We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and vibe”
Review of Arabian Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arabian Soul
Ranked #3 of 100 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for around a week, at the time it was 500 inr a night, which for the gardens, rooms and general feel of the place was outstanding. what made me chose this place initially was its location, situated right next to the helipad on the main path of the cliff it is really easy to find, even if your half cut and dont have a torch (not recommended!). The owner was sound and kept letting me extend my stay, even letting me keep my stuff in the hotel when i did and overnight jaunt to kanyakumari. One thing i would say to the owners is do something with you roofspace, it has lovely views of the ocean and even a couple of cushions would work wonders.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

we wanted to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 4 nights! the time we spent at that place at Varkala Beach will be one of the greatest experiences of our holiday in India! the area is simply beautiful!

what we liked
- the location at Varkala Beach cannot be better! it is right by the cliffs but also just a little inland, so that one is not disturbed by the people passing by. and since it is at the south end of the north cliff, there are not so many tourists passing by anyway...
- we loved the little garden, surrounding the house! great place for breakfast and afternoon chill out!
- some of the rooms have sea-view and you can also see the sea from the garden
- Naveen as a manager is such a nice and caring person on the one side and good company on the other! without him the place would only be half of the fun ;-)
- wifi of course!

our tip:
- rent a scooter for one day and discover other beaches and backwaters!!! scooter costs only 300 plus another 300 for patrol...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Arabian Soul when we were in Varkala in late October. The rooms were lovely, airy & spacious, and they were also very clean and tidy, (such a treat in India!). The view from our room was truly stunning and and the guesthouse has a really peaceful feel to it, set back in a lovingly maintained, colourful garden at the edge of the cliff. A healthy tasty breakfast in garden in the morning is perfect way to start the day. Naveen is very helpful and a wealth of useful & interesting information on the area and South India in general. We would highly recommend Arabian Soul to anyone looking for a lovely, relaxing guesthouse in Varkala.

Room Tip: Request an Ocean view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We loved loved loved Arabian Soul... was right on the cliff with the most stunning views of the ocean but at one end so still peaceful while being in the heart of things. The gardens are pretty, the rooms are CLEAN, Navi was super helpful with any request or information and the Wifi was pretty strong for India... And on the odd occasion a power cut had stopped it from working we were able to pick up wifi from People cafe next door from our room (you need to eat or drink there for the password). Would definitely recommend and would stay here again next time! :)

Room Tip: The front two rooms are the ones with the sea views but the others have garden views so they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniegerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived at Varkala station having travelled from Kumily, (bus to Kottayam and then train to Varkala) a long journey, but a really good way to travel by bus and train, you certainly experience the true way of Indian travel.
We caught an ancient, ambassador taxi from the station to the helipad on north cliff, the homestay is a 30 second walk from the helipad.
We had booked 2 nights here. Naveen,who owns and runs the homestay showed us to our room, which was at the top of the building, a very light airy room, with views of the sea. Very comfortable beds, and a hot shower.
There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, all serving great food. We had breakfast in the homestay, sat on a balcony in the garden...good coffee!
Naveen is a interesting person to chat to. He has a lovely garden where you can sit and relax, or a few mins walk and you are on the beach. He also provides chilled, filtered water which was greatly appreciated.
Good place to stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

i stayed here in august and was very happy with my room it was clean and private and has wifi its location was perfect as it is on the cliff of the beach, naveen the owner is a great guy very helpful and it was good being able to speak with him and get an overall honest view about india. when i return to india in the future i would definatley return

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed at the Arabian Soul at the end of July 2011 and had booked in for 4 nights thereafter reading good reviews on Trip advisor. As it was the monsoon season the resort was quiet and i was the only person staying at the hotel. This would have been fine except when the very friendly guy running the place tried to become a little too friendly one night and literally cornered me, in a very sleazy and entirely inappropriate way!!
As such, i no longer felt safe staying here so checked out after the 2nd night and moved further along the cliff to another hotel with more guests.
It’s a shame really as the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast delicious! And overall its probably fine - if you’re not a lone female traveler in the off season!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arabiansoul, Manager at Arabian Soul, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Tourist,

Thank you for your classy review. It would have been more appropriate, if you could have also wrote , what you have done on your side to me before you left. A coin has two sides, so as an incident , I leave it for the travelers who read this review to guess it for themselves. I gladly appreciate your comments on the property.

Warmly,
Naveen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 100 in Varkala
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Soul

Address: No. 349 Kurakanni Village | Near Helipad, North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: $30 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute little soulful place overlooking the Arabian Sea, offering one of the best service , with a lot more hygienic and the best location in varkala in every aspects . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arabian Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Soul Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing