We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but not a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The location is very good, right on the helipad. The service was very good most of the staff were helpful. Room was clean but average. Beds were very hard. Not sure about the value for the money. After a month in India it was nice to have satellite tv. We did not eat at the restaurant because of so many option right next to the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Skhoury83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Upon reading the reviews here I thought we'd got the wrong hotel!!
In contrast to the positive reviews I think this hotel is a backpacker budget hotel charging double what it is worth!!
Cons:
No wifi in room
Room scruffy with battered old furniture
Horrible lighting - just bare energy bulbs
Hard bed with springs sticking in your back (the worst we'd slept in during our three weeks in India!)
Hard pillows
Holes in sheets
Bathroom is very dated and had cracks in tiles & sink
Exposed pipes covered in tape
Wires hanging out of light
Plastic fittings with mould

I'll be fair and point out the pro's:
Clean
Staff ok
TV good, small but had lots of channels (useful when you can't sleep because the bed is so uncomfortable)
Location good - near bars and on the cliff.
I must be missing something, I can't believe the previous reviews are so good!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Battyemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear sir, Ma'am,

We are terribly sorry that we could not meet up with your expectations, thanks for the review though, as it will surely wake us up and help us in improving on our facilities. We assure you that the minutest of details will be taken in to account & corrections made, ASAP in order to make the resort stay with us more enjoyable to all our guests.

Best Regards
Roby Thampi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had an awesome stay here for 6nts over new year. It's really well located on the cliff and all the bars and restaurants are just across the car park. No hotel on the cliff is on the beach - but from our balcony we could see the sea and sun set. Rooms are kept very clean and ac is a much needed welcome after a day on the beach! The staff are very friendly and manager was very helpful and will go out of his way to help. Guests really do come first! New Years celebration here was fun, dinner was amazing! And the fireworks to welcome the new year in.... So much fun!!!! (Not like the uk at all!!) would recommend to everyone to stay! Oh,.... And nice having free wifi in room!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went on family trip and stayed in this hotel on 8 Nov. The hotel is located next to the beach and the other areas of interest. Its very easy to reach this location they have got ample parking space. Ideal location and very hospitable staff. They have two categories of rooms and depending on your budget both are good and comfortable. We had really good experience.

Room Tip: In executive class rooms there are two types one the size is bigger and also the standard of bath ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for the grate review. Its entirely our pleasure that you liked our resort & enjoyed your stay.We shall see to it that The sanctum Spring will be a better resort when you visit us next time.
Special Regards to you & your family
Roby Thampi\Team Leader
The Sanctum Spring, varkala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pros :
Clean rooms and bathrooms
Friendly staff
cons :
Breakfast
- Fresh Juice is made from old fruits and smelled bad. No service at table, everytime we have
to goto kitchen and call the staff
- Phone in the room does'nt work (no way to contact the room service or reception)
- The hotel is near to Cliff but Not on the Cliff. visitors can opt for the hotels that are right ON the Cliff where the sea view is still better

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ctrrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited sanctum spring and had a wonderful stay there. The staff is warm and helpful and the manager always has a welcoming smile on his face. The food was excellent and the stay at this resort made our visit more exciting. The location of the resort gives an exotic view of the beautiful sea .The room was very comfortable and despite the monsoon season the stay in this hotel made out visit worthwhile. I am planning to visit varkala and stay at sanctum spring resort next year too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagarika_nagpur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at sanctum spring for 1 night in July 2013. It was quiet as it was monsoon season but the staff were very helpful in calling us a taxi (which was good value) and we had an excellent dosa and juice for breakfast. The location on the cliffs in varkala is beautiful, and a short walk to the beach. The room was very large with nice views and a seating area, bathroom was clean and had ample hot water. I would recommend this hotel for anybody looking for great value in varkala.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabloanddiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanctumspringvarkala, General Manager at Sanctum Spring Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We shall see to it that The sanctum spring is an even better resort when you visit us next time.
Best Regards
Team Leader
The Sanctum Spring, Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Spring Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Spring Beach Resort

Address: Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $47 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctum Spring Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctum Spring offers state-of-the-art accommodations at 14 well-appointed executive and 3 suite A/C rooms that are intricately crafted with the magic of the east, comforts of the west, teak/cane dapper furnishings, incredible sea vistas and a private balcony from where you can enjoy a spectacular sunset view. The multi-cuisine restaurants serve you traditional favorites and gastronomical delights from across the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sanctum Spring Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Spring Beach Hotel
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing