We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pankaj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pankaj
sugar land
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a business class hotel mainly for people of Indian origin. It is conveniently located next to the main city street, exactly at the capital city center of Kerala state, that is bad for sleep quality because of traffic noise. The employees are friendly enough for me to stay there more than twice. The roof top restaurant is great for a drink or two. If you are not expecting too much for the right price, this place is OK.
No need to book in advance, just walk in.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
15
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

They provide complimentry breakfast wich is served cold when tried to speak to the management,ther was no one. Reception man kept us waiting fr1hour to speak to the manager who never came.we wrote the complaint on ther feedback sheet but i dont believ tht wud do something.
staff here is super slow. We had no breakfast n also found staff carrying food from outside the hotel. We are badly upset the way we were treated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xperiaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December.. The rooms were spacious and comfortable... Since we booked two rooms they even provided an extra bed for free.. Not much complaints about the service at the hotel... But the restaurant is an entirely different story... The staffs were rude and impatient... More importance were given to the locals visiting the restaurant... This in itself is not a bad thing... But to leave our table in middle of taking our order for the meal was unacceptable.. Also they completely ignore the tourists who vist their estaurant and are happy just to serve their local customers...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazi_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to this hotel's restaurant with my family to have Dinner two months back. Restaurant was spacious, neat and tidy. We ordered Continental food. All the dishes were very tasty. Service was excellent. For a small get-together with dine, it is the best place to choose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BARISHKOHINOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pros :
1. Central Location. Bang in the heart of the city. Temple / Govt. Offices, shopping etc. are all within walking distance.
2. Great prices, especially for the amount of money you will save on taxis.
3. Compact rooms. Compact sized beds. But just right for the price.
4. Mostly South Indian, but good buffet breakfast.
5. Lots of parking.

Cons :
1. No Tea kettles in the room, yet Morning Cuppas will take (no exaggeration) upto 1 hour to materialise!
2. Some rooms seriously need Maintenance. Walls are peeling paint, The first room I got smelled and had bed-bugs! (Although one complaint and lots of apologies and another room were offered.)
3. Rooftop restaurant offers great views, but is actually a glorified bar. Food take ages to appear, liquor & side-dishes materialise instantly!
4. When a manager is missing, the front desk & some restaurant staff lose some courtesy.
5. Their Wifi service is terrible! It's paid. Doesn't work most of the time and staff don't know how to handle problems. Avoid it!

Overall : If you have a better deal from another hotel, take it. If the other hotel is TOOO costly, or unavailable, stay here. (Carry Bed-bug spray and a Cellular Data Card.)

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, make sure you mention it. Some rooms have a smoky smell and staff may be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very good hotel in centre of city ,we stayed for 3 days . Very friendly and welcoming staff . Breakfast spread very good with local flavor also . . Site seeing around Trivandrum also very good with back water ,sea beaches ,kanyakumari . I highly recommend this taj vivanta to all as price wise also good with all facilities .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 398perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We checked in around midnight and asked for a room with 2 twin beds. We were given Rm 312 nearest to the road. The walls and windows are not that well insulated from the road noise and all night there was a continuous movement of lorries and buses with their air horns blazing. It was like sleeping on the highway. Unfortunately, I was too tired to change the rooms in the middle of the night and suffered till morning. In the morning, when I mentioned about this to the front desk, he readily offered to change the rooms.

The breakfast was good (Idli, vada, puri, Appam and eggs)
Coffee and tea were terrible. It was the same bad quality when ordered as room service.
Staff is courteous and helpful.
The Location of the hotel is a double edge sword. It is on the main business road and hence probably easy to locate and get around and shop. The flip side is the noise which probably is less if you had a room removed away from the road side.
Rooms were clean although little stuff and smelly (may be it was a smoking room)

In the middle of the night when we lost power, the generator did not work for over 30 min. May be it was a one off incident but good to call and check.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Town Tower
Hotel Town Tower
#32 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chirag inn
Chirag inn
#35 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maurya Rajadhani
Maurya Rajadhani
#30 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#27 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Saj Lucia
Saj Lucia
#67 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pankaj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pankaj

Property: Hotel Pankaj
Address: 110 P B No, Opposite Government Secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pankaj 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pankaj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pankaj Hotel Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Hotel Pankaj Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing