We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low standards”

Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant is situated near one of the most important point for tourism in Varkala. From the terrace of the restaurant customers can see the holi Papanasham beach and enjoy beautiful sunset. We offer food cooked on the spot with fresh ingredient every day and fresh fish cooked in tandoori or grilled and served in delicious different ways.
Paonia, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Low standards”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had two meals here, lunch one day and breakfast the next. The lunch was uninspiring, but since most places have uninspiring breakfast, we ate there again the next day out of convenience. Mistake!
I had a sweet lassi, which tasted off, but I just tried to choke it down. When my girlfriend tasted her curd (yogurt), we realized all their dairy was spoiled. It was disgusting, but the waiter denied that there was anything wrong with their curd. In the end we weren't charged for the curd she sent back, but the staff didn't seem to care about us or the quality of their food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Ate here on regular basis as staying at Marine Palace. Most meals were good standard especially the seafood spring rolls. Good masala chai. Some good seafood dishes. Good location right on the south beach of Varkala.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank frumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious fish”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Wonderful fresh fish chosen by you and cooked as you want plus masses of other tasty options. Didn't have one bad meal there all holiday. Service slow but not worried by that as it meant it was being freshly cooked and we were in no hurry. Staff very friendly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoseyM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The freshly cought fish is displayed outside the restaurant and you can choose which one you fancy. The food is lovely and the location is amazing. Its right on the beach. There is also the usual choice of european dishes to keep children who are wary of unfamiliar food happy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travelghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Eh!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were sent here by our hotel but were not impressed by anything except the fish biryani. Seemed very tourist driven which is fine if you want chips with your meal.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing