We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant place to stay on a beach I've known for 20 years!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach Hotel II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Hotel II
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay on a beach I've known for 20 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Fantastic. A cool place. Clean rooms. Great views. Off the beaten track, but not so far you can;t get involved. A great manager with a great team. I first came to this beach in 1989, backpacking and staying in beach shacks in a place with very few places to eat/drink, and then returned in 1993, when it was accessible to package holidays. Ten years on, with the package holiday mass influx but a memory and the resort much more focussed on adventurous families, ageing hippies and Germans seeking that perfect Ayuvedic massage, and everyone told me this beach had become a tourist nightmare. Not true. Yes it's more developed. But, yes, it's an easier holiday destination too. Great food (the best of which we had in the Fusion restaurant in the hotel - though the thali at 'Lonely Planet' came a close second). Good surfing - though be careful to keep an eye on your kids, if they're new to swimming. Brilliant tailors too. Check out Chandra (follow the signs towards the Lonely Planet restaurant from the beach). Don't believe the pro-Varkala hype. This beach still rocks.

Room Tip: AC isn't necessary. But it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have had our best holiday ever on beach 2 hotel kovalam. We celebrate our 25 years wedding annivesary and Melanie, Thelma and the whole staff surpriced us with flower, fruit, danish music etc. Everything on this hotel is perfect. We can give it our best recommandations. Try it !
Dorte and John, Roskilde, Denmark

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

First, the general manger was tremendous. Took personal care to make sure everything was perfect. Room had great view (Room 203). Air-conditioning worked great. Has a refrigerator for keeping your drinks cool. Clean, comfortable. Basic decor. Good for couples and families. Right on the beach, and a nice clean beach ( Kovalam).

Downsides, cash only. Wifi is provided by another shop, and they were on vacation so we had no wifi.

Restaurant food is excellent. Dishes from Rs 120 ($2.50 USD) vegetarian dishes, up to $18USD Lobster ( delicious steamed over vodka) and everything in between (calamari or fish main for $6). Nice selection of locally- flavored cocktails for $5, too.

Nice view from restaurant over the beach.

Can rent surf-boards and body boards at the beach. I paid Rs30 for 30 to 45 minutes on a body board as a first-timer. Very fun. Please swim between the flags and do not go out too far. There are lifeguards, but the current is strong.

Why not five-stars? Cash only in 2012 is an inconvenience, though minor. A couple minor misses on the menu (a dry almond tarte one night), pillows could be Bit fluffier. The hotel will arrange a car and/or from the airport for $14 (Rs700) each way. The local taxis are $8.50, but the car is more comfortable and convenient, and the driver is not trying to sell you anything. We booked it to pick us up and drop off and the little luxury and convenience of this was worth it.

But, for less than a Super 8 or DaysInn in the USA, this is a great place right on a tropical beach.

We'll stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanfranciscotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is nice and a decent value IF you are in the right room. Even though only three other rooms in the hotel were booked, they refused to switch us to a room with a nicer view. Evidently they preferred to keep the better rooms open for potential guests rather than make their current guests happy. The whole experience was incredibly frustrating. Although the manager seemed well intentioned enough, the owner had to sign off on everything and was completely unyielding for no apparent reason. Such a crock. Be sure to check the room out before you sign because they won't give a darn About you after.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in late October 2011. Don't mistake this hotel for the Beach Hotel - this one is number 2 - both owned by the same people. Its location is perfect just below the Lighthouse at the quiet end of Lighthouse Beach. There are 10 rooms 5 AirCon, 5 not. The Fusion Restaurant is excellent and the quality of food is first rate.The hotel was the cleanest we stayed at in Kerala. They even mopped the floors of the rooms that were vacant every day! The staff were friendly and helpful. WiFi is available through a shop just below the hotel at 40Rs per hour. Each room has a private balcony which looks out along the the beach, with comfortable chairs.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with AC were all very good. Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_judymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.3 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.0 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats
Niraamaya Retreats
#1 of 51 in Kovalam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
3.5 mi away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Hotel II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel II

Property: The Beach Hotel II
Address: Light House Beach, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel II Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing