We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, nice staff”
Review of Oceano Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceano Cliff
Ranked #24 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Dubai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, nice staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel has two premises: the main one where administration, dining area and Ayurvedic treatments take place and another about 1/2km away with a swimming pool. Our room, located further away, was simply blissful: very quiet, beautiful view of the sea, nicely furnished. Breakfast was a nice surprise and it usually consisted of fresh fruit, yoghurt, omelet, and several Keralan dishes. All staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Despite smoldering heat during the day the lack of AC wasn't much of an inconvenience and the ceiling fan combined with cool showers proved to be enough to keep us comfortable. We also enjoyed strolling (about 20min walk) to the Cliff for other meals, yoga and surfing; the supermarket and fruit stalls were about the same distance towards the city.

On the downside, wifi was only available at the reception area. For a $65/night room a kettle would have been truly indispensable. Pillows were a bit too big for me, causing a few sleepless nights and a sore neck until I finally ditched the pillow altogether. We initially stayed in a cheaper room but found it unbearable: overlooking the main "road" we were awoken early by staff and vehicles. It also didn't have a proper shower, but instead a bucket in which to collect water to wash yourself with. None of such in an upgraded room, however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
37
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is very good in terms of "stay at one place rest". It combines decent facilities with well maintained and nice territory to relax, a kind of isolated beach, Ayurvedic spa, and a not bad restaurant.

The stuff is very polite, well trained and helpful. They also speak English well.

If you fill a kind of fed up staying only in the hotel, it is about 25-30 minutes walk along the sea to the Panpanasam beach, where most of the activities and decent restaurants are located. But be aware that after the sunset it's definitely better to go back by ricksha (50-60 rup).

The breakfast was OK: fruits, porridge, juice (not always quite fresh), tea/ coffee, cornflakes, and two dishes from Indian cuisine. And they also can make fried eggs or an omelette by request. It's better to come early, otherwise you might have cold porridge or else.
You can also eat in the local restaurant during a day - it is twise more expensive than at the Papanasam beach. Be prepared to see about 40% of the unavailable dishes in the hotel's restaurant menu... And some of the food (like basic salad, paratha) they prepare in advance, so it is not quite freshly made.

I liked that the beach near the hotel is not crowded at all. But the drawback is that they do not clean it at all. So you are going to see quite a lot of garbage there, especially after stormy night.

In terms of Ayurveda treatment there, I wanted to try it because of a lot of positive reviews here. But my appointment was shifted twice - we had to change the time because they didn't come on time first, than because they've started later the massage previous to mine. So at the end I had no chance to try it at the time convenient for me, and decided to refuse from the idea at all. Anyway, most of the people at the hotel were satisfied with the treatment they had. But mind that Ayurvedic treatment is quite expensive here in comparison to other places in Varkala.

From time to time they host some concerts, which I enjoyed, for I love live music. They may last till around 22pm.

In general it is a quite overpriced please to stay in Varkala. However, if you feel like have everything in one - it is a good choice.

Room Tip: You'd better choose either lofts or suit sea view rooms on the second floor, otherwise you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really nice quite location on south beach with delightful gardener who makes the whole place special. Stayed in loft 302, delightful clean room. superb bathroom with balcony looking onto Indian ocean - excellent wifi in this room too. Between 12-3 room was like an oven no a/c it was unbearable. Breakfast good other meals dont look appealing. Staff and treatments very good. Bit of a trek to decent food on north cliff and they try to rip you off with taxi fares (70% commission) which is bit insulting as its not cheap. Nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was the perfect ending to a Keralan holiday. The hotel caters for Ayurvedic aficionados but doesn't exclude us ordinary folk! Our loft room was fabulous and with a well designed mosquito net and many open windows we were able to listen to the waves at night. The beach (176 steps down!) is quiet, clean and great for eagle watching. The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoTiltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place. We stayed in oceano cliff hotel during 12/2012-01/2013, and enjoyed the place , athmosphere, other guests and Ayurveda treatments.
Hotel locates up on a cliff having stairs going down to a lovely, quiet, private beach. As the hotel is 10min walk from Varkala tourist shopping beach, it's really nice and quet for a sleep and excellent for families. We saw 3 families staying there with kids aging 1-15years. Other nationalities we spotted were Germans , French, uk, USA, Finns, sweds...
Strongly recommend. Remember not to take the cheapest room and you get some luxury (wooden room) with balcony to beach and garden. Hotel has really nice garden you can take afternoon naps in a shade and get nice breeze for the sea.

Our plan was to take treatments Varkala downtown but few hundred rupees more was worth it. We experienced several treatments before and can say that this treatment earned 4/5 stars. Treatment packa ge costed 6000inr, and cheapest treatments were 1200inr.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

You MUST stay here - it's amazing - a real haven - amazing location, brilliant massage, yummy food and fantastic staff! As soon as we arrived the staff bent over backwards to make you feel welcome and be friendly (my boyfriend had managed to get an ear plug stuck in his ear canal - and rather than having to go to the local hospital, they arranged for the doctor on site to get it out straight away - phew! And it was all complimentary) The service was second to none - so helpful with tips of routes to take next, where to go and general recommendations - LOVED the whole relaxed feel of the place and the food was fantastic. The massages were great - and all facilties clean and lovely. They are really excellent on little touches that make the stay memorable - complimentary juice on arrival, bottled water in rooms, service, service, service and a FANTASTIC location. We also stayed on the more touristy north cliff, which we loved for a more touristy, nightlife feel, but this place is more luxury and haven like - came here after stumbling across it when we took a beach walk and went up the cliff steps to this fantastic place - perfect end to our stay in Varkala and a great place to recharge our batteries before continuing with our travels. Feels like it has it's own private beach (as everyone congregates to the north cliff) and the prices really reasonable - I really wouldn't normally be this complimentary - but you must visit!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyJM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Oceano Cliff is stunning, the garden is so relaxing, the food was delicious and the staff were fantastic. The rooms are basic and a little dates but very clean. South Cliff is very quiet and perfect for relaxing and taking Aryuvedic treatments. The clinic is run to a high standard. The doctors are excellent and the treatments amazing, it is very reasonably priced as well. The beach is peaceful and away from the crowds of north cliff. I would definitely recommend Oceano.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Garden
Eden Garden
#40 of 98 in Varkala
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Villa Akasa
Villa Akasa
#3 of 98 in Varkala
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Cliff

Property: Oceano Cliff
Address: Oceano Cliff Road | Near Perumkulam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceano Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceano Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Cliff Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing