We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt so at home”
Review of Mummy Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mummy Bamboo House
Ranked #13 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt so at home”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

An amazing place to stay, Mummy Bamboo is like staying with family. Rani, Sudanem and their children are so lovely, nothing is too much trouble. Rani's cooking is legendary especially the banana and coconut pancakes! I stayed for 4 weeks and loved every minute of it. The rooms are clean and spacious, the location is perfect right near cliff top and close to all restaurants. I will defiantly be back. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 974Caz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
63
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a great 5 nights at Mummy Bamboo House. Room was very comfortable with a little balcony of our own. Only 3 minutes walk to North Cliff and steps down to the beach. She was a fabulous cook and we had 4 lovely typical Keralan meals with her which were delicious and excellent value. A whole case of water was put in our room, so we didn't have to worry about buying - we were only charged for the bottles we drank. As off the main walk way, it was quiet at night, just the occasional dog barking and the crows chattering!
Owners husband was a taxi driver and picked us up from Trivandrum, took us on a wonderful scenic and interesting tour one morning and also drove us to the airport in Trivandrum at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Quieter upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed here for three nights and Rani was an excellent host. We stayed on the ground floor on the first night after which she recommended us to shift to the first floor as the "rooms are nice there" and it was indeed. We arrived at 6 pm from Kottayam and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Varkala and at Mummy Bamboo House. Only thing we wish is that if the room was cleaned every alternate day would have been good. The pillows were also quite hard specially for me. We had a lunch thali once and it was one of the most delicious we ever had. The place is just next to the beach but not the oceanfront surrounded by of course coconut trees. The price of Rs 650 per night was quite reasonable for the accommodation and I won't mind revisiting Mummy Bamboo House on my next trip to Varkala. Of course, if I have a higher budget, I would choose to take one on the oceanfront.

Room Tip: For me, the rooms on the first floor were better than those on the ground and offered more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santanurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mummy Bamboo. Rani is a warm and welcoming host - perhaps the smiliest person I've ever met! The buildling is a little blockish and doesn't sit on the oceanfront, but I still love the atmosphere of the place; you can chill out on a hammock or have a cup of tea in the family's rustic kitchen. Rani's cooking lessons are good fun too! Overall, a good-value, friendly guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We just got back from Varkala and spent our first night staying on the Mummy Bamboo "strip" of hotels.
We booked a room in advance but when we arrived were taken to another hotel 3 tightly packed hotels down the "alley" owned by her brother. We are traveling with children so any unforeseen reservation changes (especially when arriving at night) can not be disputed after dark. We were not happy as we had booked to stay at the "Mummy Bamboo", we were told that a driver was picking us up at the train station and dinner would be ready when we arrived (we set all of this up in advance) Not one promise was kept...we were left wondering where our driver was and told to wait at the train , we had no dinner upon arrival (over 5 hour train journey) and the room that we expected was not what we got. I would recommend Mummy Bamboo for folks that want a clean, inexpensive and very basic room to sleep (600 rupees a night). It is not the best spot as the ocean breeze is completely blocked by the tightly packed buildings off the impenetrable cliff shops. The rooms are cheap with working fans and mosquito nets...just don't depend on your reservation!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyfieldwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at Mummy Bamboo House for 4 nights this December and can whole-heartedly recommend it. Rani gives a warm welcome to everyone and her cooking is amazing. I'm still thinking about those lovely breakfast banana pancakes and she does a great Thali too.

The rooms are great value, just tucked off the main strip so a little less noise and a little more relaxing. We enjoyed sitting on our veranda with the smell of drying coconut and chili in the air.

Rani is happy to help out with anything, ordering rickshaws, renting bikes etc. Always with a smile. The only caution I would give is that I had an ayurvedic massage at a place three doors down (towards beach) and I wouldn't recommend it - not worth the money and not really any good.

Best value and nicest place we stayed during our whole Kerala trip

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evamay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed here in September 2011 just after the monsoon season ended. The prices were incredible! The rooms were basic but clean, with a shower (no hot water but the weather was so hot it didn't matter), beds with a mosquito net and fan. Rani and her family were lovely, cooking a very tasty banana pancake (with honey and coconut) for breakfast and a huge Thali for dinner. She also called a rickshaw for us to get back to the train station when we departed. The hotel itself is down a quiet alley quite close to the cliffside, close to everything interesting. Did I mention hammocks out the front of the rooms? They were great!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#33 of 52 in Varkala
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mummy Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mummy Bamboo House

Property: Mummy Bamboo House
Address: Cliff Papanasam | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mummy Bamboo House is set back from the popular North Cliff at Varkala, which is a minute’s walk away. The hotel offers good accommodation – and food - at reasonable prices. It is also quiet.The hotel has been built in the traditional Keralan manner and has seven comfortable en suite double bedrooms, four of which are at ground level and three are upstairs, each with its own balcony and hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mummy Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mummy Bamboo House Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing