We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kaiya House is an excellent choice for a home away from home. Varkala cliff and beach are but a few minutes walk away and where restaurants and bars are located. Kaiya is clean and comfortable with eclectic interior decor and themed bedrooms. The rooftop communal area is thoughtfully designed, spacious, well equipped and the place to chill out and meet fellow travellers. The staff were very helpful from serving a freshly made breakfast to doing the laundry. Debra the owner, is a friendly host who goes out of her way to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Debra took the trouble to show us around, accompanied us to a local festival and arranged a morning walk along the beach where those inclined had a marvellous time helping local fishermen pull in their nets. We had a truly memorable experience on our last night when Debra put on her dancing shoes and encouraged everyone to join in. Would definitely stay again given the opportunity, thoroughly recommend Kaiya.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
That roof dance was too much fun! We had a lovely group of people up for a late night of playing under the stars! Perhaps we can meet for a repeat in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
185
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Kaiya House is really all about Debra, who turned a rather run down house on the edge of town into a stylish and really comfortable home.
It was our first visit to Kerala and this was our first stop...what made it an ideal introduction was Debra's insistence on making sure we knew where to go, what to see, what to pay, where to eat and so on.
On the day we arrived she took us on a walk round Varakala to get us oriented, then a couple of days later on her 7km dawn walk up the coast which takes you away from the cliff top cafes and deep into fishing villages and coconut palm forests. Definitely the highlight of our visit.
Nothing is too much trouble, and Debra helped us organise other trips and stays beyond Kaiya house, which were also great (Monroe Island Canoe tour and a stay at the Maanas Veedu spa in Pathananmitta)
Don't stay anywhere else in Varakala!

Room Tip: Depending on the season, ask for one of the rooms with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I'm so happy the 4 of you had a great time and we're happy with the places I recommended for you. Thank you so much for your lovely words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Kaiya house was really lovely thanks to Debra. She has filled the house with lots of great art, furnishings and pieces which make it really unique. Although the highlight staying there is her helpfulness and dedication to making sure her guests have a great stay and become educated about Kerala's customs, traditions and people. You can tell she enjoys having people stay although it must be tiring! I thought it was really wonderful when she called us on the taxi driver's mobile when we arrived to check we were ok and welcome us and advise the time it would take and asked if we were tired or if we would Iike to go on a walk around town with her. The walk was interesting and we learnt a lot of great tips on travelling india, from the meaning of the head shake, to how to barter. Debra is constantly trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We went on a long walk early in the morning with her to see the villages and fishermen and the empty beaches. Debra is a great host with lots of info and personal service and she deserves top place on trip advisor for that. #1 from Rachel & Ollie. Xxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I'm so pleased you had a nice time with us. It was a true pleasure to meet you. Til next time, enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a hotel at last year and loved Varkala so much wanted to return ( something I don't usually do ) . This time I wanted a different experience and chose Kaiya House . Travelling alone it's very important to me that I feel safe where I stay and I certainly did at Kaiya . Debra and her team made me feel so very,very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble; in fact they went over and above to ensure that my stay was everything I wanted it to be , and more . My birthday was celebrated in style with a fabulous cake and dancing on the roof terrace. Debra was so knowledgable and recommended lots to see and do . Breakfasts were delicious with no pressure to eat at a set time and my room was kept spotlessly clean. Two weeks this year but three next , so much to do and see .

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words and I'm delighted that you've already booked your return for next year! See you then if I don't see you in the U.K. first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Kaiya house is an extremely well run, organised, friendly and clean place to stay. Deborah is an absolute diamond and will do anything for her guests and her loyal staff are also incredible. We arrived a day earlier than Deborah expected (nobody's fault, just a mix up) but Deborah was more than accommodating and managed to organise a bed for us all for the first night. The staff structure is extremely attentive to the guest's needs without being intrusive, and some loyal, local business people offer fair priced services to Deborah's guests in the form of yoga, Rickshaw rides, palm readings and massage etc. Kaiya house is not as close to the beach as many other cheaper places to stay, but having Deborah's knowledge, company and connections was worth paying the extra and the beach is only a 10 minute walk, or alternatively a Rickshaw ride for 40 pence!

I'd highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the area for the first time and I'd also recommend getting to know Deborah as she is an extremely interesting lady with lots of great experiences and stories. Her early morning walks are fantastic too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
It was lovely to have the 3 of you stay, lots of laughing...and late nights! I hope we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a group of four ladies. The owner, Debra, was so helpful with local information. She took us out on an 'orientation' tour on our first evening, recommended an excellent, and very cheap, restaurant. She also took us on a 7km walk along the coast very early, 6am, on our last morning to show us the fishermen hauling in their nets on the beach. The rooms are basic but extremely clean with fans but no AC. The beds are quite firm but that is the way in India. There was also some traffic noise but ear plugs sort that out. There is a choice of Indian, or more European breakfast cooked by Debra's staff who will also help in whatever way they can. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Varkala.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaandBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to meet the 4 of you and I hope you had a great time at the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent four nights here in late February and were not disappointed. We had planned to chill out in Varkala having had a busy trip up to that point. Debra made us very welcome from the moment we arrived (earlier in the day than she had expected as my email had gone astray), and nothing was too much trouble for her throughout our stay. She really puts a lot of effort in to ensure her guests are comfortable and have everything they need, and she lets you know of any interesting things happening around which you might like to experience. We went with her and other guests to a festival one evening which we enjoyed and wouldn't have known about otherwise. We stayed in the Chinese room which was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and served on the roof terrace which was huge and proved a great place for relaxing and doing yoga. Mats are provided. We were happy to be a short distance away from the hustle and bustle of the cliff top and either walked or got an auto rickshaw to and from the beach and restaurants. Debra's staff were delightful and the whole house has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Do stay here if you are visiting Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbury_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I'm so glad you got to experience a festival in Kerala and had a good and relaxed time with us. Thank you so much for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing