We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool alone is worth the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Ranked #24 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The pool alone is worth the stay.”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Returned after one year and Ashok, our house boy, even remembered how spicy I like my curry. We get a cottage room near the pool. This is a quieter place to stay with easy access to Black Beach and the cliff. Will return again when we come this way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
22
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in Varkala for 3 months (due to my wife's work in a nearby hospital). We stayed in Preeth and Palm Heritage, but like this one best. The penthouse room was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, the free WiFi was a treat, the beds were more comfortable than most you'll find in town and location is ideal -- quiet yet very close to the Cliff (where all the restaurants are).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estlandsgatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hotel is nice, at the end of the beach strip close to the black sand beach part and it has a pool, which is difficult to find in varkala. The rooms in the flyer look very nice, in reality a bit less though. We had a reservation for a penthouse, but on the day of check-in the old manager was very unfriendly and wanted to sell us a less valuable room for the penthouse we reserved- we were disappointed and the manager go very unfriendly and left us there on the spot. It is very sad, that this nice hotel has such a bad manager.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varkala hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The location is pretty handy - it's at the North end of the cliff so it's a 5 minute walk back along the cliff to restaurants, etc. It's only a 1 minute walk to Black Beach though which is a nice beach with a bar right on it.

The hotel has a nice pool, something I didn't see at any of the other places in Varkala. A great place to hang out during the day and eat your breakfast by in the mornings.

The breakfast was nice and there were a few options to choose from. We didn't have lunch or dinner in the restaurant but the menu looked exactly like all the other menus in Varkala.

The service from Ashok and his team was always excellent, helpful and polite. The owner/manager is a different story, he is extremely rude and difficult to deal with. Thankfully we didn't have to have too much to do with him but we did witness him having a full on shouting argyument with one of the other guests one morning which was interesting... Interesting to read another review which said they felt pressured to give Ashok a tip - we did tip him because we felt he had provided great service, we didn't feel any pressure from him but he does love to hang around and chat so I guess his approach could be interpreted in different ways.

Rooms are very spacious, ours had a balcony with a sea view. Bathrooms are huge, fairly basic, hot water is a little slow to come through but gets there in the end. Our room had a fridge, a TV and A/C and was very reasonably priced (although i think a lot cheaper than if you booked it online). The bed was two singles pushed together (pet hate) and a foam mattress so not the most comfortable thing in the world. Linen and towels were old and worn and we had to ask for the room to be serviced each time. They said they don't clean the rooms unless asked so you need to request this.

Overall, we felt that the hotel was great value - it had a few faults but good luck finding somewhere that doesn't.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnynz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2010

In November2009 and January 2010 I stayed at the Thiruvambadi,avery pleasant, well positioned small hotel with nice rooms and a spotless swimming pool.All the staff are polite,attentive and friendly to a lone traveller.I received excellent service from Mr Ashok;he was always able to fulfil my food requirements and nothing was ever too much trouble.I am returning with a friend this November

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger1newry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Thiruvambadi is good value and clean, with a great pool and comfortable rooms. It's at the north end of the cliff, so it's away from the bustle, but it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to most of the restaurants.

The cavernous hallways in the main building can be loud if there's a lot of activity, but you probably won't have a problem if you stay in one of the bungalows.

The thing that really let it down for me was the senior guy in the hotel staff (Ashok?). He was very friendly and worked very hard, but eventually became wearing. This was compounded by the fact that when paying the bill, he started making very unsubtle comments about how us foreigners feel so rich in India and the staff there always have problems with their families; then he showed us photos of past guests who'd given him their contact details, and explained how one had bought some sarees for his wife.

We had already decided to give a tip, so we did so, but it left a very sour taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyMunkey106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anamika Ayurvedic Heritage
Anamika Ayurvedic Heritage
#28 of 97 in Varkala
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rajapark Beach Resort
Rajapark Beach Resort
#36 of 52 in Varkala
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat

Property: Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat
Address: Thiruvambadi Road | North End Down Clif, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing