We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Home and Beautiful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home and Beautiful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Kaiya House for 4 nights. Kaiya house is beautifully decorated with lovely well appointed rooms and is spotlessly clean. It had a lovely roof terrace and balcony to relax on. Debra was a fantastic host who gave us a tour of the town and a talk on how to get by as a westener in India (which we found invaluable as this was our first visit). She also recommended to us a friend of hers who comes by the homestay and provides a reasonably priced massage/reflexology/shiatsu service, which we took advantage of and was great! An overall lovely stay here, we'd love to come again and our only request would be to have curtains or a blind in the room as we're not the earliest of risers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
183
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Kaiya House is so much more than a guesthouse, it is one of a kind and very very hard to leave! From the moment I arrived after a long nights travel I felt welcome, cared for and at home. So much so that I spent a total of 4 weeks there during my Keralan trip...

The house is an amazing treasure trove of artwork, so many beautiful pieces collected from all over the world and so well put together. I stayed in the Japanese and African rooms which were both excellent and the beds are so comfortable, a luxury in India!

The house is immaculately clean, the manager Babuchi is a beautiful caring lady who always has a smile when you return, she will make you drinks at any time of night or day and breakfast can be whatever you like at whatever time suits you each day, so good to be able to head off to morning yoga before wandering back for a late breakfast on the roof terrace...

The fabulous Debra is so much more than a host,she genuinely cares about each and every guest, taking time to understand what each one needs and doing her very best to make sure you have the stay you want, she has an uncanny knack for knowing when you want to have company and when you want to be alone. The roof terrace is a great place to sit and chat with other guests, hear Debra's stories (amazing!), listen to music or to sit quietly on a dark terrace under a star lit sky.
For me my Kaiya experience started long before I arrived, numerous emails were exchanged and Debra went out of her way to help in planning not only the Varkala leg of my trip but my onward travels another example of her genuine desire to ensure you have an amazing trip.

Debra's orientation walk on arrival is so invaluable not only to get your bearings but also to have the best shops, restaurants pointed out, I have never known anyone go so much out of their way for each and every guest.

Debra also does a 7Km walk in the early morning which is an absolute must do. The 5am wake up is a little harsh but more than worth it to see the cliff before it is fully awake, it will take you through fishing villages, jungle and secluded beaches as the sun rises. The perfect start to a day.

Whatever you are looking for Debra will point you in the right direction or put you in touch with someone who can.

There is an ayurvedic hospital next door where treatments are available but there is also the opportunity to have therapies on the roof terrace with the lovely Pema, I had both Thai yoga massage and reflexology, both were amazing, Pema really does have magic hands and a beautiful spirit.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to the cliff but that is actually a bonus and a great opportunity to experience a little local life.

I have stayed in many places in India now but never have I found one so hard to leave as Kaiya House this really was a special place and I am already planning how soon I can return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Kaiya House in early December and couldn't reccommend it highly enough. Debra and her staff were really welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was clean and comfortable, and the included breakfast was great- Debra just asked us exactly what we wanted and that's what we got. We really enjoyed relaxing on the roof top balcony - a great place to eat breakie each morning and get out of the midday sun. While it's not located directly on the cliff tops like some hotels, it was nice to be staying slightly away from that area, and it also gave us the opportunity to walk around town a little more. If you do stay definitely take up Debra's offer of the early morning 7km walk along the cliffs- it's beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the first moment you step into Kaiya House and are greeted by Debra and her lovely smiling assistant Babuchi with a cold towel and a drink, you know this is the place to be and you will be looked after.
Debra has it all worked out, from the basic things to the little details (she wont let you drink wine from cups, and brings out her vintage wine glasses instead). She takes you out on introductory walk, which helps to get your bearings, points out good places to eat and shop, calls the restaurant to make sure they get the good wine ready for you when you arrive, arranges massage on her rooftop terrace (highly recommended, the therapist is excellent), takes time to sit with you and shares stories, photos and favourite music. Her house is your house, you feel instantly comfortable and at ease.

The house and the rooms are beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, full of little things from all over the world and every time you look you notice some other little detail you have not seen before. The rooms are very nice and comfortable (I stayed in the Chinese room) and the breakfast is very tasty (gracefully cooked and served by Babuchi) - the banana pancakes are to die for!

Debra even takes you for an early morning walk (which is well worth getting up at 5am for!), which leads you along the coast, through fisherman villages and the sky is constantly transforming with the rising sun.

What else can you wish for? Only that you could stay longer! I have not done any Trip advisor reviews before, but Debra and Kaiya House deserves that people know how great it is. I´ll be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My sister chose this hotel after looking at the reviews on trip advisor and we absolutely loved it.

The home is beautiful. The furnishing alone make it worth a stay. Beautiful and quirky objects frm around the world that you want to steal and take home (Don't by the way!).

I loved the roof terrace. We watched the sunset one evening and it was so beautiful. We even spotted some large bats in the trees. But don't worry they're not the kind that turn human and bite you.

But the best thing about the stay was Debra who goes out her way to make you feel welcome and shows you all the local hot spots. She even arranges an early morning walk which was a real highlight of the trip (it's a beautiful walk along the coast) and is worth the early start (despite my tantrum at the time).

In addition to Debra, there is the lovely Babuchi with the wonderful smile who makes the food and looks after the house and makes you feel so welcome.

I will be returning soon

Room Tip: I stayed in India and loved it but I think theyre all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is amazing. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the house is a short Tuk Tuk ride from the main Cliff Top and beach at Varkala. But the absolute star of the show is the owner Deborah. She takes you on a tour of the local area showing you all the best places to shop and introducing you to the locals. She is also prepared to take walks in the morning so that you get to see the best scenery. On top of that add a wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace and you have the most perfect place to stay. We hope we can get back there soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm not even staying in Kaiya House but debra has helped me online with all kinds of advice and tips. She answered my questions clearly and promptly even after it was clear I was of no monetart use!! I'm taking her some chocolate from Switzerland and she deserves every bit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.8 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing