the room did not get direct sun and so stayed fairly cool.

The room had a high ceiling with a ceiling fan. The fan worked so well we had to switch it off as we were too cold. The room was bare with a very large double bed, mosquito net that was not needed when we were staying. Attached bathroom nicely tilled with Western WC and cold water shower.There was hot & cold water taps for a "bucket/bailer" shower. Storage was sparse.

The top floor had a restaurant under an awning. The breakfast, order anything you like from the ala carte menu Indian and Western, was excellent. The cook who comes from Darjeeling was very good and could produce most kinds of Indian Cuisine. We ate several times in the restaurant at night the food was so good, although they don't have the range of fresh fish at the cliff top restaurants.

There is a PC you can use on the landing next to the restaurant but it was rather slow but no worse than any other in Varkala.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly from Sunil, the manager to the hotel sweeper.

Given the cost of hotels in Varkala in season the Sea Breeze is great value for money. It's not 5 star luxury but its comfortable, clean and not expensive; every thing a pair of pensioners needed. Several other guests were staying for some time to do Yoga courses.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights and overall found the hotel See Breeze quite ok. We had the Deluxe AC Room on the first floor for 2500 Rs + Tax.
The room was large, quite clean, had a fan and Aircon, but no TV or wifi. The bed was huge, we had our pillows changed the first night. The staff was very friendly, organized AutoRikshaws and Taxis when we needed them. I think the description of private balcony on their website is a bit misleading. Basically it´s a huge balcony where, in front of every room-entrance you have a little separated section. It´s not like you can do whatevery you want on your private balcony because people from neighbouring rooms will walk past you. A nice thing is that they have hammocks everywhere on the balcony. The hotel is on the north end of the Varkala cliffs, to walk to the main beach you need about 10-15minute stroll along the cliff bars and shops. However, there is a smaller beach which is nice to swim at, right in front of the hotel (ca. 100m from the entrance).
For my taste there was too little furniture in the room, so that we had to live out of our travel-bags for lack of storage room.
There is breakfast included in some of the room rates. They accept credit cards.
It is quiet during the whole day and night, which you won´t be able to say for all hotels on the cliff.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prophet_s1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews