We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite”
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staying at Kaiya house was a special and memorable experience for us. We travelled in Southern india for 9 weeks and our stay here was definitely a highlight of the trip. We enjoyed great chats with our host, Debra, delicious breakfasts on the rooftop terrace and the best mattresses you're likely to come across in India. The guesthouse is located about 10 minutes walk from the north or south clifftop where most of the action is, but we actually enjoyed being away from the main thoroughfare and enjoyed the stroll ' back home'.Debra is a great host, with helpful tips about the area and has managed to create that 'home away from home' feel .
We stayed at quite a few lovelhy places but this was our favourite. Thanks Debra

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumbalumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 373 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

After going through the reviews, we planned short drive from Trivandrum and stayed a night in Kaiya house. True to the reviews, Debra is a wonderful host, made efforts to make our stay comfortable. A nice place recommended to stay in varkala.
///r_v_k

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r_v_k_v_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I had a wonderful relaxing start to my three week trip around India at Kaiya House. The wonderful Debra was incredibly helpful and friendly from the outset. From arranging a driver to be there for me at my very early arrival into Trivandrum to giving me a walking tour around Varkala helping me get my bearings, she really made sure my every need was catered for. The rooms are very clean, beautifully furnished (I stayed in the India room) and the rooftop is a wonderful spot to relax, check your internet (there is wifi) and birdwatch. Oh and Babachi cooks incredibly tasty Keralan food for breakfast. I cannot recommend Kaiya House enough. Thanks again Debra for a wonderful stay in Varkala!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missnunziatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Kaiya house is a wonderful guest house, each room is nicely decorated by Debra, who takes great pride in giving giving you personal service. The rooms are spotless, nb great mattresses, breakfast is rich and varied. The covered roof terrace is great for yoga, bird watching, sun set and relaxing with other guests. Debra is a fantastic host who takes good care of you and helps you with everything you may need regarding excursions, festivals and traveladvice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Kaiya House was our first port of call in India and Debra couldn't have given us a warmer welcome. She took us around the local area and showed us places of interest, as well as giving us advice and tips on other places in India.

We were touched by how caring Debra and the others in the house were - it really was a home from home. The breakfasts were also incredible and special thanks goes to the amazing and accommodating cooks! The house is scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated, and the roof terrace was a great place to cool down and have breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone visiting Varkala. Thank you to all at Kaiya House for making our first trip to India so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I and a friend of ours spent six nights at Kaiya House in February 2012. This is a lovely place to stay with high standard and a fantastic hostess, Debra. She made us feel very welcome from the very first moment and she always attended to our needs. Conversations with her were always so easy and delightful. Everything worked perfectly during our stay. The beach was certainly within walking distance but if you didn't want to walk Debra called Appu, a very nich rickshaw driver. At Debra's suggestion we made several interesting excursions around Varkala with Appu. When returning from the beach or from an excursion we were always offered something to drink. It was so nice and relaxing sitting on one of the terrasses with a glas of juice. We really enjoyed staying here and didn't want to leave. Kaiya House deserves more that five points.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had initially booked for 2 nights and stayed 4 in the end. The room was lovely and Debra very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The rooftop space is a really nice area to sit out. It is a quick and cheap tuk tuk ride (or approx 10 minute walk) to the restaurants and beach. We also did the cooking class with Pema which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LB77756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#8 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $31 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing