We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional and very accomodating.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiya House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiya House
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional and very accomodating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We called at Kaiya House in August and found Debra in the middle of major renovations but she showed us round her beautiful house nothing was too much trouble she is a wonderful host and we wish her well in the future.
Tom and Lin. U.K.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0mandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
183
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have never bothered to post anything like this before but I felt like it was such a great experience that I had to pass it on.
After the frenetic welcome to the sauna that is Kerala, I was welcomed with iced Cammomille tea and a calm, friendly woman who turned out to be the host! Debra could not do more for me and it was so welcoming. I was very nervous about travelling there on my own and so the extra secure feeling of the rooms and the gorgeous home was a real relief. I slept so well in the fresh linen and the peace and quiet after Trivandrum was so welcome.
My mornings were also perfect with whatever breakfast i wanted-served whenever i wanted-not this before 9:30 business that you can get in B&B land. Debra took me on more than one guided tour with several recommendations and after awhile I started to feel like I knew people and it felt really nice.Travelling alone can really make one feel sad at times so this was the perfect antidote-I could join in or not as my mood decided.
The wonderful family atmosphere was equally welcome and they really were there to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I left feeling like I had made some real friendships and I know how lucky I was to have found Kaiya House.Others I'd spoken to and met on the beach were not so happy with accomodation they had sorted.I did visit a few and they were really sub-standard compared to what I had. So,I thought I would pass on a little gem to fellow travellers and I hope you end up having as lovely of a time as I did!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank choosey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very freindly, immaculately clean, and probably the best place I stayed in India. Stayed here for about 2 weeks in total mid may. Liked it so much I went away stayed elswhere for a couple of nights and then came back again. Deborah and Babachee made me very welcome. Deborah takes the time out to ensure guests are familar with the area and that eveyone feels welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were exceptional fresh fruit from the garden with porridge was my fab. I would definately return here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jinxy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

If you want a guaranteed relaxing, warm, fun, and a hotel owner/staff attentive to all your needs, stay here. I found Debra (the owner) to be warm, friendly, full of knowledge, and eager to make my stay there a wonderful experience, which it was. The hotel itself was impeccably clean, comfortable and charming. I was so impressed with my experience at Kaiya that I even signed up on tripadvisor to write this review (and I have traveled extensively throughout the world).

Thanks again Debra!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Kaiya House for 3 nights. Debra was very welcoming and took us on a walk of the town when we arrived and was able to answer any questions that we had. We also did a morning walk with Debra along the beach which was stunning! Breakfast each morning was delish and when we returned from outings we were offered iced tea and water. Debra also provided towels, mats and water bottles for the beach.

The location is excellent so that you can enjoy both Temple Junction area and North Cliff.

The rooms are nice and comfy and we couldn't have asked for more. Also has excellent internet connection.

Highly recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly_leigh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We came across Kaiya House after looking on TripAdvisor and being impressed by the other reviews. It absolutely didn't disappoint! We were greeted with an ice cold tea and shown to the English Room - four poster bed, walls decorated with royalty. The house is full of beautiful items collected from around the world and is spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, good options and it was nice to have something less spicy for a change. Debra was a wonderful host, she gave us a tour of the North Cliff upon our arrival, and her husband Suraj was always happy to help. It is perfectly walkable from North Cliff and I would recommended it to everyone staying in Varkala! Thank you Debra and Suraj, from Erin and James (London, UK)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eshort22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Kaiya house is easily the best place we stayed during a 3 month tour of India and we could not recommend it more. We went for one week and ended up staying two.

Ideally located in a relatively peaceful spot a few minutes walk from the busy North Cliff, Kaiya House mixes boutique hotel chic with the warm welcome and feel of an upmarket guest house. The rooms are very nicely done with comfortable beds and luxury linen and it goes without saying that everything is spotlessly clean. There's also a decent TV room, WiFi in the communal areas and you'll be offered more free TV and Coffee than you can possibly drink.

Debra the owner/host really can't do enough for you and in addition to the invaluable 'walkabout' tour of the town she offers when you arrive, her links with the local community mean that if you're interested in the cultural stuff that the area has to offer, you'll have the inside track on your fellow tourists.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.8 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiya House

Property: Kaiya House
Address: Kaiya House,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from Varkala's famous cliff tops, this lovely boutique hotel, Kaiya House, offers the traveler a calm and beautiful environment to enjoy the sights and sounds of India in a relaxed atmosphere. The 7 guest rooms all have a theme from different parts of the world ranging from the African room to the Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Native American and English.Suraj and Debra offer a unique experience of India in this family run business. Babuchi, Ledah and Ajit are there to take care of the guests needs and to provide a traditional Kerala breakfast. Other options would also be available with advance notice.Also available are private Pilates classes, yoga by appointment and massage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiya House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing