We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation, fantastic food and friendly staff.”
Review of Shiva Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Garden
Ranked #15 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We found Shiva Gardens by chance and end up staying for 7 days. The room was clean and had all that we required, including a mosquito net. Jayan, the manager and his staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The resteraunt served the most authentic Keralan food in town with everything cooked fresh. The beach was only a short walk away and the garden was a welcome relief from the heat of the day. I'm not sure when we'll get back to Varkala but when we do we would definetly stay at Shiva Gardens. We would happily recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a relaxing good value place to stay. Chances are you'll end up staying longer than you expected.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Shiva Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

We were directed to an another homestay but fortunately the wheel of the autorishaw exploded just in front of the entrance of the Shiva Garden! Very nice place, friendly people, good food and perfect prices! I would suggest to evryone to spend some nights in Varkala and especially in this place. Room was really clean and we loved the balcony, perfect place where having a rest after a day spent surfing the waves of the indian ocean!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucadalfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Shiva Gardens in Varkala was our first stop of many in India. Jayan the owner is very helpful and easyily approachable although very quiet and keeps himself to himself.
We enjoyed our time here as it's close to the beach/cliff front and our room was clean and spacious with no insect trouble at all.

Jayan offers biycly rentals at 100rps a day, which we took full advantage of and went on rides along the cliff and into Varkala town.

Varkala town isn't to great to be honest but the cliff edge is full of lovely restaurants and bars with free wifi (just ask for the password) our particular favrourite was ABBA! Lovely food and great views for the sunset.

I would recommend Shiva, it's a quiet and easy frst place to ease you into the Indian way of life. I've also heard the food here is great but we never tried it as we found many places on the cliff realy nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a great place to stay with small children. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful. The apartments are well equipped, clean and priced fairly. It is only a few minutes walk from the cliff and beaches. All amenities needed are within short walking distance.

Room Tip: The apartments at the back of the property will give you a lot of privacy and are in a peaceful sett...
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Decided to stay in this guest house because we could book the room in advance and arrange the pick up from the airport in the midnight.

This was a livery place with independent travelers. We met the people who are backpacking in India or learning the yoga or marshall arts in Verkala.

Our room was very simple, but nothing bad. Guest house people took care of us very well and their food was awesome too. Also they organize small backwater tour almost everyday.

We did not have any problem during our stay, but only the issue was the street in front of the Shiva Garden was flooded after the heavy rain.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very good and nice place. Food is very very GOOD. A little bit expensive, but not so compare the other others restaurants on the cliff. Anyway the quality was here. !!!!
This hotel is very quiet, room are clean, and Managers: lovely.
The only problem with Varkala....the cliff is full of trash...pitty!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tworoupies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

For me to stay in Shiva Garden was more than warm experience, it is a place which makes you feel comfortable from the first moment and this feeling will last untill you are leaving. The staff is allways helpfull, smiling and listening your requests and wishes and allways trying to fullfill them. Shiva Garden is a perfect place where you can fully relax, where you can find many friends, because the atmosphere over there is so peacefull and calm and embracing that is simply impossible not to be part of it. You can find a place for your meditation, a place, where you can unmolested get lost in your thoughts as well as you can find there valuable company for long discussions.
You can choose a type of accomodation according to your wish and budget. There are two buildings with a simple, but very clean and cosy rooms, which are equipped with a double bed, mirror, wardrobe, mosquitier and a washroom with all needed equipments. There are also apartments with tv, living room and kitchen for those who wants to make their living there more comfortable or for that ones who need more space. And also those of you who do not need such a comfort can stay in a dormitory, which is still cosy althought simple and give you more than anything else a place where you can sleep.
In Shiva Garden there is also a restaurant which serves a typical Keralan foods. Shiva´s thali is just the best thali which i have ever eaten in India, though i have tried a plenty of them. Maybe the main reason is that food there is made with love and care.
Not often, but frequent enough there are held some festivals, events, parties, barbecues so one will never get bored there.
At the end i can not more than recommend you this place, it will warm you and calm your traveller soul and it will allways welcome you with open arms. For me it was more than home and if i will ever have an opportunity to come back again to Varkala, i will for sure stay in Shiva Garden.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alenadavidova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#26 of 52 in Varkala
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Helipad North Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Garden

Address: North Cliff Kurakkanni | Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: $13 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHIVA GARDEN is one among the most reputed home stays in Varkala. Perched near a majestic red cliff overlooking the Arabian Sea, this charming home stay offers many warm hospitable services as well as a fantastic garden view. Here we have a magnificent garden growing many famous Ayurvedic plants and trees, surrounding the resort. Guests are only minutes away from the famous 2000 years old Janardhana Swamy Temple, Kappil beach and Angengo Fort built by the British East India company in the 17th century. Shiva Garden is the perfect base for leisure and you may never forget this in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Shiva Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Garden Hotel Varkala
Shiva Garden Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing