We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"sea and sea food -both at their best"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant

Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 87 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant is situated near one of the most important point for tourism in Varkala. From the terrace of the restaurant customers can see the holi Papanasham beach and enjoy beautiful sunset. We offer food cooked on the spot with fresh ingredient every day and fresh fish cooked in tandoori or grilled and served in delicious different ways.
varkala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"sea and sea food -both at their best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fresh fish preparation -prepared in tandoor.A wide choice of sea food and yummy cocktail especially " PINK LADY".u would love the scenery around the beach and cliff also great colour combination off sunset. Sound of wind and lashing waves do the job of background music.And nice and helping management ( new)must try in Varkala marine palace

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abhivarkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy the sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Top location, right on the beach. Nice food. Very friendly staff. What else do you need? I really recommend to try this place while you are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinggaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top place in a top location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having tried a few restaurants in Varkala the Marine Palace definitely comes out top as it has a great combination of good food at very reasonable prices and a really nice place in a great location right down on the beach.
I would definitely recommend you try it if you are staying in Varkala or passing through

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toilet best thing about this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived early in the evening looking for a meal. We seated ourselves.
During our meal we found that we were being bitten by mosquitos. when the bill came w found that the price of what we had ordered had jumped 400rs each. we queried this and to our amazement the waiters shouted at us! two of them. both claiming to be the manager and angrily denouncing us as having been aware of how they price their food. I looked for a manager asking other waiters for one but none could be found. if you like abuse, mosquitos and long waits for food and price hikes this is the place for you. Otherwise there are plenty of other choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PremSatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our best meal - and great toilets!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a fabulous meal here. The nicest coconut rice I have EVER had - plus the fish in banana leaf was gorgeous- really try here for a higher standard of food, quick service and as I indicated in the title - proper western toilets, with paper, clean..................!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing