We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to hang around with friends..”
Review of Poovar Island

Poovar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place to hang around with friends..”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I went to Estuary Islands, Poovar, Kerala, a while back with a couple of my friends and I really enjoyed a lot. Nice place, golden beach, backwaters on one side & sea on the other side. God, I really miss those times..

Anyways, my verdict is RECOMMENDED to all those who want to CHILLAX in a weekend !!

NB: Sorry for the delayed review to all.. ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank caganeshkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    356
    82
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I must say, I didn't consider poovar as a serious option for a one-day trip. But now having been there, I would say this is one of the finest places to go to in Trivandrum. There is a bit of travel involved, to reach there. However, the beautiful beach makes your travel totally worth.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VarunPilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better backwaters than allepey”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It would be good idea to take a boat ride of the island , but the full circle wont be required as the narrow passages at the back of islands are little scary , and try to complete the ride before sunset.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank N_Singhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely Beautiful coastal place. No point just touching the place. One needs to stay there to enjoy the beauty.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved our stay there at Club Mahindra. A one day sight seeing trip to Kanyakumari and en-route visits to Padmanabhapuram Palace and Suchindram temple can be done very comfortably in ample time. A serene evening backwater cruise with some time at the Golden Sand beach is an experience not to be missed. For bird lovers, lot of opportunity to watch and photograph water birds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank samtravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit it if you have time and money”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Boating in poovar backwaters is good. Basically there are three types of packages available: 1 hour, 1.5 hours and 2 hours.
1 hour = INR 2000
1.5 hours = INR 2500
2 hours = INR 3000.
Above package is for two persons only. For each additional person, INR 500 is extra. So be careful when deciding this.
They will promise you for "elephant rock", "some migrated birds", "mary and jesus statue", "golden sand beach", "river and sea sangamam".
Out of these golden sand beach is only good, however bathing in this beach is highly not recommended because of high tides.
River and sea sangamam can be seen only at times. It happens one or two times in a week, so be prepared before getting into the boat.
Mary and Jesus statue were good but it is not well maintained.
Elephant shape rock can be seen only in one direction the other side of this is completely a rock.
Hardly we found migrated birds. According to the localites its been told us that migrated birds can be seen if the water flow is less.

As per my opinion, one can visit this place if there is ample amount of time and money.
However I feel the package described above is worthless in terms of money. Instead go to Kovalam beach(s) for more and more fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Raja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poovar Island also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Poovar Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing