We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 perfect days at the seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Water Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Water Beach Resort 3 nights during our South India trip. We slept in a charming and very clean bungalow with a little veranda and a modern bathroom. The place is next to the beach so at night you can fall asleep with the sound of the waves in your ears. The garden with some ayurvedic plants is a great place to relax, have a nap in the hammock or enjoy the excellent food of the restaurant. The Resort is some 5-10 minutes away from Varkala Beach centre, so it's quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and does their best to make your holiday perfect. We enjoyed our time here very much!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BWei2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideRestaurant, Manager at Blue Water Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Bluewater is a lovely place to stay. It has great views and I really enjoyed hearing the sound of the sea at night and the fishermen bravely battling their way in through the strong waves in the morning with their haul. We have just got back and as it is low season it was very quiet. We would probably have preferred more people to have been there as it is a little isolated. Walking to the main shops and restarants involves about a 15 minute beach and cliffside walk which would not suit everyone. You must remember your torch! You can however travel in a tuk tuk which is great fun and cheap. Breakfast and indeed any meal right on the sea in a treat and was delicious. Rakesh and his staff are exrememly helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms are beautiful and they all have a great view. We had a lovely, happy time there and would have no hesitiation in recommending it.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view as they are stand alone wooden cabins facing the sea. There is one buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouristTriciaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Bluewater whilst travelling through india and I must admit this was one of our favourites! The setting is amazing, the staff are so helpful and the rooms were very lovely and clean! But the one thing that money can buy was two of the most beautiful sunsets!!!

Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a quiet, friendly little place with a quiet but service-oriented staff. There are only about 8 rooms...some have a/c and some don't. Although we were there in the summer months, the lack of a/c wasn't a problem. The view of the sea is beautiful, and with tables on the lawn just steps from the ocean, breakfast is a treat! If you get up about 6:00 you can watch a local group of retired fishermen bring in a large net full of small fish. Watch what they do with the plastic garbage that is also in the net!!! You can swim just 100 steps down the beach...great waves and warm water. Take a longer hike to the enormous beach about a mile to south...worth the walk. You might catch the local school children in 'surfing class'...fun! At night you can watch the giant string of lights (commercial fishing vessles, moving like a string of pearls on the horizon. This isn't an upscale place...the perfect spot to read, relax and re-energize.

Room Tip: If you can live without A/C, get the cottage closest to the water...I stayed in it and enjoyed it im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights here with my daughter. As it was off season the rates were very reasonable and we almost had the place to our selves. Rakesh the manager is so kind and helpful. The location is fantastic and a much better resort than most of the other places we saw in the vicinity. Wonderful sea views and walks along the coast in both directions. A kilometre walk to Varkala beach but a small black sand beach nearby where you can watch the fishermen hauling in their catch in the early morning. A place to unwind. Nice chalets with a little veranda which are kept clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We visited India in April, the views from this resort were awesome. The rooms smelt fresh and clean. Gardens maintained very well. We recommend Bluewater for a relaxing peaceful retreat.
Thanks to Rakesh the manager, who organised a elephant excursion locally for us.
Thanks again from Justin and Tracy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a few days. Some of the best things about it are undoubtedly the location, the lovely rooms (although a little bare-bones considering where we had been staying earlier) but excellent for the price (around Rs.3500 per night if I remember correctly). The breakfast is excellent and the hotel manager is most helpful.

During booking, we were told that only an AC room was available and we gladly took it up. However, during the three days of our stay, the AC did not work - especially during afternoons when it would get almost blistering hot outside. They even got an LG repairman to come and check it out but It seems there is some form of a Electric Load Balancing issue and Blue Waters was helpless to resolve it. It would get unreasonably hot in the room at times and the little fan they provided us as backup barely kept us from suffocating. Except for this one (rather painful) anomaly, our stay was quite wonderful in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anyarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $44 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Water Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing