We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for anything more!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clafouti Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for anything more!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were on a 2 day trip to Varkala with no reservations done. We reached there early morning about 6 am and headed straight to Clafouti beach resort as we saw their ads right outside the train station in Varkala. On reaching the resort, the sight of it was just picturesque and inviting! Very friendly and helpful staff esp. Shiva at the reception. They have wonderful cottages, completely to unwind, super view of the beach from the cliff-top and a awesome indian-western cafe sea facing! Our trip was complete as the saying goes - "just what the doctor ordered for"! Keep it up guys and see you soon :-)
Ricky

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RoadTrip151611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    99
    48
    13
    16
See reviews for
59
100
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

we had been to clafouti almost a year back , as usual with no booking or what so ever idea about the place , the drive into the place is quite scary , very small winding road, but the resort per say is pretty decent . the whole place is quite a linear , rectangular property with very little cliff front , only one room and the restaurant is facing the beach, the rest of the rooms have no good view . the positives the food was real great , spa was good (authentic ayurvedic), rooms ok dokay . for a couple, great place to stay , not recommended for elderly couple . best part , sit in the restaurant facing the sea, read a book . have a drink ... really great .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drarunnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I were brought here by a rickshaw driver from the bus stand. We know this is not the best way to do things and we would have paid the driver's commission...but we stayed cos we thought the price was still reasonable and the place lovely. We paid R1550/night for an AC bungalow in April. The bungalow was gorgeous and clean with a TV, large bathroom and bucket hot water shower (normal shower has cold water only). Can't comment on any other cheaper rooms which are also available at Clafouti.

The location was perfect; right on the main restaurant strip in Varkala and close to the main beach and black beach. The resort itself is really well kept with manicured green lawns. There is a good restaurant and a lovely beautician on site. We also checked out the ayurvedic massage centre, but found much cheaper ones elsewhere in Varkala.

We extended our 5 night stay to 9 nights and loved every minute. Had no problems with the service. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Like everywhere else in Varkala they try to jack you at first sight with their prices. Don't pay more than RS 1000-1200 for a bungalo with A/C. The place altogether is nice but the older manager (bald guy that looks a bit like Saddam Hussein) is extremely rude and will insist on ripping you off. The travel agent next door who is also somehow connected to hotel is a bit of a thief and trys to push the houseboat scam. Don't go for it. If you are in a pinch and need a place to stay, and dont mind negotiating with rude managers then this place is yours to stay. Note that the front bungalos are the nicest with the back units being totally grubby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripReviewer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Taken there from Station by auto rickshaw driver (I know you shouldn't choose this way, but it was uncomplicated!) and decided it was ok for one night. Had one of the cheapest rooms, which was fine for the money if a little uninspiring. Moved on the next day to a better environment, 2km North right on the beach and very lovely.

Restaurant was good, had breakfast there every day, even after we had moved.

A point no-one ever seems to mention about Varkala cliff accommodation is how hot it gets up there when the sun is on the red cliffs in the mid/late afternoon. Do yourself a favour and get somewhere away from the congested "resort" zone if you find it oppressive as we did.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

When staying in Varkala (or Kerala, in general) everyone goes for all the ayurvedic treatments and other beauty treatments simply to feel pampered. The owner of the homestay I was at in Varkala suggested Lakshmi's to me, which is in the Clafouti Beach Resort on the North Cliff. She is a one woman show, and she is a perfectionist at all the treatments she has to offer. To top it off, she is super personable. We had great conversation throughout all my treatments, which included waxing, a facial, and a pedicure. Her other customers were also raving about the massages she gives. She's not very computer savvy, so there's no website for her, but you can reach her at 09895948080 (she wanted her number posted).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank farmergirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here for ten nights in the end, negotiated a reasonable weeks rate compared to what was on offer nearby, staff very helpful and the food in the restaurant was superb, location at the quieter end of the cliff is ideal, regularly saw dolphins off shore from upstairs restaurant. Can also recommend the sea queen and hungry eye restaurants nearby and the sunshine cafe towards black beach, very touristy place but so easy, an oasis in India.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLASHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clafouti Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clafouti Beach Resort

Property: Clafouti Beach Resort
Address: Near Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#8 Family Hotel in Varkala
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clafouti Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clafouti Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clafouti Beach Hotel Varkala
Clafouti Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing