We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mummy Bamboo House
Nearby Hotels
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$39
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$16
$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$70
$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
131
45
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
45
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut pancakesthe cliffmosquito netgreat balconiesfan roomminute walktrain stationhot watervery nice stayperfect place to staystayed nightsnon acranibalconyindiabeachaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 188 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We didnt stay at mummy bamboo but enjoyed a cooking lesson by rani. Although she was rather critical of our cutting skills, we learned a great deal about keralan food and i can honestly say it was the tastiest meal ive enjoyed in india yet. Dont expect luxury kitchenwear but do take in this authentic experience! Did i mention the homemade coconut oil?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank emmuel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A nice quiet place, 1 street behind the beach. Great location, good price comparing to other hotels, and very clean. I defenetly recommand this place, and will be back.
Arrived there in Feb.2013 and had a very comfortable stay. Staff was always smiling and wellcoming to help and assist. Very safe place. The beach and all restaurants are located 1 minute walk from it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamoo02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for the most my time in Varkala. One of my most comfortable stays in India for the 4 and half months that I was there.
Rani is awesome. The atmosphere is homely with the touch of the family environment. The rooms were always clean and neat. The beach is within walking distance. The fact that this place is a little walk away from the cliff makes it amazing. Of course there is lots that Rani shared during my stay there. She cooked and gave cooking lessons. Laundry was also available when needed.
I will never consider staying anywhere else is Varkala, ever.
I will return to Varkala sometime soon.

Room Tip: The verandah rooms upstairs are my fav, especially the one in the back.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayvinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came for 4 days and thanks to Rani's hospitality ended up staying 15. The rooms are spotless and just a 2 minute walk to stunning Varkala beach. Rani have us a Keralan cooking lesson her food is amazing, so we enjoyed several breakfasts and lunches believe me you will never go hungry!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markandjuliaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It' a really nice place to stay-i' ve been living there for 2weeks in a single room-it was a good chance to get a single cheap room in a good place)))the only hing is -birds, chirping all he night long & morning time.. But they are everywhere, so it was ok)wi-fi was a really good advantage!people are very nice and friendly-the yard was clean enough-indian style clean i mean)
But anyway, it' s worth staying, especially if you know, how to bargain))))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stasya2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews