We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small clean resort, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed May 9, 2010

.The staff at Clafouti were all kind and ready to serve at all times. The room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. A short walk to the beach, and a great deal! I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blissmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

The location of this property is true awesome....its one of the most well maintained properties in varkala...
Must recommended .....
The only problem was the bed in the room...hope the mangement does some thing for tht...
Their shack is the best shack out there...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I just spent a few nights at Clafouti on North Cliff after previously staying on the quieter South Cliff area. I got a good deal since low season had just kicked in. My room was clean, secure, huge bed, with a good fan! On site there is also a fantastic beauty parlour owned by Lakshmi - she gave me a very good manicure, pedicure and henna art - and a very good chat. I highly recommend her services. I also had a honey massage at the on site ayurvedic clinic which was amazing. Clafouti also has one of the best value restaurants on North Cliff, as well as an internet cafe, shop and travel agency. And a sort walk to the main beach.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmachips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Located along the most crowded strip of hotels on the North Beach clifftop. (If you want something more secluded / off the beaten track, I really recommend you take the time to walk south down the beach to the hotels beyond the Hindustan Beach Hotel. Places there are much more worth their high prices.) Clafouti comprises a collection of mostly of low-rise hotel buildings, semi-detached chalets, a restaurant and an ayurvedic centre. Landscaping is a little Disneyfied but it's green, the palms are good shade from the heat, and the balcony restaurant has great seascape views (but so do all the balcony restaurants on the strip - and there are many).

We looked at a few different rooms. They offer doubles suitable for most budgets: 700-2500 Rupees. Cheapest ones are dark and lack good air circulation. Top end "deluxe" ones are quite nice & sea-facing but really overpriced. This is generally the case for all food and accommodation in Varkala.

Our mid-range room had no sea view, being set back about 200 yards from the cliff top (behind the front chalets), but it was clean & spacious, had a new coat of paint and a huge private double balcony on the rooftop of the building. We paid 1000 Rupees per night, non-AC (it's cool enough with ceiling fan and good ventilation). There was the option of AC for about 500 Rupees more. Bathroom was small but clean; toilet is Western-style, shower is "Asian", ie. without a stall. No room service but staff are friendly, quiet, & there's toilet paper, *clean* sheets, towels and fresh soap provided without need for repeated requests!

All in all, pretty good for short stays.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invisibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I stayed at Clafouti over a month with my little baby, not in the front bamboo huts (wich are beautiful but expensive). behind the main building they have a smal lodge with spacious rooms and bathrooms. room cleaning as per request. fiendly stuff, unfortunatly no room service there, the restaurant people denied that cause its too far, they said. however I enjoyed my sta and paid only 300 Rs for that room

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SaheraKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is probably one of the nicest places i've stayed.
We've had a deluxe room with a/c and breakfast included and the room was quite small but really nice. We had a small porch (the deluxe rooms are one story up) with a great view and the hotel had all the resort had all the luxury you could wish for (dental spa, traditional spa, supermarket and so on).
Though I have to add – it's quite expansive (by indian measures). So if you are planning on staying in Varkala for a couple weeks a more modest place would probably be more fitting. We stayed for four nights and for that time it was really worth the price – compared to living a long way from the beach with no a/c, having to walk at home in the complete darkness from the restaurants at night and so on.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corpsette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We paid $78 a night w/out breakfast, and this was supposedly a great deal!

Nice rooms and bathroom, but awful bed with cheap foam mattresses. Ayurvedic Spa which my wife liked. I'net, little shop, travel agent available. Great location right on the cliff. Restaurant service abysmally slow.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aaSilverFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $25 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing