We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on hotel on the beach in Kovalam”
Review of Orion Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orion Beach Resort
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Found this gem through trip advisor. George the owner was great. He picked is up personally from the train station, drove is to our next destination and helped is with all of out enquiries and requests, even asking for advice on how to make the hotel better (we suggested curtains for the rooms affected by the walkway lights and the option of padded mattress overlays).

The hotel is well situated- about 5 seconds walks from the beach. All restaurants and shops are accessible and the views are fantastic.

The beds are typically hard (normal for India) and there is a short walk to get your bags to the hotel (vehicles are not allowed on the walkway). However Orion is one of the nearest to the end of the road and if you don't want to carry your bags, there are plenty of people that will for a fee.

Loungers and parasols are available on the beach with body or surf boards for hire. It's worth walking further down the beach to find a lounger with padding.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here (sea view, large room with a/c option) and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGLovellDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Orion Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good choice at a reasonable price. As as I was travelling alone, owners George and his mother were very nice and took good care of me. Room was very quiet and clean. Well located, on the LightHouse beach

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parameswari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed with my partner for 3 nights (25-28 Feb). Though it is a basic hotel without a resturant but the service is amazing. It is a budget option for those who want to spend limited on accomodation. It is located steps away from the beach. Rooms are recently renovated and clean. We had no complains for George (Owner), this guy did every possible thing to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Book room no. 115 on second floor, it has a spacious balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neeraj143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed with a friend at the Orion in December 2012. It was my second stay there, as I had already chosen the Orion during a previous trip in 2005 after looking personally all around the town of Kovalam for the "perfect" place. We booked via email for 10 days, eventually stayed 13 days and left with regret on 31 december this "home away from home".
Arriving at 22h30 at Trivandrum airport, George was there to pick us up as expected. We were shown a room with a fantastic view, on the third floor. It was better than the standard room we asked for, but because we planned a long stay, did not use the air-con and asked for a limited cleaning service, they gave us a good rate for it. The big balcony was a dream, as we could watch the sea day and night. We could walk down, swim - or rather jump in the waves - and come back for a shower.
Apart from the sound of the waves, no noise from discos or loud bars as you might get a few blocks further north.
Leela and George are amazing guests, really lovely. Not the "please come in my shop!" or "Looking for a room?" harassing type you find elsewhere. It was a pleasure talking to them every day. They gave us good advice for our travels. The taxi to Quollam with one of their staff was great and the rate was fair.
As there are so many restaurants in Kovalam (Spice garden -inland-, Malabar and Beatles being our favorites), no need to have food service at the hotel itself.
I'll be back at the Orion as soon as I can afford another trip to Southern India, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clotilde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Though my stay in Orion Beach Resort was a very short one but truly speaking it was amazing. The location is very special, with the view from the top floor's balcony is something that can't be explained in words.Warmth of the host needs special mentioning, George and Leelamma ma'am were very nice and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam4mOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was my Birthday in the 2nd week of November and my Husband had planned this entire trip.
We exchanged few emails regarding booking confirmation, George, the Owner of "Orion Beach Resort" knew what were out needs. To be honest, i did not trust the pictures in the website.. but when we reached in person, it was in the amazing location.
Room and Price: The best part was, the room to which George took us was just "splendid". The balcony was right there facing the bloody beach.. I didn't know whom to thank, George or My husband :) The Price was really low compared to the nearby resorts... It was a fair deal :)
Rating : I am rating just 4 because there was no restaurant/food service in the Hotel. Which I heard George would set up by Late November.
Food and Shopping : Kovalam area is highly populated with Russian Tourist.Since we were from Bangalore, we did find the food prices high but again we managed to have food for reasonable price.
NOTE : Analyse all the menu prices before going inside the hotel/shack
Site Seeing : Since the pace was new, we decided to talk to George about visiting nearby places. About George, He is a nice, chubby and wise man with cute little 3 daughter, As you start talking you would not stop from appreciating his experience and knowledge about places and tourism. He has been in person to nearby places with his family and showed us the pictures.
He gave you entire guidance on to Which place to visit, how and what will be best time. We stayed there for just 4 days and had to cover at-least few of the local places. He gave us a complete picture of nearby places [we manager to go to Kanyakumari and Backwater call "Poo-var" which was just amazing.."
Right from the time we landed in Trivandrum airport until the time we boarded the train, George was there to guide. What more could we ask.
George has a mini library in the hall which i regret for not browsing through. :(
In short, we had the best time ever away from busy Bangalore hectic life.. :) we returned with splendid memories and lots and lots of pictures. Sunrise on the Kovalam Beach, sunset on Kanyakumari.. had the best birthday ever :)

George thanks for taking care of everything and for sure we will return.

Regards
Priya Ahmed

Room Tip: Rooms which has balcony facing the beach are the best :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Priya_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I booked a room at Orion after reading lots of reviews on Tripadvisor. We landed at almost midnight and immediately felt thrilled to hear the sound of the crashing waves merely 50 feet away!

Relaxed and enjoyed the beach. George is a great guide for a trip around the city, both he and his mother are warm hosts, and can help you plan a good trip.

The view from the rooms is very good, and we spent hours watching sunsets as the sun finally hid from view behind the horizon, and the lighthouse really adds to the experience! The view and the sea breeze are really something.

Our room was spacious with adequate light and space for the 3 of us. The staff are friendly and helpful. The regular power cuts aren't a major nuisance. You get warm water in the bathroom most of the time. The only letdown was the linen and bedding, which they later changed. Overall a no frills experience, if you aren't looking for a luxury option, Orion is a place worth staying at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAPASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
7.8 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#20 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
22 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hawah Beach Resort
Hawah Beach Resort
#23 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#60 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
44 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#44 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
49 reviews
8.0 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#31 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Beach Resort

Address: Lighthouse Beach, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: $11 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Rooms With 6 Additional Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orion Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Beach Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing