We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Graceful Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graceful Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I arrived here sick and tired,and immediately felt at home,as a result of the warm greeting
and genuine concern shown to me. Giles' wife,forgive me for not remembering name,made
me innumerable cups of barley tea,in her attempt to help me with one of my health problems.

Although,being urged to stay and get well,I foolishly said no and pushed on,only to have to
Make a emergency return to Hong Kong,where my daughter lived,and to receive medical
Care...I have thought often of Graceful Homestays ,and it owners,and always with an feeling
Of gratitude for their authentic goodness.

PS...The garden surroundings and the rooms are wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alliflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We certainly remember your visit Anne and how sick & tired you were on arrival. We are glad that we could help you ease your discomfort and provide assistance towards recovery. We were very concerned that you were determined to continue your journey and hoped that you'd recover after more rest at Varkala where you were headed. We are sorry to note that you had to make an emergency exit but relieved that you managed to reach your daughter in time to get the needed medical attention. We hope you have recovered completely now and are enjoying good health. We'll keep you in our thoughts & prayers and extend best wishes for the upcoming holiday season and the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    36
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
99
45
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters arrived at the airport in the early hours of the morning. The lovely Giles had arranged for the equally lovely Franco to collect us, and we finally tumbled into our lovely, clean and spacious room. The room came with it's own balcony and outside space.

We had wonderful home cooked Keralan breakfast, fruit and toasted sandwiches. Tea and coffee were available at all times.

Franco came to drive us for the rest of the day, local sites such as the Thiruvanthapuram Zoological gardens, somewhere suitable for gentle English tummies for lunch and on to a wonderful Golden Temple. We felt safe and well looked after and had no qualms to book Franco for the next day's long drive to the backwaters.

Giles' wife Sylvia cooked us a wonderful evening meal and an amazing breakfast the next day of curried eggs and coconut rice noodles!

We had no hesitation to book the Graceful Homestay for our final(sad) night in Kerala 3 weeks later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybil-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you, Jenny, for your very warm words of appreciation. We also enjoyed hosting you especially since you made yourself at home so quickly ... enough for you to want to return to us for one last time. Thank you! A minor correction ... Giles' wife is Elsy, the wonderful provider of amazing breakfasts and evening meals. I, Sylvia, am Giles' sister ... the third cog in the Graceful wheel!!! And together we wish you and your lovely daughters best wishes for the upcoming holiday season and the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Most of India feels noisy and crowded, but not when you are at Graceful Homestay. Run by a friendly family on Philips Hill, you get to rest yourself and your senses completely. Loved the place and will want to stay here again. Sylvia, Giles and his wonderful wife took good care of me and my friends while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank themountainelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the glowing review of your stay at Graceful. It was a pleasure to host you and your friends and ensure that you are comfortable & safe. We certainly look forward to hosting you again and look forward to your next visit to Kerala. Thank you for your patronage & all best wishes for the year ahead from the Graceful Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

After 2 weeks in Tamil Nadu and Kerala our Holiday ended in Trivandrum. Graceful Homestay is a very clean, calm and safe place. We enjoyed all the interesting conversations with Giles and learned alot about country and people. Giles and another guest recommended very nice restaurants and were very helpful with calling Taxis. We enjoyed the few days in Trivandrum very much and would choose Graceful Homestay again. Thanks to Giles for the relaxing time in his house with the wonderful garden with cashewnut-trees !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 529christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review of your memorable stay at Graceful. We are happy that Graceful Home Stay was able to provide you the right atmosphere in which to unwind after your travels in southern India. Yes, Giles is indeed a storehouse of information and can keep you enthralled with his anecdotes & views on diverse topics of local and national interest. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in our midst in the not too distant future. Best wishes for the soon-to-arrive Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my first experience with a homestay. It was wonderful. I was there for quite some time and I really felt at home. It was important to have somewhere comfortable, attractive, friendly and homely to stay while I was working as a volunteer. Graceful is in a nice area with an Ayurvedic centre close by and it is a good place to wander around. My friend and I went on an hour's walk early every morning. Every now and then (when there were other guests) evening meals were made and these were wonderful and a great opportunity to meet new people. That was also an advantage of staying here - all the interesting people we met. The upstairs room is the best - airy, open and spacious. I was there for my first two weeks. I felt at home in my downstairs room as well. All in all this is definitely a place I can recommend in India. Thanks to my gracious hosts!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine really but the best room, in my opinion, is the upstairs room, It has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SandraN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you, Sandra, for such an overwhelmingly positive review of your stay at Graceful. We still talk about you and Arja and what a pleasure it was for us to host two such wonderful and caring ladies. You took inconveniences in your stride ... the frequent power cuts and slow internet speed ... and for that we are grateful. You'll be pleased to note that we've been able to resolve much of it now having switched our service provider. The power outages have also taken a back seat with the onset of the monsoons. Thank you very much for choosing Graceful Home Stay as your "home away from home" during your selfless volunteer work in Trivandrum. All our best wishes to you and Arja as you continue to do good work around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are a family of four and arrived very late on our first night in Kerela. Giles was already up when we turned up in the cab (arranged by Giles) - reassuring after a long journey and arrival in an unfamiliar location. We only stayed for two nights before moving on - but we found the homestay very relaxing, set in beautiful surroundings. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the homecooked food delicious.

Giles had some great stories and offered sound local advice.

I would recommend this homestay.

Room Tip: There is a room with a veranda overlooking the garden - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlexwAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you, Alex, for choosing at Graceful Home Stay during your first visit to Kerala with your family. We are happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay and found the place comfortable and relaxing. We hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again if ever you decide to return to Kerala for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at Graceful in November 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. As a lone traveller who had been on the road for a bit it was a real treat to be able to unwind for a few days in a homely environment before heading off again. Simple, immaculate, beautiful, peaceful and a good place to meet other travellers. Giles was brilliant and abs. hilarious, with loads of stories. Didn't get to explore Trivandrum that much as house was so relaxing. Would abs. stay again on route to other spots in Kerala. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 826SalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia2348, Owner at Graceful Homestay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for an overwhelming review of your stay at Graceful last November. We feel humbled reading the sentiments you have expressed and feel honored that you wish to stay with us if you visit Kerala again. It's always a pleasure for us to host travelers from around the world and provide the peaceful & homely atmosphere necessary to shake off some of the exhaustion of continuous travel. We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future. Keep safe & well in the year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
2.2 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#3 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graceful Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graceful Homestay

Property: Graceful Homestay
Address: Pothujanam Road | PHRA 20-21 Philip's Hill, Kumarapuram, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graceful Home-stay is located within a four and half acre compound within city limits yet far from the noise & bustle of the city. One can enjoy natural beauty at its best because of the garden, trees, and birds that abound within this area. From the Upper Double room one can get a spectacular view of the valley below, a glimpse of the Arabian Sea on the horizon and glorious sunsets. Each of the rooms is located on a separate floor and has its own special features in terms of extra space (verandah/balcony) and provides not only privacy but also a clean and cozy atmosphere. Guests also have access to the other general parts of our premises and facilities (main veranda, living room, dining room, kitchen & grounds). Graceful Home-stay provides a very peaceful and serene atmosphere both internally and externally. Since the house was constructed to reflect an open personality and to take advantage of God-given natural light and fresh air, at present our rooms are not air conditioned. Other means of cooling like fans and air coolers are provided in all rooms. Since this is a "Bed & Breakfast" establishment, with the room rent a complimentary continental breakfast is served between 08:00 and 10:00 am which also includes a taste of the local cuisine. For lunch and dinner, guests are encouraged to try out the local eateries which cater to a variety of taste and pocket! Some of these restaurants also provide free home delivery. At Graceful a home-cooked meal (lunch or dinner) can be served but only on advance request by breakfast time for a non vegetarian (chicken or fish) or a vegetarian meal. Within a 2 minute walk from the Home Stay, there is an ayurveda center which provides excellent rejuvenating massages at reasonable cost. They offer a special rate for guests from Graceful Home Stay. Likewise, there is also a small but well established beauty parlor within a 5 minute walk which undertakes facials, pedicures, manicures, hair treatments, etc. At reasonable cost. Graceful Home Stay is also located within a 2 km radius of 6 multi-speciality hospitals, diagnostic centers, dental clinics, supermarkets, etc. For local sight-seeing and extensive shopping one needs to go downtown about 5-6 kms away and easily accessible by local buses and tuk-tuks. We have on call a few reliable, English speaking tuk-tuk drivers which many of our guests have used and been happy with. Central & State taxes are extra charges and tax rates are subject to change in the new financial year as per Government legislation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graceful Homestay Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Graceful Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing