We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Arabian Soul”
Review of Arabian Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabian Soul
Ranked #3 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyk
1 review
“Loved the Arabian Soul”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Well, what can I say. Their credo "A place close to your heart" defintely comes true while staying in this peaceful geusthouse.

This is my second time in India and actually it wasn't my plan to visit South-India. But because of my lovely experience with the German and Indian owner, I decided to visit this guesthouse again.

I've been all around India for two times, and I haven't found a place as peaceful as this. A nice garden, really quiet. The rooms are colourful and really clean. The shower and toilet as well. And even the matresses are soft, in comparison to a lot of other places I've been in India.

Varkala beach is a nice and quiet place, with some spectacular seeings from the cliffs.

Yes this place combines the best of our European and the Indian standards. Great value of money. Really a place Close to your Heart.

  • Liked — The owners, service and guesthouse itself
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoyBCuyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
46
70
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This place is totally average... and frankly, a bit overpriced for what it is. The positive Trip Advisor reviews and this guesthouse's nice website drew me in, but we found these to be misleading. As a result, we only stayed one night since there wasn't much more on offer.

The beds were terribly uncomfortable (they had a crazy pieced together cushion arrangement), the mosquito net wasn't centered on the bed which made for an awkward set-up, there was no hot water and the free wifi didn't work in our room. There were no morning yoga classes as advertised and outside, the crows frequenting the adjacent trash-filled lot cawed out an unpleasant early morning wake-up call.

The breakfast was pleasant (though unvaried for longer stays) and the location was good.

The most redeeming quality of the Arabian Soul was its Indian owner who was incredibly accommodating, kind and helpful though in contrast, we felt that his German partner was aloof and seemed more interested in her pack of dogs than her guests.

This place has the potential to be so much more and frankly, it wouldn't take much. They need to invest in some comfortable mattresses, decent sheets, screens for the windows and maybe even a solar hot water system. Then the value would match the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventure-4-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Arabian Soul truly is a magical and beautiful place to stay. It has a real Indian spiritualness to it and i felt so incredibly lucky to get a chance to stay there. The staff are just so welcoming and friendly. The setting- amongst beautifully kept gardens and swinging hammocks is a great place to drink your morning coffee after a yoga class or read a book in the shade. Plus the interior design rocks! Highly recommend a stay here if you make it to Varkala.

  • Liked — The beautiful surroundings and the amazing lovely staff
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gabbygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Wow, what a great place is this! I stayed here for a week and felt immediately so at home. The staff is realy taking care of you.
The WiFi is working perfectly here and the location was great.

I would defenitely recommend this place to anyone going to Varkala!

Thank you for this lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
MK Gardens
MK Gardens
#4 of 98 in Varkala
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Soul

Property: Arabian Soul
Address: No. 349 Kurakanni Village | Near Helipad, North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute little soulful place overlooking the Arabian Sea, offering one of the best service , with a lot more hygienic and the best location in varkala in every aspects . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arabian Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Soul Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing