We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for relaxing, reading and enjoying the Arabian Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Water Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a quiet, friendly little place with a quiet but service-oriented staff. There are only about 8 rooms...some have a/c and some don't. Although we were there in the summer months, the lack of a/c wasn't a problem. The view of the sea is beautiful, and with tables on the lawn just steps from the ocean, breakfast is a treat! If you get up about 6:00 you can watch a local group of retired fishermen bring in a large net full of small fish. Watch what they do with the plastic garbage that is also in the net!!! You can swim just 100 steps down the beach...great waves and warm water. Take a longer hike to the enormous beach about a mile to south...worth the walk. You might catch the local school children in 'surfing class'...fun! At night you can watch the giant string of lights (commercial fishing vessles, moving like a string of pearls on the horizon. This isn't an upscale place...the perfect spot to read, relax and re-energize.

Room Tip: If you can live without A/C, get the cottage closest to the water...I stayed in it and enjoyed it im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights here with my daughter. As it was off season the rates were very reasonable and we almost had the place to our selves. Rakesh the manager is so kind and helpful. The location is fantastic and a much better resort than most of the other places we saw in the vicinity. Wonderful sea views and walks along the coast in both directions. A kilometre walk to Varkala beach but a small black sand beach nearby where you can watch the fishermen hauling in their catch in the early morning. A place to unwind. Nice chalets with a little veranda which are kept clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We visited India in April, the views from this resort were awesome. The rooms smelt fresh and clean. Gardens maintained very well. We recommend Bluewater for a relaxing peaceful retreat.
Thanks to Rakesh the manager, who organised a elephant excursion locally for us.
Thanks again from Justin and Tracy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for a few days. Some of the best things about it are undoubtedly the location, the lovely rooms (although a little bare-bones considering where we had been staying earlier) but excellent for the price (around Rs.3500 per night if I remember correctly). The breakfast is excellent and the hotel manager is most helpful.

During booking, we were told that only an AC room was available and we gladly took it up. However, during the three days of our stay, the AC did not work - especially during afternoons when it would get almost blistering hot outside. They even got an LG repairman to come and check it out but It seems there is some form of a Electric Load Balancing issue and Blue Waters was helpless to resolve it. It would get unreasonably hot in the room at times and the little fan they provided us as backup barely kept us from suffocating. Except for this one (rather painful) anomaly, our stay was quite wonderful in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anyarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I read "a pearl by the Indian ocean" just wanted to add the extra perfect breakfast. Fruit sallad, fruit juices and a variety of eggs. Not to mention the pancakes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FridaTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I had a look at the hotel website and tripadvisor photos before booking this place, but even then I was blown away by the magnificent view of this resort! Absolutely on the sea, it offers stunning views of the Arabian sea, with a breathtaking sunset, and you can hear the sea waves all through the night from your cottage. Staff is very friendly, and my 7 year old daughter made friends with them immediately! Food was very good, mostly continental, with a great American breakfast! But I feel this is ideal for honeymoon couple, or if you are going to let yourself loose by absolutely doing nothing but sit by the ocean, pamper yourself with ayurvedic massage. The rooms do not have tv,mini bar or fridge, the lighting was very dim, and you can not read in the evening. For food also, you'll have to order from here all the meals, since there is hardly any place otherwise( there a couple of shacks nearby, but you'll have to venture out of the resort, and walk through the walkway on the cliff, not very comfortable in the evening). Evenings can be a bit boring, the nearest market place is quite far. So, my recommendation is if you want to escape the city life completely, this is the place, and also great for newly weds. Carry a torch,please!

Room Tip: Carry a torch, feel free to walk along the coast, day or night, its really safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saurajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have never experienced such a neat and cosy place - with perfect distance to the hustle and bustle on the Varkala North Cliff - quiet and right on the small beach of Odayam. Perfect spot for dolphin-spotting. There are eight or maybe ten rooms all together - perfect for friends, couples or lonely travellers - but not for party animals or conferences. It is a 20 min walk to Varkala and you can also walk north on the interesting coast where you will meet and see fishermen, wooden boats, palm trees, mosques and temples. If you get tired you can take a riksha back.
Blue Water Beach Resort is managed by Mr Rakish and his staff. Rakish can tell you stories from his interesting life, discuss literature or aviation. The chef from Tibet makes something extra out of all the meals - don´t miss the catch of the day and the generous and fresh fruit salad. We also loved the dal with plenty of coriander.
Swimming at the Odayam beach can be a little risky but fun in the breaking waves. Beware of the current at some times that can take you to the side and all of a sudden you might find yourself close to the rocks.
The best yoga in Odayam is at Oasis in the afternoon and at First Place in the morning (same teacher) and you can get wonderful massage at the Ayuvedic place just opposite the Blue Waters gates. Book in advance at high season as the place is small. (I better book my next stay right away as I have put out this review!)

Room Tip: Any room is good. Depending on how many you are, there are different options. Aske before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maria_lantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.6 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#8 of 52 in Varkala
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Water Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing