We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

For once people of Tripadvisor... believe the hype! The other 5* reviews on here are spot on.
Kaiya house offers a truly remarkable experience, providing complete professionalism in a relaxed, home-stay environment.
It is very difficult to describe how wonderful our time at Kaiya house was... it would appear that others who have commented on TripAdvisor have also had a similar difficulty.
The property is clean and full of wonderful art work and artefacts. The rooms are "themed" to different cultures (Japanese room, Africa room etc.).The communal spaces within the property are beautifully designed and provide a wonderful location to meet fellow guests. The staff are local and provide extra services at extremely reasonable prices (fresh fruit juices, laundry services etc.). Above all it is the owner, Debra, who makes the stay at Kaiya truly remarkable - Her professionalism, honesty and energy are what makes Kaiya house #1 in Varkala on Tripadvisor - In our opinion Kaiya House should be #1 in all of India!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbobs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thanks so much. The only sad bit was you had to go before New Years but it was so lovely having you both here. Happy future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
185
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place is the perfect place to stay because of Debra the owner. The walking tour she gives when you arrive makes all the difference and really lets you understand the lay of the land and saves a lot of time and headaches!

The rooms are very nice, though the bathrooms are a bit small. There are a lot of unique elements in the house itself which makes for an even more interesting stay! Its not on the main strip and beach, but its very close and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuntalshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words. Yours was one of the first reviews of the season and started things rolling. I really thank you for that! Happy future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was my second visit to Kaiya House and it was amazing as before. I just wish i was there now.

Debra is the perfect hostess, she makes you feel special and goes out of her way to make sure you have a great time. One day she even took me shopping for "weird" gifts in the local town.

As soon as you walk through the door and are greeted by Debra and Babachi you just know you have come to the right place.

We will be coming back this year...and next year,,,,and the following year...etc.

Room Tip: All are great. I've slept in the India and the English room. The English room has a picture of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
It was so wonderful to have you here again. You do make me laugh, great sense of humour. I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I can only echo all the other fantastic reviews given to Kaiya Place on Tripadvisor. It was because of the reviews that we chose Kaiya House and I can't add any more superlatives. Debra made our stay fabulous - her 7km walk is a must, and a new activity she organised was a boat trip along the coast just after sunrise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was really nice to meet you both. Happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed at Kaiya house for six nights at the beginning of December and loved every minute of my stay. Debra and the family are just amazing from wonderful breakfasts to early morning walks. Debra advised me on good places to shop and eat and all the goings on about Town. I Loved the whole house with its laid back atmosphere and beautiful decorations. The roof area is lovely for breakfast and night time tails with a beer in hand. Thank you so much for a wonderful and memorable time I really didn't want to leave. Georgina Jenner :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie300185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
And I didn't want you to leave either! You're a true inspiration. Hope you can come back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Apologies in advance for the number of superlatives I'd need to write this review!
This was my first trip to India, my first trip as a solo female traveller and I really couldn't have asked for a better experience. I had a bit of a wobble in Dubai airport after receiving some texts from friends and family telling me to take care and be safe etc... and subsequently realising I'd left my credit card at heathrow... But Debra allayed any worries I had from the moment I landed at cochi airport. She'd arranged a car to collect me and make the 4-5 hour journey, phoned the driver to speak to me and check I was ok, and gave me a tour of the house and area once I'd reached varkala. Debra and her team are the most warm, helpful, friendly and accommodating people you could hope to meet. There really is nothing that is too much trouble and they want to make sure you leave with wonderful memories, which I certainly have done. The room was really comfortable and I felt like everyone there was really taking care of me, and that I wasn't just 'the English lady in room 27' or something like that! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and I would love to have that now in England - freshly grated coconut, banana and papaya, muesli and yoghurt... Pancakes one day - complete with Nutella from a little shop in varkala!
The massage I had on the roof terrace was amazing - I honestly don't think I'll have another as good as that in my life! Debra arranged several day trips : backwaters cruise, elephant ride, a local festival...
The house is great to meet fellow travellers and because it's slightly out of varkala it feels really safe - I never once worried for my safety during my trip (which I thought I might before I arrived).
This really was a trip of a lifetime and has left me with a huge desire to return to India in the near future. Thank you Debra and Babachi for everything! :-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I'm so glad you felt safe and at home. I know this reply is appallingly late, admin isn't my strongest point but I so appreciate the wonderful words that come from my guests. I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thanks, Debra!! For making us feel at home, for caring, for doing everything to make us feel comfortable (changing rooms because the bed was too short :) ), for showing us around Varkala, for the beautiful early-morning-walks... the list goes on and on! You and your staff are doing a fantastic job! And we really liked the idea of the differently decorated rooms (Japan, China, India, Africa...).
It was hard to say goodbye after more than a week... Thank you so much and all the best!!
Simon and Steffi

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the house (China or Africa) are a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing