We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sanctum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Sanctum”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at the Sanctum spring for 3 weeks and loved every minute. We were very lucky to experience the annual eclipse of the sun which was organised efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who where very friendly and always smiling. Our room was always kept lovely and clean. Special thanks to the boys in the restaurant who looked after us at breakfast time. Lesley and John Byron, England.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LESLEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
74
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

It's a decent hotel, nice rooms, AC, TV....it's just not worth the money. There's so much accomodation in Varkala you just don't need to spend this sort of money on a room. Shop around and find somewhere cheaper. I had a lovely holiday but I wouldn't stay here again. I probably wouldn't book in advance either...just arrive in Varkala and walk along the cliff. Hundreds of rooms were available starting at about 600 rupees a night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

i styayyed in this hotel for 10 days over xmas and new year 2009 one of the reasons i chose it was because of the rave reviews about the manager but he has now left. when i arrived the hotel had no record of my booking this was not the hotels fault there was a mistake by the indian travel company but the managing director who was there couldnt cope with it until i offered to pay again when it was all smiles and a very nice suite becanme instantly avalable i was on my own

my main complaint is about the reception staff who were hopelessly out of their depth hardly any of them could speak english and they just ignored anything they couldnt handle - a new manager appeared during my stay and he was more priofessional and hopefully the hotel will improve once he is there a while

I paid over 1000 gbp for 10 days and while i did hav e a lovely suite i most certainly did not receive the servic e i would expect for this amount of money - also there is no pool which i would expect in a hotel of this standard

  • Liked — very nice room
  • Disliked — ubcinoetebt reception staff no pool internet down for a week
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank damask2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NihasShamsudeen, Owner at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear viewer

Please understand our helplessness in non information from the travel agent regarding the guest arrival or booking.The travel agent collected the amount without taking any confirmation from us.Even then,on arrival of guest and explanations we arranged a SUITE (agreed as lovely -by said guest) room by re arranging the rooms of long stayed and valued guests in order to avoid difficulty for staying 10 days during the highest season.We don't have any pool because of the proximity of the lovely natural beach.But guest got wrong information from their agent that, we have pool.But for the said guest we had arranged different pools nearby in our own cost to avoid monotonous during their stay in their own convenience with free transportation especially in peak season.Our appointed staff are qualified and experienced,but if guest felt any difficulty from them,we sincerely apologize for the same and obliged to rectify and improve their service definitely.

Thank you for your valued review to serve you better than before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This hotel is 100m away from the busy Varkala stretch. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was great. The staff are ever helpful and all round it is a great place. We spent 5 nights 6 days here and never experienced any problem with hot water. There was hot water on command and the AC worked like a dream when required. A touch of luxury away from the madding crowd. Thanks to the staff for there ever friendly disposure and help.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casafleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We had the pleasure to stay at the Sanctum Spring End of November and it was a wonderful stay. The staff did its best to make it a comfortable stay. The room was very friendly and clean. Its a good place when you want to enjoy the rest of your stay before you leave back home. We had to leave at 2.a.m to the airport and everything was arranged (little breakfast, Taxi...). It is located at the Helipad between North Cliff and South Cliff but far enough from the busy places.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SputNicHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed here for 9 nights having read good reports on here about it. Booked by email in advance and secured a 43% discount without paying any money up front. Hotel is well located, a short walk to beach, cliff and amenities. Rooms were spacious and clean with balcony. Had problems with inconsistent hot water which was a little surprising as affected 5 of the days we were there, however, after negotiation we agreed on a reduced bill. The staff are very pleasant and helpful as far as they are able. Outside is the helipad which duels as a parking lot so can be a little noisy at times, surprisingly Sunday mornings 7-8am appeared the worst when the local moped clan turned up for their weekly sport of wheelies! All in all a good hotel, i would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

After travelling around the busy cities of Delhi, Agra and Rajistan my partner and I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel....
The room was satisfactory but not really cleaned properly for the whole 10 days just clean bedding but the sink wasn't cleaned and the floor wasn't brushed!!
The main bug bear was hot water was on and off for the whole 10 days and the staff did not look surprised when we complained and offered us buckets of hot water!!!
However, reasonable hotel but i would recommend staying at the Hill View Resort which was recommended to us a few times by residents who stated hot water 24 hours. We would have moved but kept hoping the water would improve and felt to much hassle...
Also at 7 am on a sunday morning really noisy motorbikes doing wheelies etc outside this went on for three hours when i looked out of the window i saw the security guard just watching....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Property: Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctum Spring Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing