We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely marvellous!”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Last December we were staying there for one week. Extremely kind staff with an excellent choice of kerala breakfast taken at the open roof terrace. We were heartily welcomed by Debra and enjoyed the private caring and very helpful atmosphere in this house. We absolutely recommend staying there.
Gerlinde und Rudi

Room Tip: Choose a room facing to the garden. This might be quieter at night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudolf_roupec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to do your lovely review. It was really nice to have you here and I'm hoping you'll do a return visit sometime. It was our complete pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Kaiya House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here on my maiden visit to india, and just loved the place, the place has wonderful rooms attached bathroom to add too, the previous reviewer say it all about htis place.
Debra is a wonderful host. I felt welcomed and taken care of the moment we arrived. I also was happy with the way the booking went to and how i finally ended up at this wonderful place,
maybe not so soon but in the near future i definitely shall visit this place and i am sure i shall be taken good care of!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljohnson331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Owner at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind comment, a lot to live up to. I hope you'll visit Kerala again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

All the reviews you have read about this place are absolutely right : Kaiya House is spotless, serves great food, has wonderful staff etc. What makes it sing and gives it that unique charm is Debra's enthusiasm, her attention to detail, and, above all else, her genuine interest in those under her roof.
In addition to providing the best possible Kaiya experience, Debra assisted us in so many ways: by providing a very thorough introduction to Varkala; arranging transport; recommending an excellent houseboat operator and advising us on where to buy locally made goods.
Conversation on the wonderful roof terrace over coffee and a hearty breakfast was the perfect start to the Varkala day. We could go on - it's all been said before!
We began our holiday in Kerala at Kaiya House and came back for our last couple of days ...... It was a great decision!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indiansummer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time! I'll ever remember the walk we attempted in the wee hours of the morning and getting caught in a downpour! I was so pleased you choose to come back at the end and we had a few more days of Scottish humour in the house. I do hope we meet again, perhaps up your way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a fantastic first impression and experience of Varkala.
I arrived at the House after a very long travel day and was immediately made to feel at home. The House itself is adorable and very comfortable, with a stunning rooftop. Perfect for yoga : )
But it is Deb, the owner, who really made the experience & stay as wonderful as it was. She is extremely hospitable and provides a great intro to the town.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexrobo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I'm so happy you felt at home, there is nothing better I could wish for. I hope the rest of your travels in India were filled with learning and interesting experiences. Travel well and hopefully we'll meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from 2 nights at the lovely Kaiya House. It's lovingly maintained with some beautiful artwork and decorative items. Each room has a theme (we stayed in the Japanese Room) which is delivered in a low key and tasteful way. Debra is great host, ably supported by her staff. Breakfasts will fill you for most of the day and nothing is too much trouble. I recommend Debra's orientation tour as Kaiya is about 10 minutes back from the beach, so it's useful to get your bearings. She also does a 7km beach walk at dawn on some mornings which is well worth going on.
There's no hot water in the en suite's, but you can ask for a bucket full from the kitchen and use the time trusted bucket and jug method. Rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained and there is an enormous roof terrace where you take breakfast or while away a few hours.

Room Tip: The road outside is very quiet, so no issues with noise. Just choose whichever theme you like
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAd1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a lovely review. I truly enjoyed chatting with both of you as it's interesting to share views of experiences of long stays in India. You also gave me some very helpful feedback and I appreciated very much your warmth and honesty. I hope we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a whole 14 nights at Kaiya House which was a Godsend to us after travlling around Malaysia and India. At the end of our long travels we just wanted to put our bags down and enjoy the last bit of our travelling by chilling out a little. This was the perfect retreat for us. Debra was so very kind and nothing was too much trouble for her or her friendly staff. The house was spotlessly clean (and mosquito proof). You could choose whatever you wanted for breakfast which was great. It was so nice to get up when we wanted instead of having a set time. There are 2 most adorable dogs Edward and Sheba who are so funny at times. I was a little worried about having a cold shower but needn't have been as cold in India is luke warm here. Anyone thinking of going should not worry, as we are quite fussy where we stay etc. and we found Debra and her home just "Perfect" for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I'm having to apologize to everyone for being late in thanking you on this site for your wonderful review. Although I sent a personal mail it's also important to thank you once again here. I love that you mentioned my dogs. I know the warm fuzzy feeling was mutual and they missed you when you left. It was great to have your energy in our home for a good long stay and I do hope you'll make your way to Varkala again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Kaiyas House for two nights and we didn't want to leave. It is simply the best place I have ever stayed. The house is beautiful, and the rooms are very clean, big enough and lovely decorated. There is a huge room terrace, where you can relax, practice yoga, have a cup pf lovely masala tea. The breakfast is the best I had in my whole stay in India.
There are no words to describe Debra's hospitality. She will take care of you and guide you so that you can have a wonderful stay in Varkala. Next time I visit Kerala, I will make sure I stay there longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paocarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiyaHouse, Manager at Kaiya House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I hope you understood my instructions for making chai! It was lovely to meet you and I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $31 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing