We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Jan 2013”
Review of Uday Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uday Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Jan 2013”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My review is a bit late but we had a lovely stay at the Uday Suites hotel. The hotel is well located and literally less than 5 minutes from the airport. We didn't expect too much but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived

The rooms overlook the pool which is stunning, staff and service was excellent.

Food at the restaurant was also really good.

The only downside was the power cuts, fairly frequent but for very short periods which can be irritating, however this did not affect our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junaid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    170
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
159
91
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have recently returned from Kerala Trip and stayed at Uday Suites on 30.12.13 alongwith my family and friend. Although the property is too good for which it deserves compliments but the house keeping neutralize plus points of this property. The room was dusty with no door mat outside bathroom. The corridor leading to rooms was as if not cleaned for days. There were no soaps in bathroom / toilet. When we called House keeping, the call got no replied. I then called at reception and complained him and could get fresh soaps. I also complained to the receptionist while visiting for beach about uncleanliness of the corridor and the room to which he assured that everything will be organised by my return and collected the keys of the room from me, but to my / our surprise / shock, nothing was changed on my return. The management took no action in resolving my concern. The location of the property is very near to Airport but otherwise is far off from other places. Leaving aside the services, property deserves a compliment and is being dragged to average rating only because of poor / no house keeping. Rooms are big enough, all facing swimming pool. No grievances with designing. Visiting persons must be prepared for hopeless House keeping.

Room Tip: May be 1st Floor Rooms be better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemantGupta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Due to a strike in Trivandrum we had yo get to the airport very early before the roads were blocked. We asked around and the Uday Suites were recommended. We explained our dilemma and asked if we could have a room for a few hours and breakfast and they were happy to accommodate us.The Uday Suites were very close to the Airport but the setting was lovely, fringed by palm trees and very near a beach
The bedroom was well appointed and breakfast was good. The reception staff were very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed there for three days. The location is away from every thing, but the property is more than good. The staff need some real training.

I had a great room. But had torn towels, and the room which is cleaned by a person who has no idea how to clean. I had to get the manager in to the room and spell out my specifications for the cleaning for the room.

The restaurant is average. It has reasonably good breakfast. Its better to have rest of the meals elsewhere.

The front office staff are very friendly, very knowledgeable and eager to help. They make the hotel attractive.

To top my experience, the storage room was on fire on the early morning of my last day of stay. I heard the commotion and went out of the room and was ordered in to the room by the staff. I saw the staff fighting thee fire with plastic buckets and all kind of make shift stuff. They had no fire fighting equipment (Fire hose etc)except for a couple of fire extinguishers. It took them about 30 minutes to call the fire force!! Apparently the training for handling emergency is a gap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The property is located a walkable distance from Shankhumukham beach. The resort has swimming pool, but the baby pool is so badly maintained that all the 4 kids in our big group god severely hurt. The food is excellent with vide varieties, health club is well maintained. The staff are very helpful and provide a good service.
The worst part is that the resort is not equipped with necessary man power for house keeping. We saw only one well behaved hard working man maintaining the entire property. I asked for extra bed in the morning and started follow up in the evening at 8 pm and finally got it at 10 pm after a minimum of 20 calls. If they focus on this lacuna, the resort is a good experience.
The slope provided in the toilet area of the bath is just in the opposite direction, so that water gets collected like a mini swimming pool.

Room Tip: get the extra bed right at the check in time, if you have booked one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranburi, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

As a travel professional who has stayed in a lot of hotels in India, I found this hotel far exceeded my expectations, especially after having read some of the reviews on tripadvisor. Lovely helpful staff without an exception, good location close to the airports and close enough to the beach to go for a stroll and experience a bit of local colour, very good food, clean spacious room, nice bed, attractive and clean pool, free wifi in the rooms.... What more can you expect? Okay, it's not where you want to spend two weeks of your vacation, but if you're traveling through Trivandrum and need a good place stay for a few nights, this look no further!
The only thing I would suggest to the hotel management is to do something about the loud noise of the cooling or exhaust system by the restaurant/pool area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AllOverThePlac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I were staying here for the night before an early flight (4:30am). We arrived at about 5pm, and checked out around 2am.

The staff were friendly and courteous and very helpful. Room service food was also decent.

The one drawback was that the only alcohol available was beer, and that was only available in your room - there's no bar by the lovely pool, for example.

However, it didn't matter much, as we only needed the hotel for a short period and it did the job just fine - and was a good price as well. It's only 10 minutes to the airport from there too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
2.9 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
709 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
584 reviews
2.9 mi away
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
#6 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Suites

Property: Uday Suites
Address: Watts Lane | Shangumugham, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#7 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a four star facility hotel with 45 luxurious rooms located very near to the domestic and international terminals of Trivandrum international airport. The renowned Shanghumugham beach is just 200 mtrs from the hotel. The hotel has got a beautiful pool, Ayurveda spa, heath club, restaurants, conference facility of various capacity and equipped with wi-fi Internet access. The location is highly accessible from the city. The hotel has got very calm and quiet atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Uday Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uday Suites Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing