We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel,Good Service, nice staff nothing to complain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel,Good Service, nice staff nothing to complain”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel very exhausted and tired,so they offered us a cosy bungalow for a good price,because of our long time stay.
I have the best time of my life here. The black beach is 3 minutes walk.The owner family is very nice and the staff is always ready to please you. Perfect for us. The swimming pool is the best I've ever seen. While u are swimming in the pool you can see the sea from the black beach.
We also had consultation with the doctor and took some treatments in the Auyrveda Center. Done in a traditional professional way. Jay Shree the ayurveda therapist is so warmhearted and compassionated,once she brought me a traditional breakfast prepared at her home, because I suffered from some food taken outside. Very touching. The people are not selfish. Always helpful and full of happiness. You can also check out in the morning @4 o clock&they drop you @the airport.
Best time ever.
2 years it was rented out. So the bad judges are not up to date anymore. Everything is fine and clean,the food always delicious.
Thank you so much for the good time Rafeek,Asheek,...John, Krsnapriya and Siraj. Your Annette Dambok from Hamburg

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VidyaVidyaVidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
21
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Positives:
- clean comfortable rooms
- lots of character for a modern hotel
- great pool, very clean
- great garden and views
- good location
- helpful owner
- very quiet (except for the crashing of the waves on the beach)
- no smell from the prawn processing plant (the Rough Guide is wrong)

Negatives:
- décor of the rooms and cottages needs updating
- cold water only in the cottages but this is usual in India and not a problem as the weather is hot

Overall: I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton lancs
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The hotel is set a few minutes away from the busy cliff top, making it a peaceful retreat. The swimming pool is excellent -clean and well maintained. We had an non-a/c room which was one of the cheaper ones, but adequately furnished, if a little jaded looking. We had a lovely sit-out overlooking the pool. The Rough Guide said something about there could be problems from the nearby prawn processing plant but we were not bothered wither by any smell or noise. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hippyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Unfortunately we had an awful experience at this hotel, worst in 3 weeks India. We were offered 2 very dirty rooms downstairs, one worse than the other, we were given dirty bedsheets and dirty old towels (rather cloths), it seems the rooms and especially the bathroom hadn't been used in a while and was not prepared, it was dirty and to make it worse using the shower, there were a lot of ants and worms (larvae) coming out... The hotel staff and especially the manager didn't seem to care. They seemed to have quite nice rooms upstairs which were not offered to us. The pool is nice and location is ok, but couldn't make it up of course. It was too late at night to leave immediately, but naturally we left the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trip-to-x_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varkala hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed here twice last year, once with friends and once with my girlfriend and I can honestly say it was a wonderful experience.

Beautiful location, gorgeous pool, amazing staff (Assok is a credit to the place, a very charming helpful man)

What can I say, just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Returned after one year and Ashok, our house boy, even remembered how spicy I like my curry. We get a cottage room near the pool. This is a quieter place to stay with easy access to Black Beach and the cliff. Will return again when we come this way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in Varkala for 3 months (due to my wife's work in a nearby hospital). We stayed in Preeth and Palm Heritage, but like this one best. The penthouse room was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, the free WiFi was a treat, the beds were more comfortable than most you'll find in town and location is ideal -- quiet yet very close to the Cliff (where all the restaurants are).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estlandsgatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat

Property: Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Address: Thiruvambadi Road | North End Down Clif, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing