We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a good room”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #12 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great price for a good room”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Comfy bed (which is hard to find in Kerala). A great mozzie net (which was needed). Room was small but clean and well decorated. Free filtered water dispenser. No hot water but a good shower. Good location 2 mins to the beach. Can't fault it, I paid 1300rs through Agoda.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philipamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
63
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed for one night, then upgraded and went elsewhere in Varkala. Room was 1,000Rs, fan (no A/C), double. Very basic room. Mozzy net provided. Sheets stained, so slept on sleeping bag liners. Room felt sandy-dirty - ie like it's never been (or going to be) clean. No hot water.
Short walk to south end of beach / cliffs. Convinced that better budget options are available elsewhere on the clifftops, if you have energy to walk along them.
That said, bed was comfy and good night's sleep.
Booked through booking.com - and hotel seemed to have said that we actually were a no show - and charge us...even though we paid in cash on arrival. Bitter taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LyndseyCrook1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Jicky's is run by a helpful and friendly family. The rooms are clean although our room was on the small side. I felt it was excellent value. The toliet paper and filtered water were free. We were never pressured to do any tours or Ayuvedic massages which was certainly a relief! It is less than a 5 minute to the cliff from Jicky's. Thoroughly recommend staying here while in Varkala.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyblue365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five days for 600 rupes per night. Had a lovely view of the garden and just a short walk to the cliff and the start of north cliff restaurants. The room was clean with mosquito net. No hot water though. A great place to stay in Vakala and just off the main route.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here of and on nice quite place and very nice people not far from the cliffs and not expensive I would recommend it .the rooms are clean,spacious laundry service available at a good price you can ask advice to the manager Mrs Oscar go there

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumarakom, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is very near to Cliff ,though not seen from Cliff it is a beautiful budget rooms ,with pleasing hospitality .It is best for budget travelers.The owner lady was so helpful ,we did't use the library but it seems good.

Room Tip: Second floor ,window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an-e-motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Jicky's for 2 nights in January 2013. We each had a separate little garden bungalow room. They were so pretty, with painted murals, mosquito nets over the beds, plenty of hanging space, chairs, table, and a little terrace overlooking the beautiful clean gardens.

We were only there for a short time, and our tour organiser had booked the trip in advance for us. He has a homestay business in Aleppey, so he would have got a slightly cheaper rate as he puts a lot of business their way. As a previous reviewer mentioned, it isn't as cheap as some places, and there was part of us that wished we had had the time to scout around for a cheaper deal. However, it was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean, and so calm and quiet.

The beds were comfy, and decent pillows too, and hot water in the shower as well!

Breakfast wasn't included in out price, so we ate at the restaurant at the end of the lane. We didn't rate it that highly..there were loads of cawing crows hopping about on the tables, which are a bloody nuisance, not helped by some guests giving them titbits and encouraging them. And the service was very slow, even when they had no other diners. So that rather spoild the breakfast. And the chai I had there was the worst I've had in India, way too peppery, and not at all sweet and spiced as it usually is. No matter, there are hundreds of other places along the cliff which do pretty much anything you could possibly want in the way of food!

The little library was sweet, and the owners were lovely and helpful. There was a power cut one evening, and I was on the way back to my room. I could not see a thing, and ended up tapping about in a neighbour's garden, knocking over flower pots! Then, out of the darkness, a little pinpoint of light, and it was a boy with a mobile phone, who guided me back safely. Handy tip, always take a torch!!

There was a very good ayurvedic massage place, which you pass on the way to the beach..the hot oil head massage was sublime! Highly recommended.

It would be ideal for a special trip with a beloved one, as it is a very romantic, quiet place, away from the bustle of the cliff tops, but only two minutes walk there..

Room Tip: I hadn't seen the other options, so cannot comment on these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMadHats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 50 in Varkala
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 50 in Varkala
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Property: Jickys Nest
Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing