We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Bay Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortune Hotel The South Park(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach and Lake Ayurvedic Resort(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$30
$29
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Tower(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$45
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Adrak(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))(Great Value!)
$194
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maurya Rajadhani(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Prathiba Heritage(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))(Great Value!)
$15
$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trivandrum Hotel(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$61
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classic Sarovar Portico(Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum))
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
61
17
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
17
7
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 87 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was really place for relax. I was alone and it was very very nice experiance. Fresh food, no alcohol, treatmnets, ocean, just few people arround, very helpful personal. What you need more if you want to make break when you live in big city usually)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roschaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this resort twice in a gap of three years. The resort has been expanded and renovated since my first visit and turned into a full-fledged Ayurveda Resort (Treatment optional). The layout of the resort is fantastic. Approach road is narrow and undulated. The location is around 15 Km from the Trivandrum town. The range of Ayurveda treatment is wide and the measures are well trained in traditional martial arts moves. The resort kitchen was completely vegetarian and non-alcoholic when I visited last. Basically the resort is designed for people looking for Ayurveda Massage and treatment.
The resort has a small private beach, which is also a fishing hub and equipped with beach umbrella & beds. Watching the whole process of fishermen bringing their catch from the sea is very relaxing and humbling. The fishermen are well trained and accustomed to tourists and generally do not interfere with the tourism activities on the beach. The beach changes its nature over different seasons but I guess it is in best shape from Dec to March or so. There is nothing much to see around Vizhinjam, which is an old harbor town. There is a plan to develop an international sea port in Vizhinjam in near future, which might bring up the town infrastructure but spoil the beach and clear blue waters off Vizhinjam coast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the redort up on the hill is quiter witjh nice sun deck.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neutral-eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stay here three nights at the end of our months trip in India. Location is like paradise real great beach and beautiful gardens. Staff very friendly. Atmosphere a little strange as we believe this is a top class resort for special treatments so most people are on special treatment programmes. Great place to unwind for short stay or long stay if your requiring the special treatments, think its one of the best in India. We saw no alcohol whilst we were there and we're never offered any so didn't like to ask.

We cannot fault anything, we have given this 5 stars. If your planning to go its not your normal tourist resort and is really geared up for the treatment programmess. Saying all this it isa must to visit for a short period. Also to be fair this was a quiet time of year and may well be different at another time.

Only real negative was the food and drinks were a lot more expensive than other places we stayed and some of these were five star nearly 40% more than some, don't get caught out on thinking its cheap on menu, the local tax is added after. Also the food was nice but not superb like we had in other areas of Indian.

Room Tip: If you go out of season the sea is very rough, therefore it can be very loud at night, sounds like a storm and high winds all night, so would suggest villa further away from the beach otherwise go for villa 207 it's one of the best locations, but only when sea is calm.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Cliveparkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had initially booked this resort for our stay at trivandrum. I was overwhelmingly disappointed after seeing this property. The rooms were stuffy, a really really small TV (from 80's I believe). The beach is in front is just too steep to walk into for non swimmers. It is 18 ms away from city with really really small inaccessible beach and small rooms with little TV's...no bath tub even at this price??. To be honest I think their rating is highly undeserved. We ended up staying at turtle on the beach, which was miles ahead on all aspects and at lower price. You can check my review there too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank harry_x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

"We would like to thank you for your review about Coconut Bay Beach Resort in TripAdvisor. We value the feedback we receive from each and every guest during their stay with us.

However, it is observed that you had not stayed with us for enjoying our hospitality services and Ayurveda facilities.

We have been providing excellent services to ensure that our guests visit us again and again.

We assure you that, if you had stayed with us at least for a day, you would have got more time to know about our excellent quality, service and of course we truly believe that you would have had a satisfactory and pleasant stay with us.

Once again we thank you for your opinion regarding the rooms. We will ensure that in due course, the necessary up gradations will be done.

Hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The journey from Thiruvnthapuram Airport to the resort via narrow lanes had left my family a bit exhausted. The entry to the resort was quite unassuming - and there was an element of doubt how things would be...

Well, everyone's jaws dropped as soon as we entered the property. Beautiful location. Clean and well maintained lawns, excellent arrangements and most importantly - secluded and silent. Just what we were looking for, to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Mumbai. If you, dear reader, are looking for a place to unwind - do not look further. Of course you may find better locations along the coastline and spend a fortune for a good view - Here, the ambience and service makes it worth every penny you spend.

This is actually an ayurvedic resort - frequented mostly by Germans and other foreigners, who prefer long stays and medicine. I had read some reviews that this is not the right place for a family. In my opinion, that depends on what you are looking for. If you are, looking for a constant party atmosphere, crowded pools and lots of activities for children - this may not be the right place. This is a place to relax, unwind and spend quality time with yourself and your family. They do provide a baby sitter at a nominally extra cost- if anyone needs the service and the staff seemed well-trained in their duties.

In the end they gave me a feedback form to fill - where they asked suggestions on what they need to improve. I was so impressed that I could not find anything worth mentioning. The service, ambience, location, cleanliness, food etc were more than worthy of the amount they charged. In fact, during late evening, we left the children in the hammock near the cottage and requested a waiter to keep an eye, while we had a short walk around. Returned after 30mins to find the waiter standing outside and actually looking at the children. Stayed there on the night of 7th May 2012. Will I visit again - definitely! In fact I may just make a trip to Trivandrum to stay at this place and not go anywhere else for 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Choose the AC cottages nearer to the water/beach
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vanderlooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews