We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great old fashioned Indian veg place”
Review of Oottupura

Oottupura
Ranked #45 of 90 Restaurants in Varkala
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Part fo Jicky's hotel. Excellent good value vegetarian restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Part fo Jicky's hotel. Excellent good value vegetarian restaurant
southwest England
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A great old fashioned Indian veg place”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here as our main breakfast and dinner restaurant for over ten years on holidays. If anything their Indian food is even better than previous years. Dosas and Kerala parathas are fantastic. They make the best Kerala coffee on the north cliff...no frothy European machine nonsense. Their food is Indian food made for Indian tastes and we love it. Huge variety of choice and they can explain it patiently. The prices remain ridiculously cheap. It's quiet, never really busy and a gem for veggies and lovers of genuine Indian food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    14
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Varkala for 6 nights and are here frequently. The masala dosa is very good especially in comparison to other ones I have tasted. Tomato utthappam is very good as well! I enjoyed my Indian breakfasts there very much. For dinner, I had baingan bharta (aubergine/eggplant) with Kerala paratha and tomato rice and all of it was delicious. Also I enjoyed getting the pot of lemon ginger honey tea, it is huge! On another occasion I had palak paneer. It came so quickly unlike anything else and was average, a bit soupy. The veg thali is pretty good. All in all highly recommend this restaurant!

Helpful?
1 Thank Slee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely masala dosas”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Right on the Helipad, this unpretentious little restaurant has an extensive vegetarian menu. We can only comment on what we had had - mmm - the masala dosas for breakfast are fabulous, washed down with a plain lassi and a Keralan coffee - what else would you need for breakfast when you are fed up with the obligatory omelette which often the norm nowadays. Very reasonably priced too!

Dosas are freshly made so wait is not very long considering. Friendly, polite service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for westerners, terrible for those used to "local" tastes”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food at Oottupura like food at most restaurants on the tourist "strip" seems to be clearly catered for western palates not used to spices (with and beyond chillis). So if that is your palate, ignore this review and follow the others. If you are Indian or have tastes different from those of the generic tourists coming to India, the food will disappoint. But here as with all the other places we went to in the touristy parts of Varkala, people are making a living from the likes of us who travel for leisure. So spend your money here as anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bombaceae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome vegetarian food!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat here after reading reviews on tripadvisor, we were not disappointed. We ordered aloo jeera, vegetable makhan curry and coconut rice. Every dish was delicious. The rice was perfectly cooked with some grated fresh coconut through it, The potatoes were served with caramelised onions and the curry had a kick and plenty of different veg. We scoffed it down and all for 310rupees. Service was good. Highly reccommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oottupura also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Oottupura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing