We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful bliss on the south cliff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

As this cozy nine room resort lies right on the south cliff, it's far more peaceful and quiet than the north cliff which is a centre of the action in Varkala. It takes just 10 to 15 minutes to stroll pleasantly by the beach to the main part of the north cliff beach though.
The stretch of sand to be reached directly from the resort downstairs feels like your own, as most of time there's literally no one to share the beach with you.

A short 5 minutes walk will take you to the great beachside restaurant Marine Palace that serves awesome fresh fish, huge prawns and squids all washed in chilled Kingfisher.

As during our stay, we were the only guests having the whole place all for ourselves, a feeling of bliss and peacefulness was too nice to be real :)

Cottage we stayed was nothing to complaint about too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nowe_rozdanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

I would recommend this place mostly because of the wonderful location with the private stair down to a secluded part of the beach, and I would stay here again for this reason! Also relaxing hammocks in the big garden and outside each room, perfect for reading. There is a supplied beach umbrella outside the room that we appreciated a lot.
I liked the bed, my spouse found it too hard. The bathroom was built pretty stupid. It is a long corridor with the sink first, then the shower and last the toilet. The shower does not have anything that seals off the water so the bathroom becomes very wet. Does not matter much, but can be a bit slippery.
we stayed in an AC-room, but almost never used the AC since the fan was very efficient.
You can hear your neighbour guest, which might be annoying depending on how much noise they make. Or how private you want to be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Freshestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort in March 2012. The hotel is the perfect retreat - green well kept gardens, views of the Arabian Sea, beach access and hammocks for lazy afternoons.

We stayed for two nights with another family and both our rooms were clean and cool with great amenities (one even had a mini fridge). The breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

The staff was extremely helpful - they had great restaurant recommendations and helped organize a trip to see and interact with elephants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights in January 2012 in a a/c cottage Rs 4500 per night.
It was a very clean and a comforatable room. The owner is very nice and helpful, the garden very well kept, with shade and sun throughout the day. Hardly any barking dogs around. You can take private yoga lessons (the teacher is good, not excellent) in the garden....which is a beautiful spot to do yoga.
It would have been nice if breakfast would have been with more choices. Four days in a row, fruitsalad, curd, toast with the same jam, gets a bit boring. This is not to place to be if you are after many shops and restaurants next door. If you don't mind a 15min pleasant stroll on the beach and like a quiet erea, this is perfect. Although I must say I would not be willing to pay more (especially as we did not use the a/c). Minor things: the door to the bathroom is very heave to open/close. The hot water was not always working very well.

Room Tip: The bottom cottage on the left side (when facing the sea). You'll have a hammock in front of you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here in September and Varkala & the Seashore Resort were one of the highlights of our trip. Having come from Delhi, the Seashore Resort was the perfect retreat - it was spotlessly clean, the only sounds you could hear were the waves of the Arabian Sea and the view from our room was beautiful - the sunset from our balcony was amazing. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning (the freshly squeezed pineapple juice was a highlight) and Shine and the staff couldn't do enough for you (including giving me a lift to the train station on the back of his scooter). Perfect location as its away from the main cliff but close enough to walk or a short tuk tuk ride to all the bars/restaurants. You can access a beach from a path leading down the cliff and this was probably the nicest beach I saw in Varkala, however, be careful as the waves are lethal. I would definitely recommend Varkala and definitely recommend the Seahore Resort, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: 1st floor cottage with balcony if you want the view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is my second time staying at Seashore resort and it just gets better and better. Everything at the resort is run smoothly and the whole place exudes peace and tranquility. The breakfast is just perfect and the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. Nobody could stay here and not come away feeling like they found a piece of heaven. I will be going back again and again and again...It is without doubt one of the best places I have found to stay in India.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saramc_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed in january- february for almost two weeks in sea shore. It was a wonderfull stay! The staff is very kind. I was hid by a riksja en needed to stay in a hospital for a night. Shine (owner) came and visit me and brought me fresh pillows, food and stuff. So nice and kind! Sea Shore itself is on a great location, only 10 minutes walk from the more busy part North clif. The garden is very comfortable with lots of hammocks between palm trees, got sea view and you can reach the beach by walking down the stairs from the garden.
Breakfast is very nice and healty. Rooms are spotless clean and comfortable. The more expensive ones are a must to stay in. I would defenitly come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wietske W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort

Address: South Cliff | West Janardhana Swamy Temple, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: $34 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a very beautiful piece of paradise. It's a guest house (I couldn't call it something so cold as a resort) that delivers excellent service with a low key spirit of wanting to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the higher-end suites are exceptionally lovely and all for prices that make this the very best value I have almost ever experienced in all my travels. 'taken from guest review'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Varkala
Varkala SeaShore Beach Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing