We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is in a good location adjacent to the Helipad. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, most with a good command of the English language. Western standards of service provision are understood and met which is unusual in most hotels in India in this price bracket. The only criticism is the internet speed, which generally slow (although this is fairly typical across India). My husband and I really appreciated the lack of fuss that the staff made when we mislaid our room key - thank-you one and all.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a suite - they're big for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leishia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this bargain hotel. It is extremely clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Its location is excellent as it is in at the helipad/ middle cliff (close to north and south cliff). Very peaceful place and beautiful rooms/ garden area. Helipad separates the hotel from the cliff yet this adds to the peace/ quietness of the place and you can see thr sea from thr balconies which are lovely to sit on and relax as the sun is setting. Staff very helpful and the cleaners are all lovely and well presented and friendly. Breakfast is very simple but there are many places in close proximity if you need something more.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gaz1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel has everything you need at a reasonable cost. The staff are very helpful and friendly, most of the rooms have a sea view and a balcony to sit on and watch the sun go down., hot water and wi-fi 24hours a day. Also the location is good, between north and south cliff. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for one on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_mck1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The location is very good, right on the helipad. The service was very good most of the staff were helpful. Room was clean but average. Beds were very hard. Not sure about the value for the money. After a month in India it was nice to have satellite tv. We did not eat at the restaurant because of so many option right next to the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Skhoury83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Upon reading the reviews here I thought we'd got the wrong hotel!!
In contrast to the positive reviews I think this hotel is a backpacker budget hotel charging double what it is worth!!
Cons:
No wifi in room
Room scruffy with battered old furniture
Horrible lighting - just bare energy bulbs
Hard bed with springs sticking in your back (the worst we'd slept in during our three weeks in India!)
Hard pillows
Holes in sheets
Bathroom is very dated and had cracks in tiles & sink
Exposed pipes covered in tape
Wires hanging out of light
Plastic fittings with mould

I'll be fair and point out the pro's:
Clean
Staff ok
TV good, small but had lots of channels (useful when you can't sleep because the bed is so uncomfortable)
Location good - near bars and on the cliff.
I must be missing something, I can't believe the previous reviews are so good!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Battyemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear sir, Ma'am,

We are terribly sorry that we could not meet up with your expectations, thanks for the review though, as it will surely wake us up and help us in improving on our facilities. We assure you that the minutest of details will be taken in to account & corrections made, ASAP in order to make the resort stay with us more enjoyable to all our guests.

Best Regards
Roby Thampi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had an awesome stay here for 6nts over new year. It's really well located on the cliff and all the bars and restaurants are just across the car park. No hotel on the cliff is on the beach - but from our balcony we could see the sea and sun set. Rooms are kept very clean and ac is a much needed welcome after a day on the beach! The staff are very friendly and manager was very helpful and will go out of his way to help. Guests really do come first! New Years celebration here was fun, dinner was amazing! And the fireworks to welcome the new year in.... So much fun!!!! (Not like the uk at all!!) would recommend to everyone to stay! Oh,.... And nice having free wifi in room!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went on family trip and stayed in this hotel on 8 Nov. The hotel is located next to the beach and the other areas of interest. Its very easy to reach this location they have got ample parking space. Ideal location and very hospitable staff. They have two categories of rooms and depending on your budget both are good and comfortable. We had really good experience.

Room Tip: In executive class rooms there are two types one the size is bigger and also the standard of bath ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for the grate review. Its entirely our pleasure that you liked our resort & enjoyed your stay.We shall see to it that The sanctum Spring will be a better resort when you visit us next time.
Special Regards to you & your family
Roby Thampi\Team Leader
The Sanctum Spring, varkala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $43 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctum Spring Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing