We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best family holiday ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #12 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“The best family holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived with our two children at 6am to be greeted with tea and a massive smile by Rani, just what we needed after long overnight flights. The rooms are spotless, bedding, towels and cleaning are done whenever you want. We shared Xmas, New Year and Will's birthday with Rani and her family. The cooking class was excellent and Rani and her family do everything to make your stay the best they can achieve, Rani's food is amazing. We used Varkalaas abase to do day trips and they arranged taxi's and trips including an Elephant festival and the fact Sudhanan her husband drives you gives you piece of mind about getting a fair deal and safety when driving. Considering the proximity to the beach (100mtrs) the hotel offers excellent value for money. We are planning are next trip already and would definately stay here again. Big thanks to Rani and family for our genuine Indian home stay experiance. xx

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are better, the AC rooms have better facilities including hammocks and wardro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
63
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mummy Bamboo House has been one of the great deals of our time in India. Wildly popular amongst backpackers, we scored a room by calling a day in advance (during low season). While we stayed there, many other backpackers found rooms just by walking up to the building. Rani, the owner of Mummy, sent a rickshaw to the train station to pick us up (for a fee) and greeted us with open arms. The room was very simple with a basic bed, small veranda, and attached bathroom (no hot water), but it was clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay in Varkala. We saw that more deluxe rooms were larger and had hammocks on the verandas. We were told many times about Rani's amazing cooking but, unfortunately, were never able to try it, as we were still jet-lagged and our schedules were screwy. (We even heard about Rani's cooking from Indians in other towns so, if you stay at Mummy Bamboo, make time to sample her fare.) At the beginning of each stay, Rani provides you with an entire case of bottled water. At the end of your stay, she counts the bottles you took and includes it in your bill. It's a huge convenience. Mummy Bamboo is located about 50 meters from the cliff-side in Varkala, down a shop and guesthouse lined path. While there was no WiFi, we were fewer than 50 meters away from cliff-side restaurants with free internet.

Pros: Perfect location, Great value, Delicious food (allegedly), Friendly staff
Cons: none

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LooseOfLimits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35768 Siegbach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved to stay in Mummys Bamboo House. The welcome was great and made me feel wonderful. The house, the service, the owners, the area, just everything was very nice and the room was excellent clean. I did enjoy my stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junimond68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Mummy Bamboo house is in a great location tucked away from Varkala's main strip. Nice and close to the beach and the many restaurants.
Rani and Sudhanan are excellent hosts and I can't speak highly enough of them. They offer amazing food, train/airport pickups and drop off and are very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and each have a hammock to relax in.
There are yoga classes offered daily at 8am and 4pm held on the roof top which is a great start/finish to the day too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymmy_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were unsure of where to stay when we arrived to Varkala... but we were relieved to come across Mummy Bamboo House which offered clean and budget friendly accomodations. Rani was a wonderful host and prepared us savory coconut banana pancakes for breakfast for all of 50 rupees. We also enjoyed a lovely traditional Keralan cusine one evening in the family home right next door to the guest house. The rooms were simple but clean and well maintained. The lower rooms were equipped with a hammock which perfect for relaxing on. Enjoy :).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

slighted tucked away from the bustle of the cliff top front Mummy Bamboo's is great place to stay in Varkla. Rani looks after every guest like a home from home.
Clean, comfortable, offers lovely breakfast on Patio or join her family house for a feel of real india household.
kindly did our laundry for 15R an item. husband is taxi man, so ideal for airport run.
would highly recomend! THANK YOU

Room Tip: Air con available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaeldaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights, starting with a pick up from Trivandrum airport by Sudhanan, followed by a week of beautiful home cooked traditional Kerala style meals by Rani, homely care and a very safe environment. The rooms are well maintained, spotlessly clean with A/C if you like it!

The location of MBH is perfect to enjoy the cliff face shops and restaurants with less than a 2 minute walk.

We were very lucky with the weather - no rain, warm sunny days and balmy nites.

Can't wait to get back in December.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sunny aspect - love the hammocks on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan010264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#35 of 49 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill-Top Ayurvedic Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Property: Mummy Bamboo House
Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing