We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, great vibe, lovely people”
Review of Jickys Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jickys Nest
Ranked #12 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean, great vibe, lovely people”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked for 3 days but ended up staying 5 - these very clean rooms just off the beach road are set amongst trees with free unlimited clean water for the guests, excellent service and a roof terrace for doing yoga/chilling in the evening. All rooms have a little balcony / seating area just outside and altho there is no air con the room fan will do the job. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigletxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    63
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
62
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there only one night cause the place was already fully booked for the next couple of days. Run by very friendly people is a truly nice place to stay in - rooms have access to the long balcony each of them having its own cosy corner with armchairs. Rooms are big and neat with enough storage space (which not always happen within this price range), mosquito net and big comfortable bed. Bathrooms are also clean with hot water. Wifi available. Jicky's is a 12 minute walk from the beach which maybe a disdvantage for some and advantage for others - it's much more quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysienkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a group of friends from Switzerland and Jicky's rooms was recommended to us by our friends. Just amazing, excellent service, excellent people, especially the owner is an amazing lady and very humble. Varkala is a beautiful place but everyone tries to rip u off except Jicky's rooms. Jewel in the crown. INDIA JAJA TEAM

Room Tip: cottages are good and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel run by the charming Minioscar and her family. She has rooms, bigger rooms and bungalows so she can accommodate all tastes. Not only were we delighted with our rooms, we were also grateful for her recommendations for outings, which were given freely, including a canoe tour of the backwaters. The place is very clean AND you can drink the water here.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and I had a memorable 4-day stay in one of the cottages over the New Year. Minioscar, the owner, and her staff were very friendly and helpful and wanted to clean the cottage every day. The immediate surroundings were very quiet and peaceful even though the hustle and bustle of the clifftop was only the other side of the gardens. A very conveniently situated accomodation, I would have no hesitation in recommending Jicky's. However, we were surprised to find that the nearest ATM was at Temple junction (15 mins walk), if it accepted your card, otherwise it was an auto-rickshaw ride to Varkala town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for five nights in October. Really enjoyed my stay.
Nice, extremely clean rooms with wi-fi (which is quite rare).
Had a great double bedroom with ensuite bathroom.
Very reasonably priced. Paid 500 rupees per night.
The staff constantly cleaned the guesthouse and changed my linen half way through my stay without me even asking.
Rooms have a nice shared veranda to relax at.
As a solo traveller, was great for meeting people. Was nice to chat and hang out with a couple next door. Had no problem chilling out on the veranda and using the wi-fi on rainy days.
Mini, the owner, was really friendly and helpful. Told me and a friend everything we needed to know during our stay.
There also some great looking cottages for couples and groups but did not stay in one.
Excellent location, just off the Varkala cliff so is quiet and peaceful. Set in leafy green surroundings.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Jicky's is set back from the Varkala cliff's, just a 3 minue walk to the sea, in gorgeous quiet leafy surroundings. Our room was beautifully clean, with a big mosquito net, we felt like princesses! We visited in October and paid 500 rupees a night, which was great value for what we got. We shared a groundfloor veranda with the room next door, which was nice as we got chatting to the person staying there. The room was a bit small but was equipped with lots of hanging space so you didn't feel the room was cluttered. We loved Varkala and we loved Jicky's, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#14 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#13 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#25 of 98 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jickys Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jickys Nest

Property: Jickys Nest
Address: Kurakkanni Near Helipad, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jickys Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Jickys Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicky`s Rooms Hotel Varkala
Jickys Nest Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing