We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights after booking on recommendation and more than lived up to previous reviews but I was still surprised by the exceptional service provided by host Debra who couldn't really have done anymore to make this an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
191
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the minute we arrived and met Debra we knew we had come to the right place. Great to have the getting to know the area walk. Wonderful Indian breakfasts on the roof ( especially the iddly) and lots of info about anything we needed. When one of us got flu' Debra organised a trip to the doctor, the driver and even rang ahead to make we saw someone quickly.
All the rooms are well furnished with everything you need.
The house is in a great position near the cliffs, shops, coffeehouse and a myriad of restaurants.
We loved the relaxing times we spent having a drink and a chat on the roof with our hostess and the other guests.
Would love to return to thisl home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We found this place because of great reviews on Trip Advisor, and they were accurate. This small guest house has lots of local character and offers great, personal service. Debra, the owner, is very helpful and always on hand to call a tuk tuk or arrange an excursion. Her team there are very helpful too. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. It's a 10-15 min walk (or Rs50 tuk tuk ride) to the North Cliff, Varkala's beach, cafe and restaurant area. Bear in mind that the bathroom is a wet room and showers are cold, if that bothers you - though Kerala is humid so a cold shower is actually quite refreshing! Thoroughly recommended as a good value, clean place with excellent service!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My fiance and I visited the Kaiya house for three nights last month and it was fantastic. Debra and her staff greeted us and immediately made us feel at home, making tea and coffee and then leading us on a fantastic and information filled "get to know the area" tour. That experience is already a great value. The service is really first rate and all of the recommendations and rickshaw coordination go a long way to easing your stay. If you can pull yourself together to wake up for the early morning walk along the coast, do it - you won't regret it!

The rooms are all well equipped and individually decorated with a particular eye to art and design...in fact each object in the house has its place among a decor that is exceptionally well done. The house is as clean as can be, and the best part - the rooftop open air patio - is a marvel and a great place to spend the warm hours of the day chatting with other guests or reading a book.

This is the one of the best place I've ever stayed in, in any country, and I look forward to coming back again. Thanks Kaiya House!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms and they were equally good - I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATP97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, General Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I'm so sorry, I've been very lax in responding to reviews. Sometimes I'm so busy I think it will happen later and oops! So a bit delayed but I want to thank you now for your kind words. It means a lot to us! Hope you're well and having happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krumpendorf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Last December we were staying there for one week. Extremely kind staff with an excellent choice of kerala breakfast taken at the open roof terrace. We were heartily welcomed by Debra and enjoyed the private caring and very helpful atmosphere in this house. We absolutely recommend staying there.
Gerlinde und Rudi

Room Tip: Choose a room facing to the garden. This might be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudolf_roupec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do your lovely review. It was really nice to have you here and I'm hoping you'll do a return visit sometime. It was our complete pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here on my maiden visit to india, and just loved the place, the place has wonderful rooms attached bathroom to add too, the previous reviewer say it all about htis place.
Debra is a wonderful host. I felt welcomed and taken care of the moment we arrived. I also was happy with the way the booking went to and how i finally ended up at this wonderful place,
maybe not so soon but in the near future i definitely shall visit this place and i am sure i shall be taken good care of!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljohnson331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Owner at Kaiya House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment, a lot to live up to. I hope you'll visit Kerala again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

All the reviews you have read about this place are absolutely right : Kaiya House is spotless, serves great food, has wonderful staff etc. What makes it sing and gives it that unique charm is Debra's enthusiasm, her attention to detail, and, above all else, her genuine interest in those under her roof.
In addition to providing the best possible Kaiya experience, Debra assisted us in so many ways: by providing a very thorough introduction to Varkala; arranging transport; recommending an excellent houseboat operator and advising us on where to buy locally made goods.
Conversation on the wonderful roof terrace over coffee and a hearty breakfast was the perfect start to the Varkala day. We could go on - it's all been said before!
We began our holiday in Kerala at Kaiya House and came back for our last couple of days ...... It was a great decision!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiansummer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time! I'll ever remember the walk we attempted in the wee hours of the morning and getting caught in a downpour! I was so pleased you choose to come back at the end and we had a few more days of Scottish humour in the house. I do hope we meet again, perhaps up your way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing