We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaiya House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Varkala
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
390
18
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceother guestswalking tourorientation walkthemed roomsjapanese roomyour bearingsearly morning walktakes guestslocal festivalfish marketthe clifflocal lifehouse is beautifulan amazing hostcanoe tripcoastal walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 410 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

In January 2011 we lived in the Kaiya House. The hotel owner is a charming lady Debra. It’s a 2 storey mansion. It has 7 rooms decorated in different styles: African, Indian, Franch, English, American and etc. The rooms are well-furnitured, very clean. Breakfast’s included in the price.You can order a special menu according to your taste. The Kaiya House is situated in a quite place, 10 minutes walk from the beach and restaurants. Near the hotel there is a 2000 year old temple and the lake. Debra is an excellent hostess. She looks after her guests very well. In this hotel you feel like at home.
If we go to Varkala again, we’ll stay only at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My 17 year old and I stayed 5 nights at Kaiya House and found it to be the perfect place for us. More like a home than a hotel. We were well taken care of by owners Debra and Sadosh. The location was good, not right in the middle of the tourist bustle on the north cliff but only a 10 minute walk to there and the beach. Also we could walk to the other end of the beach from Kaiya and see the 2,000 year old temple and the interesting activities and rituals at the beach. Kaiya also happens to be right next door to an ayervedic centre for massage etc. We had a great time there and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judith036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

lots of gorgeous luxurious touches (posh sheets, impeccable cleanliness, and style) and a wonderful atmosphere. Debra's care, concern, warmth, and attention to detail makes it more like a visit to a glamorous older sister. Each room is decorated in a different style using the antiques collected by Debra during her travels (an English room, a Japanese room, an Indian room etc) - nothing is too much trouble and Debra really is the perfect host.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanineC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at Kaiya House for 4 days. It was a lovely stay with a home away from home feel. Debra runs this place and is an amazing hostess who is on her toes to ensure that you walk away with the best experience ever. Good, healthy home made food along with special tips from Debra to make the most of your stay. Kaiya House is A 10 minute walk from the North cliff Varkala.
I look forward to returning to Kaiya House.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelondollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews