We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marine Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I only eat art their restaurant for 3 times. First 2 was ok, the 3rd one was horible. We drink 6 cocktails. In the first one was no vodka and we request them to change it. At the end I asked for the bill and the waiter came with a small calculator and said 580 rs. I told him is too much and he became nervous. Than he came with a written bill with 8 drinks and 460 rs. The real value was 340rs I told again was too much and he became agressive and startied to shout to my wife. I asked to discuss with the manager. He brought me in front of one who was drunk and was moking on us. Than appeared onther manager who agreed with us only not other customers to hear the scandal. The terible waiter was continiously shouting to me and to my wife, on my money. So don't go there poor management and very roude poersonnel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2010

Coming to Varkala without accomodation, I was ambushed by the management at Blue Marine. and within minutes I was thanking them.

Whilst my room was prepared, I sat back in chair to admire the eagles in the sky, dolphins played in the sea below and early Stones playing in the background. Life couldn't get much better. With rates half that of neighbouring guest houses, life was indeed good.

The food was reasonably priced and of adequate quality offering the usual travellers menu. The slight fault was the length of time you had to wait for your bill..the waiters perferred you to sit longer than you wanted to. this is a minor issue.

The room was clean and roomy. I had to buy a bedsheet from a bazaar but the fixed price stall a few doors down but the 100 rupees was easily covered by the savibg ib nightly charge,

Location wise it is closer to the quieter beaches of North Varkala but that could be considered a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

we stay in varcala for 2 weeks in april of 2008..it was the end oif the season so all the hotels did very good offers to stay...
we finally decided to stay in blue marine resort which had a very special price rate...
it was not something special but had some advantages..
1.very good location...if you stay in varkala i think that north cliff its the best place to stay.
2.it is centrally located but without noise problems
3.rooms are big enough..
4.ceiling fan ....you will need this
5.very close to poothooram supermarket..
6.you can ask if you need a mosquito net...why not
7.you can have if you think your own lock..
8.safe location..
Disadvantages
1.do not wait someone to come to clean your room..
2.better have your own towels and sheets
3.not bad to have spray for aunts
......
but all this in a very good price...
price range as we know is between 5-25 euro per room per night..depending on period

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank triantakisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Anna_wa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank marielle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank obennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#34 of 52 in Varkala
131 reviews
0 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Haiwa Beach Residency
The Haiwa Beach Residency
#46 of 52 in Varkala
25 reviews
0 mi away
SS Beach Resort
SS Beach Resort
#33 of 52 in Varkala
4 reviews
0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Beach Resort

Address: | North Cliff, Varkala 682028, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range: $24 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing