We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and musty”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Venus International
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I feel badly dissing this hotel, when the people who work there are so sweet and helpful. Nevertheless, we aborted our planned 6-day stay after one night.

The problem was the carpet. The room was spacious and very serviceable, the bathroom was large and spotless, and the room even had a tiny balcony for enjoying the night air. But after airing the room out all day and night, the place still reeked of sour, musty, moldy, old carpet.

The hotel also seems more expensive than it deserves to be. The same rate can get you a much nicer place to stay elsewhere in the same part of the city.

Another negative, especially for older folks: There is no elevator. On the bright side, staff are happy to lug guests' bags up the stairs.

If they'd pull all the carpets out and lower the price, this hotel would be a winner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Its more for a business traveler than family. If you are looking for a decent budget hotel go ahead no regrets, the food options are limited. The rooms are clean and spacious, only disadvantage is no lift so could be disadvantage for senior citizens. Location wise its well located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GP6116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have booked 2 economy A/C rooms in this hotel through some site ( don't remember now) for our family trip but disappointed seeing the size and condition of the room.and complementary breakfast just for namesake. only advantage for business peoples is nearby to railway station. What is international there?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dharod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

its a quiet hotel near rly station.lift service not available but rooms are decent.if your looking for a decent budget hotel go ahead no regrets.the food is average but you have the option of dining in the city.the workers are pleasant people.

Room Tip: choose a/c rooms food optional can choose to dine in city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravikanth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

i booked the hotel on 18/03/13 for one day. it is a nice hotel. very near to rly stn, and bus stand, just walkble distance. reasonable rate. i booked the economy ac room, room has enough space,, good restaurant. easy check in and check out, nice front office, i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DINU50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Found Venus Hotel after a long trip and at least 10 futile tries at other places. Venus is in walking distance from the train as well as bus station and on a nice street with shops and internet cafés (well, in India, it's just the internet, no café). I took the room without looking at it and was pleasantly surprised: Clean (apart from the walls that desperately need scrubbing), a powerful fan, mosquito screens on every window, soft mattress (a big +) and good water supply. The TV has lots of channels - but only two of them international in English with not bad reception. The room was small, but I only needed the bed.
I felt safe and could relax well. The only problem is the hallway that has the acoustic of a cathedral so the music playing outside (why??), phones ringing and the overly excited group of other guests were a nuisance. But then: India without noise wouldn't be India!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hereandsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

There is no lift facility.Rooms are small compaired to the similar prized room outside.Ac was not good.TV was absolutely bad.Shelf could not be closed properly.Bathroom was small compared to other hotel.Rooms are not spacious.Doors was not good.Only thing we found good is the food and service.One of the bathroom pipe was not working.There was no fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rechupillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#29 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#5 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#3 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
748 reviews
2.9 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#2 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#42 of 105 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venus International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venus International

Address: S.S Kovil Road | Thampanoor, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 105 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus International Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing