We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Eva Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Eva Luna
Ranked #1 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich Switz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hostel is run with so much love to details - either in food, room decoration, cleaness and host. Thank you so much for the wonderfull stay - we felt home from the very first moment and had a great time with you! We will send you everybody going to Varkla!
Take care and see you in Zurich
Andrea & Daniel Switzerland

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
142
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I spent a calm and relaxing week in Casa Eva Luna. Kathrin is a perfect organiser and i loved the "müesli" from Esther, the best ones in all India i ever got! Every day i enjoy wonderfull massages! I'm looking forward to come back for a further relaxing holiday :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88stanley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Casa Eva Luna was lovely and super clean, rooms were nicely decorated and staff was really helpful and friendly. The owner speaks fluent english and spanish, and she can provide you with anything from train tickets to house boat cruises. Food was also excellent. Even though it's located somewhat far from the beach (about 10 min by walking), it's a nice and quiet area with not too many tourists around.

-Suvi and Mikko

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were blown away as soon as we entered the gates. Set in a lovely garden and the area surrounding this place was so serene but not too far from the main road within a short distance by rickshaw to the beach and other areas.

Our room was large but we did miss the air conditioning. The whole homestay was roomy and the common terrace overlooking the garden was a place of tranquility.

Food was supberb and Esther and her Tibetan helpers made us [myself and 2 sisters] a fantastic meal for our 'last supper' before we departed the following day. They were very helpful in arranging all sorts of things We just needed to ask.

We loved staying here in this homestay, after travelling around India for a while staying in hotels. This was far better. This place we will head for again, should we visit in the future.

Room Tip: Only a small selection of rooms, all of which are good and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhylFrigiliana_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Casa Eva Luna. It pretty much rained all the time, but this allowed us to fully appreciate the cosy and friendly environment. We felt at home at all times, and everything we could need was taken care of. Our hosts were helpful but not intrusive despite us being the only people there for two nights. We had some of the wonderful home-made food, which was a big plus after nearly two months in India. I would recommend this lovely guest house without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Casa Eva Luna fo a week and had a great time. Our room was large and very clean, and the food was absolutly fantastic. We did a 7 day panchkarma treatment and were delighted with te service and results after our weeks treament. We woud recommend Casa Eva Luna to everyone and would definatly like to return again in the futue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags1458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomastown, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Having been traveling around India on my own and with friends, when my partner came to join me, I thought we should treat ourselves...

I always look on Trip Advisor before booking anywhere, just to get a few opinions, and Casa Eva Luna did not get one bad review. Trusting this, we booked 3 nights stay after arriving from Goa. We were met at the train station with a less than enthusiastic host (Katrina, I think). After a short rickshaw journey that ended down a dirt track, we arrived at an amazing looking house. But, upon entering, I got the feeling that we were in the way somewhat.

I had stayed in small, owner run hotels and huts until this point and was looking forward to a cosy, friendly, relatively luxurious, guest house experience. This was not to be the case. After a few suggestions as to where to go and a map, that was the extent of our welcome. In the hotels in Pushkar, Jaipur and even Delhi, I had more of a welcome. It all felt just a bit blah.

We were not offered any treatments, nor told anything about them, which gave me the impression that they weren't that bothered, so I didn't book any with them. I am a very easily pleased girl, and don't complain unnecessarily, but I was very disappointed by the whole experience. There was nothing 'bad' about the place, but after paying more than 3 times what I had paid for accomodation until then, I was expecting luxury!

The breakfast was ok - we stuck to fruit salad and coffee, which were reasonably priced. We moved to a hut next to a hotel right at the start of the helipad - very quiet, gorgeous huts and less than a third of the price. Wish we had done this from the start.

I was looking for an amazing memory, but unfortunately, all I have are mediocre ones. Such a shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arabian Soul
Arabian Soul
#3 of 97 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Eva Luna

Property: Casa Eva Luna
Address: Off Kurrakkani Road | Near Sanjeevani Ayurveda Hospital, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Eva Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Eva Luna is the name of Kerala Konnections homestay, located in Varkala, a short distance from the beach and cliff. The house has two floors and is located on a 3000 square metre plot. It has two double rooms on each floor, each decorated in a different style that reflects the nature of the surrounding area. All rooms have ceiling fans, marble floors, attached bathroom, tinted windows to keep the rooms cool, fitted shelves and draws and come with mosquito nets and towels. Our restaurant is set in a beautiful garden and serves up delicious evening meals and breakfasts. We also have an on site Ayurveda massage room, offer laundry service by machine wash, free book exchange, travel information and offer free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Eva Luna Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing