We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pearl by the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Water Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Water Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a pearl by the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have never experienced such a neat and cosy place - with perfect distance to the hustle and bustle on the Varkala North Cliff - quiet and right on the small beach of Odayam. Perfect spot for dolphin-spotting. There are eight or maybe ten rooms all together - perfect for friends, couples or lonely travellers - but not for party animals or conferences. It is a 20 min walk to Varkala and you can also walk north on the interesting coast where you will meet and see fishermen, wooden boats, palm trees, mosques and temples. If you get tired you can take a riksha back.
Blue Water Beach Resort is managed by Mr Rakish and his staff. Rakish can tell you stories from his interesting life, discuss literature or aviation. The chef from Tibet makes something extra out of all the meals - don´t miss the catch of the day and the generous and fresh fruit salad. We also loved the dal with plenty of coriander.
Swimming at the Odayam beach can be a little risky but fun in the breaking waves. Beware of the current at some times that can take you to the side and all of a sudden you might find yourself close to the rocks.
The best yoga in Odayam is at Oasis in the afternoon and at First Place in the morning (same teacher) and you can get wonderful massage at the Ayuvedic place just opposite the Blue Waters gates. Book in advance at high season as the place is small. (I better book my next stay right away as I have put out this review!)

Room Tip: Any room is good. Depending on how many you are, there are different options. Aske before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria_lantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    84
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
64
130
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

It was a last minute plan. I was very apprehensive when I made the booking, but loved it from the moment I saw it. Right on the Indian ocean, sleeping to the sounds of the blue waters, it was a wonderful and clean place to relax and have a quiet holiday. Very friendly and welcoming staff and Manager on 24 hours duty provided us with everything we needed. I took my elderly parents with me - and the attention and care they got was incredible.

Villas with AC are few. we did get one, but even at noon, we were sitting outside fanned by the constant breeze. Intend to go back regularly - 5 star beauty and 5 star treatment. (The lack of a fridge and tv in the room may be a problem for some, but for us the other amenities/ the incredible beauty, the responsive and ever helpful staff made up for all this.)

Additionally, for the spiritualist or the philosopher, a few kms away is the famous Sivagiri Mutt, which has the samadi of Narayana Guru - (a great yogi and Sidda known for his principle of "one Caste, one God, one Religion ... for Mankind") and which is also the place of the famous meeting (1925) between Narayana Guru and Gandhiji.

Would recommend Varkala and the resort any day!

Room Tip: Only 9 rooms in all. All face the ocean. Sleep quality - if you are bothered by the thunder of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We've been to this resort 3-4 times now because the staff are so helpful and friendly, and because it's in such a good location. It has recently had a refurbishment, which means a better office, and better eating areas.
The rooms are basic: there is no mini-bar or fridge, and no flat-screen tv. Most of the rooms have no A/C, just fans. The food is good, but the menu is not too extensive.
The place is so peaceful, though. All you can hear is the sound of the waves and the birds (provided you take one of the chalet rooms and don't have neighbors who want to play music at night). The food is good. The bathrooms are clean and spacious wet-rooms. The beach is literally across a path from the gate. The beach here is much less crowded than the main beach below the cliff. The walk along the coast is great before breakfast.
It's great to go and help the fishermen bring the nets in before breakfast, and look out for the dolphins.
For the price I think the place is excellent. It is no Taj, but that is not why you would go to this resort.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Pick one of the chalets, rather than the block at the back ... unless you want A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here one night as part of our tour of Kerala. On arrival we were taken straight into our room and just left there! It's not entirely clear where the 'lobby' area is as the hotel is made up of many small huts. Rakesh the manager is a very nice and helpful man but the hotel needs to work on a few things. Firstly this is the only hotel where we were not offered a welcome drink and were not given any complimentary water in our room. The room itself is very basic. Small and no TV. There is neither a mini bar. There was a fan running which was fine during the day, however during the night we wanted to turn on the AC however we couldn't figure out the control, we then realised there is no phone to contact any member of staff with any problems! Restaurant menu is very limited and also very slow in service. Buffet breakfast is not a true buffet and items come in in all sorts of order. The idea of the place is good, wonderful location, views are amazing, staff are always willing to help, just doesn't have that 4* quality which it claims to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShikhaAnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We travelled down from Fort Cochin and did not have anything booked, but wanted to go to a quieter part of Varkala and so got a taxi to Odayam beach, based on what we'd read on trip advisor and in the Lonely Planet. We stumbled across this place and luckily there was one beach bungalow left. We were overwhelmed with the setting, which was stunning (see my profile picture). The resort is on a small cliff directly overlooking the picture perfect beach. The bungalows are simple but beautiful and clean, with ensuite shower and toilet. There is no hot water, as is the case with a lot of places in India, but of course you don't really need it when it is 35 degrees! The manager, Rakesh, and his staff are lovely. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have a small restaraunt which cooks fresh fish and for breakfast (included) you can have anything off the menu which gets you well started for the day! The service is not the quickest, but its not too much of an effort to sit and relax and wait when you are looking out over the waves crashing in on the perfect beach! The resort is small, about 5 bungalows and 4 rooms, and is set in well maintained grounds with a hammock and chairs and tables. Odayama beach has about 5 or 6 resorts of this size and we felt the beach has just about the right amount of people, not too many or too few. The north cliff of Varkala with all its shops, bars and restaraunts is about a 15-20 min walk away. We found this a nice balance. We could wander in for food to make a change from the resort and to do some shopping but could also come back to the quiet and lovely beach. It was no problem to wear a bikini and we were not hassled at all here. Walking the other way we found our own beaches and coves to explore. We went down for a swim in the warm water each morning before breakfast and helped the fisherman pull their nets in one morning, a lovely though exhausing experience! There is a place to do yoga and experience ayeurvedic massage right behind the hotel too. We cannot say enough about how amazing this place is, especially considering the value for money. We originally planned to stay for 1 or 2 nights before moving on, but ended up staying for 4 nights to complete the end to our holiday. We wish we could have stayed for even longer and will definitely be back! We have no hesitation in highly recommending this as the perfect place for a beach relax/holiday.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are equally as good. There is also a building with 4 rooms in, I think slightly c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahE999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

after looking around for a better place to stay on a walk along the beach we finally found this wonderful place.Nothing compared to the busy North Cliff. Instantly we hired a wooden cottage: clean, with a fan and a mosquito net. The bathroom is beautifully done and the shower works!
The garden is a treat and you can see that there was a landscape architect involved.
The staff is so sweet and helpful and they went out of their way to make us feel at home.
The breakfast- that is included- you take looking over the Arabian Sea. They served us lots of fruit and wonderful juices.
Is there any more to say to recommend this resort?

Room Tip: all rooms and cottages have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernardine_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The main reason to book this hotel is its location on the top of the small cliff of a fishermens beach where only 4 other hotels are located. Hence it is very calm and ideal if you want to spend some days at the beach or under the palms of the hotel garden.
If you want to join the hustle and bustle on the north cliff it is the wrong hotel. walking to the north cliff takes about 20 - 30 minutes. if you are only women you will need to take a autorikscha in the dark because the path is not totally illuminated. At night autorikschas are only available at the helipad. cost is ~ 100 rps.

The hotel itself was ok for the price (2500 for double room, 2000 for single occupancy). Breakfast was included and good (far better than the rest of the food in the hotel). There a better prized hotels on the north cliff, but here you pay for the location. The complex was well maintained and the rooms had a decent size and were more proper than most hotel rooms we have seen in India.

The staff and the hotel manager were nice and helpful, although you have to be aware, that once you started a conversation with the manager he won't let you go quickly. He is veeeery talkative which can get quite annoying after some time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.9 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Resort

Property: Blue Water Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Odayam, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Water Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private seaside resort adjacent to Varkala Beach. Each independent wooden cottage is made in the traditional Kerala style and has unobstructed views of the Arabian Sea, with private verandah, comfortable furnishings and en-suite facilities. Our multi-cuisine restaurant, raised on coconut stilts, affords glorious views of the Kerala coastline. Private and spacious gardens provide a secluded environment for a relaxing holiday. Amenities include Ayurvedic treatment, yoga, internet access, travel desk and money exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Water Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Beach Hotel Varkala
Blue Water Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing