We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but very little else to offer.”
Review of Over The Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Over The Hill
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, but very little else to offer.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had made a booking at OTH Poovar for a four night stay from Feb 19th to Feb 23rd 2014. The impression I got from talking to Mr Shamir was that getting to the beach was fairly easy. As it so happens, the approach Road is horrible and each time one has to call for an auto or taxi. It cost Rs1200 to go to the poovar beach and come back after an hour. The beach itself does not have lifeguarda and there have been three casualties this season according to the lifeguards at kovalam beach. We had taken two rooms, one for us and one for the children. There were no phones in the rooms and one had to go around the building to get to the adjacent room. Luckily my son had a cell phone so we could communicate. The food is very simple, reasonably tasty. Very little variety for vegetarians like us. We were the only people there and the property itself does not have anything to do in it. It's a small property and when we were there, it was quite dead in the sense that there was really nothing to do except admire the sea view, which is gorgeous. Room service was very slow, taking 30 minutes for one tea and coffee. The TVs were working but most of the channels were not subscribed. Apparently there had been a thunderstorm a few weeks back and not everything had been repaired afterwards. Phones being one of the things not repaired. Wifi was available only in the eating area and not in the rooms. We got so stressed out that we moved out after a day to Hindustan beach resort in Varkala on day 2. The manager Mr Shamir is yet to give back the money he promised to return. We agreed that I would pay half the balance and he would return the rest. It's been more than a week now and I am not hopeful. All the people at OTH are very polite but they were unable to provide the required services for us. Mr Shamir did put us in touch with a different resort, but by then we just wanted to get away to a different place. It definitely is not to be called a resort in that sense. It is a place to stay with limited food available. If you have your own vehicle and don't mind the horrible Road, you could stay there and commute to the beach. For that purpose it is very overpriced. I was quite disappointed to experience it after all the positive tripadvisor reviews. It just did not work out for us.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVENKATESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
45
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been in OTH for 3 days. Me and my wife with 2 years kid enjoyed much. The staffs are very cooperative & Friendly. Nice Food. They are about to start Ayurvedic treatments from March 14. But i missed :-(.

Room Tip: All the 7 rooms are good. Though i will suggest Sea View suites & cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajith_kumar1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

OTH is a nice place to kick back and relax. But this is not the place if you are on a sightseeing trip. The location is really fantastic, over the hill, overlooking the sea, calm and quite. The best part is the pool where my kids spent a lot of time. The service was OK but the staff did everything to keep us happy. Now the bad part. It is located in a remote place and the last 2 kms are not motorable. Very easy to miss this place (even my driver did). We did not get hot water for bathing since something was wrong with the solar water heater.

Room Tip: Not advisable if you are on a sight seeing trip. Prefer rooms close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We Booked eight rooms for two nights. It is a Beautiful ,calm and decent place with friendly staffs with pleasurable atmosphere.The two days our children were so enjoyed & were not ready to leave. For Honeymoon Couples or couples it has very good privacy.You can see different different nice architectural ideas around the hotels & even in your rooms.So by sure the architect (Owner of this resort) is a winner.

The rooms are real great . There is a small pool ,also there's a tennis court too. very nice view , u can see right down to the ocean . The location Of the resort is really good .Poover Beach is 2 km from the location & you can enjoy back water ride there.
View from the rooms are great and balcony will be the ideal place to have an evening tea.Hot water facility is on Solar , so not to worry for hot water during power outage.
Definitely will visit & recommend this hotel to every body.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish25feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to over the hill resort for a over night package. The place was approximately 30 kms from Trivandrum central and it took almost an hour to reach there. As there were not lot of sign boards we found it little difficult to find the place. It very near to Poovar. You need to cross the Poovar bridge and once you reach the checkpost , you need to take a right from there. The road is narrow and the resort is setup on 3 acres of land on the hill. It was indeed relaxing and we were the only group of 9 PAX luckily present there. The swimming pool experience was good and we took 3 rooms which were facing the sea. There was breeze from the sea and we had an excellent stay.
Overall it was good. There seems to be little publicity about this property , however in deed its good for conducting small parties for groups up to 40 or so. We also took a barbeque grill with us and therefore had good time cooking grill and also bought food from the resort. The food was also good and overall fitted within our budget.

Room Tip: Rooms facing beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navin_Ninan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

At first when we landed here, we thought its not going to be good. We were the only guest at that time. The rooms were good but the power cut was a major issue. We asked if we can get a better room then this where we can easily communicate with the staff and they provided us with that instantly.

Secondly, though they had limited resources, they did better with that. They made sure that there wont be any power cut in the night, plus provided us with the best dinner they can. The breakfast in the morning was amazing.

Never ever saw so good staff when the resources are limited and guest are so demanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in poovar.

the swimming pool was great and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vishalvsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My adult son and I spent 2 nights in this lovely resort, and wished we could have stayed longer. Set up on a hill above the backwaters and overlooking the beach, it was a haven of calm and relaxation. The infinity pool was absolutely lovely, especially after a day of walking and sightseeing in the March heat. Strolling a hundred metres down to the backwaters, especially in the early morning, was a photographers dream, and we loved the walk into town and to the beach to watch the fishermen haul in their nets. The room was clean and very comfortable with a balcony towards the splendid view. The manager was a charming man who did all he could to make sure we were comfortable, well fed and well taken care of. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ethoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.5 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 3 in Puvar
669 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
582 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.5 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Over The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Over The Hill

Property: Over The Hill
Address: Unchakada, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Over The Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Over The Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Over The Hill Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing